Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anyone else starting to become a bit excited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭BrandonBay86

OEP wrote: »
    Yea I didn't have a combination of the cash and risk appetite to buy into itduring the bear market. I was saving a deposit for a house, which I now have. I had enough exposure at the time with my ETH but in the next crash I will be in a better position to buy. I'll look into that, thanks.

House far more important!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

Dohnjoe wrote: »
    Keep in mind people did this in 2017 and by end 2018 it was down 90% +

Not a bad idea to cash out the principle in a bull run (in stages)

Was down 90%+ two years ago but look at it now! As I said im playing the long long game like any investment you have to expect dips and peaks but im confident that over a long enough timeline , in my case the next 10-15 years I should be passing on a nice mobile nest egg to the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,032 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

myshirt wrote: »
    Where is everyone buying their Bitcoin? Where is the cheapest?

Coinbase have a spread built in, and it is 0.0005 BTC to withdraw. Can you get better than this?

Within reason of course. Right balance of security, ease of use, etc.

It's not an exchange, which I rather quite like, but the weekly limits might not suit: https://www.belgacoin.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Any of ye know why Coinbase price is at approx 26,800eur while coindesk is reading approx 27,800..? Quick Google search gives 28k but not sure how accurate that is..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭makeorbrake

UsBus wrote: »
    Any of ye know why Coinbase price is at approx 26,800eur while coindesk is reading approx 27,800..? Quick Google search gives 28k but not sure how accurate that is..?

In reality there is no one standard price for bitcoin. Most likely one is Coinbases current price for the EUR/BTC pair whilst Coindesk's price feed is likely a blend of EUR/BTC prices from a number of exchanges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,181 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

ETH is not stopping, I might need to pull the eject lever today sometime, I need to buy a house and it would kill me to see my current portfolio balance evaporate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Now we are getting into the mental phase, get ready for rollercoaster stuff. Also nice to see other alts (outside of Defi and "flavor of the month" coins) starting to move.

Thargor wrote: »
    ETH is not stopping, I might need to pull the eject lever today sometime, I need to buy a house and it would kill me to see my current portfolio balance evaporate...

Here's an idea, sell a percentage at certain price points. Takes emotion out of the equation, e.g. sell 10% if we hit 750 euro. Another 10% at a higher price point and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭antgal23

Easy on there Thargo

I think ETH has a good bit to go if BTC has anything to go by. I mean, BTC has been dragging major alts up but it's only the past week have they taken off

Why not wait and see how price interacts with the Jan 2017 highs before selling up?

If it sells off more than 20% from a high then maybe jump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Litecoin is one of the top gainers today. It has retained its value against BTC quite well for the past 6 months, in comparison to the majority of alt coins.

It might be heading towards a 2x soon imo.

Big discrepancies in Eth prices across exchanges, up to 70 euros difference, ah the nostalgia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Fair enough, but It has a long way to go yet IMO. I can still see it reaching .05BTC mark which is where I will consider selling my bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭antgal23

Now we are getting into the mental phase, get ready for rollercoaster stuff. Also nice to see other alts (outside of Defi and "flavor of the month" coins) starting to move.

We are not in the mental phase yet

A few models knocking around suggest BTC highs of 50 to 100 K by 2022

We have a bit to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Mucashinto

UsBus wrote: »

Was wondering the same. ETH is cheaper as well. Did a couple of preview buys to see if they actually give those prices and they do.

100% conjecture here, but if you look at the price charts the coins hit lows on Coinbase yesterday they didn’t get to anywhere else (€22k and €550). Could it be that’s a Coinbase purchase that gets fairly shown in the charts but is never really available to users? Then they’re sitting on a stack of coins they bought 15/20% below market value that they’re happy selling a little cheaply?

Would also work in their favour on customer sells if they’re bullish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Hope I’m not too late to the crypto party but putting in a couple of grand I’m prepared to lose, and see what happens. Going to do 75% BTC and 25% ETH

antgal23 wrote: »

We have a bit to go

I read all these predictions and TA in 2013 and 2017, the models are bull****, no one has any clue.

There is however a lot more access to crypto than there was previously, especially big "simple" gateways like Revolut and Paypal for the impatient to give their cash to the patient. Amazed that CB hasn't crashed yet..

antgal23 wrote: »

We have a bit to go

When someone could safely dive off the top of the chart, wearing a wingsuit, and negotiate the face of the curve, it's mental. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭DeSelby83

Is there any particular difference in DCAing on one exchange or another? I know coinbase seems to be most user friendly and automated but do they charge more fees for doing so? Or would you really only be looking at substantial fees when withdrawing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

I sort of wish I bought more than €100 of ETH a few days ago as a test-case.

Unfortunately now I have to sort out the tax issue as I've earned €25 if I sell now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Pure speculation but if this bull is strong as hoped, selling eth now would be a mistake.

ETH is up for nearly 20% today. 1k on the horizon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,839 ✭✭✭facehugger99

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Hope I’m not too late to the crypto party but putting in a couple of grand I’m prepared to lose, and see what happens. Going to do 75% BTC and 25% ETH

Is this the equivalent of the shoeshine boy giving out stock tips?

Might be time to bank some profit I'm thinking.

Serious pump on ETH now. Up 25% today. Touching distance of 1k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Bitcoin, the world’s largest cryptocurrency, topped $34,000 (€28,000) just weeks after passing another major milestone.

The currency gained as much as 9.8 per cent to $34,792.48, before slipping to about $33,500 as of 3pm on Sunday in London. It advanced almost 50 per cent in December, when it breached $20,000 for the first time.

The latest gains top an eye-popping rally for the controversial digital asset in 2020, which rebounded sharply after a severe crash in March that saw it lose 25 per cent amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The currency “will be on the road to $50,000 probably in the first quarter of 2021”, said Antoni Trenchev, managing partner and co-founder of Nexo in London, which bills itself as the world’s biggest crypto lender. Institutional investors returning to their desks this week will likely boost prices further after retail buying over the holidays, he said.

Investment portfolios
    Bitcoin has increasingly been “embraced in more global investment portfolios as holders expand beyond tech geeks and speculators,” Bloomberg Intelligence commodity strategist Mike McGlone wrote in a note last month. Proponents of the currency have also seized on the narrative that the coin could act as a store of wealth amid supposed rampant central-bank money printing, even as inflation remains mostly muted.

Bitcoin should eventually climb to about about $400,000, Scott Minerd, chief investment officer of Guggenheim Investments, told Bloomberg Television in a December 16th interview.

Still, there are reasons to be cautious, partly since Bitcoin remains a thinly traded market. The currency slumped as much as 14 per cent on November 26th amid warnings that the asset class was overdue a correction. The big run-up in price in 2017 was followed by an 83 per cent rout that lasted a year.

- Bloomberg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭JoeCole26

Understand it’s impossible to predict, but in your opinion, if not already invested in BTC at this stage, have we missed the boat? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

JoeCole26 wrote: »
    Understand it’s impossible to predict, but in your opinion, if not already invested in BTC at this stage, have we missed the boat? Thanks

Asking that on a forum where most are very bullish, you're gonna get a lot of "No, but only put in what you can afford to lose."

It's not for the faint of heart or panic-sellers, be ready for 80-90% drops in value. And 10x price increases.

Reading through the usual crypto forums, subs and sites. Glad with the gains but what an utter ****fest; "HODL we're all going to get rich together!", "Don't sell, iron hands!", "This is nothing, going 10x soon", etc. A lot of poor schmucks being unloaded on and they have no idea.

Please elucidate your argument as to why HODLers are schmucks, as there isnt much of substance in your rant to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Wonder will ethereum break 1k dollars tonite, might not be able to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭banie01

cnocbui wrote: »
    Please elucidate your argument as to why HODLers are schmucks, as there isnt much of substance in your rant to go by.

There is a huge degree of difference between someone HODLing a coin the bought for 500 versus someone who bought at 33000.

I'm surprised you need that explained to you TBH.
    Calling for iron hands while money is flowing in, is easy when you have gains in the 100s of %.
    Justifying iron hands to the Mrs when you've played a BTC move at 33k?

Not so easy to justify, don't you think?