blanch152 wrote: » I see he has apologised to Varadkar. Maybe some of those around here who said there was no reference to Varadkar's sexuality would consider and reflect how little they understand of dog-whistle homophobia, and how maybe they should reconsider how they respond when it is raised. If you missed the dog-whistle homophobia in Stanley's tweet and how it could be interpreted, maybe you are also missing the other examples of dog-whistle homophobia around you.
smurgen wrote: » I think Varadkar's speech on the civil partnership for gay couples is more homophobic to be honest. I seem to remember at the time the Iona institute even used it on their website to represent their stance. Has Varadkar ever clarified those speeches?
Nobotty wrote: » I posted about this a few pages back You are all in the thread so I'm surprised you missed it Basically the youtube clip was a short put together by mullen and crew to spread mis information during the referendum Ironic that it's still being used today to question his coming out But yes he did clarify at the timehttps://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/referendum-is-not-about-me-or-adoption-says-varadkar-30933376.html There are many things to attack a politician on ,not least Vradakar but their coming out journey isn't one I went into detail as to what I think was involved in my chat with mc the other day HERE in this LINK Its petty lads and come on you are better than that!
FrancieBrady wrote: » He didn't have to come out to stand up for rights. He chose not and then changed with when the wind blew the right way. Party first.
smurgen wrote: » I don't get the explanation if I'm honest. Sounds like spin. We have to videos of the speech. It was very believable and is bizarre to watch in hindsight.
Nobotty wrote: » I think it was politic first,
FrancieBrady wrote: » There's your indictment there. It has nothing to do with his sexuality. He ad the FG party blocked rights for LGBT people.
FrancieBrady wrote: » He said it wasn't homophobic. Think the oversensitivity was yours. As I said.
blanch152 wrote: » He publicly apologised to Varadkar and said he was trying to reach him to make a personal apology. He said it wasn't meant as homophobia, but could be interpreted many ways and he apologised. Not everyone believes him.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Not everyone thinks of the oversensitive woke eejits waiting to pounce...3 years later when knocking out a tweet. Complete hames made of this by FG in particular and such an extraordinary waste of time and money. Managed to reveal themselves with the pile-on about 'heavies' visiting young girls, in which you played a part yourself. Then they sent out a TD to lead the charge who has bullying and blackmail questions to answer herself. Dear oh dear, what a mess.
blanch152 wrote: » I don't think they are. Dog-whistle homophobia and racism directed towards Varadkar suits their agenda. It is Stanleyesque in nature.
christy c wrote: » Haha, FG in particular? The party that had TDs with 9/11 conspiracies exposed, members resign, and had to make an apology to their political opponents wouldn't feature ahead of them?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Yes FG in particular made a hames of it. Stanley is still Chairman of PAC and their own TD is facing questions about her own behaviour.
christy c wrote: » LOL, ok. As long as SF are ok with loosing members and having conspiracy theories of their TDs exposed, then I suppose you could be right.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Mate FG have literally been pushing an army council conspiracy with years at this stage and from i can ascertain,zero actual evidence to support it?? Its kinda cringy to watch at this stage :pac:
christy c wrote: » Yep, as I said I'd much rather the focus be on the hair brained economic policies of SF. But this particular episode, who do you think came out worse, SF or FG?
Nobotty wrote: » This episode? It'll be forgotten about by any voter that matters It was a weak attempt at revenge for having to bring in the Justice minister the other week Tit for Tat There'll be more
[Deleted User] wrote: » Tbh i been kinda busy with xmas stuff and only half followed it,so im not in position to know,who come out worse But,i just find it hypocritical to critise shinners for conspiracy theory posting,when FG still openly spout one,that when i looked into it,deosnt have an iota of substance to it
Bowie wrote: » Numerous record breaking societal crises, NCH over run, leaking info to a pal, crony judicial appointment? The public.
christy c wrote: » Just before the bolded bit, you ignored or missed in "this particular episode".
Bowie wrote: » No, I did not. Brian Stanley being discussed on RTE radio 1 right now. Important discussions used for political gamesmanship.
christy c wrote: » Well if you did not miss it you somehow answered a completely different question.
Bowie wrote: » No. Everybody lost because of this being discussed so much IMO. We have Doherty right now making a nonsense of herself. More talk on the tweet than anything else.
christy c wrote: » Yeah I said before this wouldn't make much difference either way to voters, but saying FG in particular handled it badly doesn't add up for me.
christy c wrote: » Oh right, probably a few things to work on for SF seen as it caused some of their members to resign and distract from other issues in that case.