Frilly Knickers wrote: » Except it doesnt apply to US, UK or anyone travelling for "essential or logistical work" which is presumably the lions share of people coming here. I'd be amazed if anyone ends up quarantining for weeks at a cost of 2 grand.
jcon1913 wrote: The travel ban needs to be extended to all countries. But don’t worry- Ireland will only cop on to this too late.
jcon1913 wrote: Meanwhile it’s own citizens are living under effective house arrest.
Wanderer78 wrote: » Strong border controls are too politically sensitive, due to our history There's nothing truly stopping you from moving about, many, including myself, have been doing so all along
jcon1913 wrote: No there is nothing stopping me from moving around. But believe it or not I don’t want to break any laws or be constantly stopped by the guards. Plus very few shops no restaurants open working from home- where would I be going?
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Depends how you measure it. Compared to the uk, we’re doing great. Fewer cases per population 44,300 vs 62,300 Fewer deaths per population 870 per million vs 1,830. Over twice the death rate per million population. I keep hearing that the uk has had the biggest economic drop too but I haven’t seen the estimates for Ireland. I also keep hearing that Ireland had the strictest restrictions but I read a uk article saying they have the strictest restrictions and Ireland was about 4th. So it depends how you measure them. But they were both pretty strict. I don’t know how to measure these things. All I can say is that we were miles better than our most comparable neighbour but they have much more vaccine supply so some people will probably rate their performance higher because of that alone. People complain about the Irish government’s vaccine rollout but I think the bottleneck has been supply rather than administering the vaccine once in the country. Very hard to judge. But I think they’ve done pretty well overall. There’s a pretty interesting (although obvious) phenomenon where people rate the service based on how much they like the product. So for example then Revenue ring you up to say you owe them money, people rate the customer service very low. But when revenue ring you up to say they owe you money, people rate the customer every high. Even though the customer service is the same, the rating changes depending on how much people like what they’re being told. In this case the government is dealing with a total sh1t sandwich in covid. So the question is how well they’ve served the sh1t sandwich so people will always rate them very low.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » Interesting how you ignored the major failing and most commented upon problem ie Communication. To use your Revenue analogy, I doubt anyone likes to get a call off Revenue telling them they owe money. Thing is though you will be told how much , Revenue won't leave you confused or guessing.
Sleeper12 wrote: » everyone is entitled to their own opinion but so far 13 people voted very good! Hundreds of people died as a direct result of how the government tried to buy our votes by "giving us Christmas". Most other countries were closing for Christmas to stop people meeting up. In Ireland we thought it a great idea to open for the time of the year where we drink the most & meet the most people & elderly people.
darem93 wrote: » The vaccine rollout is pretty devastating, especially when you compare it to our closest neighbours. But to be fair, the vast majority of people I've spoken to aren't really blaming our government for it. Most people know it's a supply issue and the blame is firmly lying at the door of Europe for that one.
Wanderer78 wrote: » Strong border controls are too politically sensitive, due to our history
dmn22 wrote: » I hate hearing this 'excuse' for not being able to close the borders. What happens if a more lethal virus comes around in a few years time and the UK refuses to close their borders? Do we just go down on the same sinking ship? The fact that we don't seem to have any control over our borders is a joke for a supposed Republic. If this government were able to travel back in time to this time last year, I'm certain they'd make the exact same mistakes again.
jcon1913 wrote: » The so called UK variant is responsible for 95% of cases according to RTÉ this evening. And that’s from travel
Red Silurian wrote: » Of course it's from travel, you can't get from the UK to here without traveling
DessieJames wrote: » how do you know it came in via Dublin airport and not someone from N.Ireland crossing the border, you dont.
Red Silurian wrote: » I never once suggested it came in via Dublin airport although 10,500 people did come in to our country on flights into Dublin Airport last week so it has a high probability But somebody who comes in from NI is also traveling into our country
For Forks Sake wrote: » You might want to delete that last line as there isn't a grain of truth in ithttps://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/ev8t2q/this_til_is_not_true_completely_false_last_time_i/https://twitter.com/simoncoveney/status/1220121628752928769
Aegir wrote: » It could just as easily have been a Dutch lorry driver arriving in Rosslare delivering goods from Poland. If you close all borders and go for zero covid, then you effectively give up your avocados, satsumas and cheap tulips.
Strumms wrote: » Civil liberties? You HAVE to stop at red traffic lights, you can’t drink 4 vodkas and drive, or do you find these laws that are also in existence to keep people well, healthy, alive are a charade and impinging in your civil liberty too..?
DessieJames wrote: » But you cannot do anything about people crossing the border. and mores to the point, the mass hysteria and downright lies surrounding travel is shocking, the stats dont lie - travel accounts for hardly any cases!! Travel related - 71 - 0.66%https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-1914-dayepidemiologyreports/COVID-19_14_day_epidemiology_WEB%20report_20210225_v1.0.pdf
DessieJames wrote: » :D this mad eme laugh