a_squirrelman wrote: » Oh I understand ya, but throwing it in some poor box or tipping the bar staff would be better than that stinge pocketing it. What was he thinking like, the mind boggles.
MikeOxsgreen wrote: » Also, if you brought a cake or something nice (for the tea) , you'd be offered rich tea biscuits from stock.
razorblunt wrote: » Stop bringing cake, bring Rich Tea.
arctictree wrote: » I know its not real life, but in the movies, English weddings look very similar to ours. Big sit down meal, best man speech etc. Is the reality just very different?
galway_lad wrote: » At my wedding, a stingey uncle of mine gave us a present of a scratch card! I know you shouldn't expect gifts but c'mon, how could you do that without any shame. When I saw him after he made a big deal of asking if I won anything, probably looking for a share!
The_Conductor wrote: » What weddings? Victorian or period weddings? Funerals are the same in England- sad affairs that do little to celebrate the passing of the person and give them a good send-off in the manner in which we do here. I couldn't tell you how many wakes and full funerals I've been to in Ireland- I've lost count, in comparison the few I've attended in London and Cambridge- were sparsely attended, sombre affairs, where you were expected to feck off afterwards.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » You went to a different culture’s wedding and are cross that they didn’t do a wedding like your own culture. The third round of drinks that you bought was just being a martyr. It must have been clear to you that they weren’t doing rounds after the first two rounds (but it was bad form of them to let you buy rounds if they didn’t say they would prefer to buy their own)
ohnonotgmail wrote: » Weddings in England are a nightmare in general. They don't do them properly at all. My brother is getting married again over there next year and I'm dreading it.
dinneenp wrote: » She already owned the shoes!!!! Didn't waste money by going and buying a new pair!!!! "bargain basement wedding dress". She didn't spend €1k or €2k on a dress that will only be worn for one day!!!!!! What a stinge.
the purple tin wrote: » On homes under the hammer some bloke bought a house and then found out the previous owner had stripped out the sockets, light fittings and switches and took out all the radiators!
The_Conductor wrote: » Sadly its not as unusual as you'd imagine. Its why in Ireland we ask to have all contents listed- including fixtures and fittings, when buying/selling........ You'd be amazed at how many people get caught out.
the purple tin wrote: » Yes I think it was all a-ok when he viewed it but after he made the offer place was stripped. The bloke said he had been buying and doing up houses for years but he's never seen anything like this before.
Gwynplaine wrote: » My stinge of a brother took off all the handles of internal doors of his house when he sold it. I saw this box of door handles about 15 years after he sold the house, I said "what are the box of door handles for" he said, delighted with himself, "oh I took them them out of that house I sold years ago". I wasnt surprised to be honest. He then told he also took all the lightbulbs with him. Same fella asked a relative for petrol money when bringing them for Chemotherapy one time. Unsurprisingly, he was never asked to do a hospital run again. Glad I've nothing to do with him now. People like that can be toxic, in many ways.
Strumms wrote: » There was a fella I worked with on nights, where there were 4 of on shift in our department ... Another manager of a different department used to supply snacks and drinks for his team, there’d be fruit bowls, bowl of chocolate bars, Pringle’s , soft drinks, water etc in their office. They’d knock off at 5am, we’d be on shift until 6.30am.. No sooner had they disappeared this fella was in their office filling a bag and leaving feck all... he wasn’t filling a bag for us nor did we even get offered anything... it was for his family and him, a proper miserable cûnt he was earning about 44,000 and his wife worked part time. One night me and a colleague had a word, said it would be prudent to clarify if that was ok, as the eye could be on ALL of us.. his reply... “ it’s coming out of the budget, for employees, I’m an employee end of story... “... forgetting of course each manager has their own budget... and the problem he wasn’t just half inching a coke and some Pringle’s he was bagging their remaining stash or 70% of what was left....always ‘4’.... 4 cokes, 4 waters, 4 mini Pringle’s, 4 Cadbury snacks... about twice or three times a week. Every second conversation with him was, ‘the price of xxxx is outrageous’... ‘this country is a rip off’... he was even giving out that the company mechanic who he’d been getting to service his car as a nixer as we all did, great mechanic, nice guy upped the charge from 70 to 80 euros.... despite even collecting the car in the morning , driving 1km, bringing it back before he clocked off... nutsville.
Antares35 wrote: » Doesn't seem to be any correlation between what someone earns and how stingey they are. You'd kind of expect the poor employees on 28k to be doing that, not the ones on 70+. Hungry gits.
Antares35 wrote: » Guaranteed as a meeting was due to wind up there'd always be the same members of middle or senior management just hanging around like flies ready to pounce. You'd kind of expect the poor employees on 28k to be doing that, not the ones on 70+. Hungry gits.
Princess Calla wrote: » I have noticed the higher the salary the more likely they are to be penny pinching. The lower salary would be too embarrassed to do that, higher salary will brazen it out.
Antares35 wrote: » Doesn't seem to be any correlation between what someone earns and how stingey they are. I worked in a place years ago where there'd often be a good whack of leftover sandwiches from various meetings. The company always over ordered from the likes of O'Briens and Munchies etc. Guaranteed as a meeting was due to wind up there'd always be the same members of middle or senior management just hanging around like flies ready to pounce. You'd kind of expect the poor employees on 28k to be doing that, not the ones on 70+. Hungry gits.
odyssey06 wrote: » Maybe I'm missing something, but they were leftover sandwiches though? Popping up at the end of a meeting to claim a share of sandwiches and leaving the real attendees short would be a different story.