opinionated3 wrote: » We managed to get a booking at a local hotel last Saturday evening.
Tazz T wrote: » Think it depends where you go. I was in a big pub in Dun Laoghaire on Saturday night and once we'd finished the meal, it seemed pretty much like your standard 'wet' pub for the rest of the evening. Seemed to be a lot of very young wans in there who didn't seem to be eating at all.
weldoninhio wrote: » Why would anyone wear a mask outside??
Gervais08 wrote: » It’s a closed over walkway, they’re practically on top of one another and 2 were walking into the shop till stopped.
2ndcoming wrote: » Went for a ramble yesterday to clear the head and curse the gastropubs when I rambled past a little snug bar I recalled from my youth. There was a smallish fella standing in the door with a shock of red hair, winking out at me. "D'you fancy a pint?", says he. "Do I wha?!", says I. So in I tipped while the coast was clear clear for a few oul pints of plain, bejaysus it was glorious. Ah the craic and the porter black, what a time to be alive, and nary a vol-au-vent or a gourmet burger to be seen. Gerrup outta that, says he.
Allinall wrote: » So what are they trying to do?
AdrianBalboa wrote: » The persecution complex on display by the drinkers in this thread is laughable. Inventing conspiracies about hoity-toity upper crust snobs gorging on fine dining while the working man can't have his pints in peace. Nobody cares if you want to poison yourselves with Guinness. Though I'm a teetotaller myself I couldn't give a monkey's about people's drinking habits. What I am considered with, is people openly flouting regulations installed to keep more people alive until the virus is under control. A nod and a wink, microwavable sandwiches and "bienvenue mon amis" from Charles de Gaulle himself. While it is fun to laugh at the people imagining themselves in speakeasies with Al Capone, it's very concerning to see the numbers rising and these people in particular blaming everyone else but themselves.
Drifter50 wrote: » ... this is what Saint Tony wants so he can push through his cafe culture rubbish.
Irish Steve wrote: » Yes, it's a coarse seive that's been used to try and limit socialising in an environment that is a high level suspect for the spread of Covid, and it's not ideal, but in theory, it has helped to reduce the numbers, and that should be a good thing.
CorkRed93 wrote: » The regulations on 9e meals have 0 scientific basis. "Flouting" these rules have no correlation to spread of covid. Numbers are stable, quit the scare tactics.
AdrianBalboa wrote: » Yes, we're the "socially inept" ones while this thread is page after page of people begging to go to the pubs and drink pints of gargle alone without talking to anyone. Something isn't adding up there, I'm afraid. Let's get real here: if the pubs reopened (especially now at Christmas!) without the substantial meal levy they would be packed with pissed up revelers, bumping into each other, giving each other headlocks and spraying each other with spittle. Cases of the virus would explode and increase exponentially and our health system would collapse. That's all it is. Nobody cares if you drink, nobody cares if you're just a regular guy lookin' for a brewskie. There's no conspiracy from the upper crust to keep the common man out of their drinking holes. All of the posters in here boasting about their "say nothin' and dere's yore change" anecdotes are just as bad as the cute hoor politicians you complain about. Bending the rules to suit your own interests, looking for loopholes, "sure it's alright if you..." You're just as bad as them. You're hypocrites.[/QUOTE[/B] Is'nt that what we were told at the start of all this? Life needs to go on....
Deleted User wrote: » Don't expect anything approaching honest debate. Retiring/socially inept sorts who don't go near pubs not having a clue what actually happens inside one (shocker), meanwhile dreaming up paranoid fantasies about secret knocks or prohibition era whimsy. The reality is somewhat more prosaic, just heading in the door and giving a place the once over. Food or no food, I haven't witnessed any shenanigans. People respectfully socially distancing and minding their own business. The way it ought to be. The only leniency has been in terms of food service with a jar, and there are now a handful of places in my home town not strictly enforcing the meal. I'm far from alone in exploiting this, and those who don't like that are well entitled to mind their own business. As you rightly point out, the "nine euro" invention has no credible basis to support it. Or why traditional pubs have been unfairly discriminated against. Only fretful homebodies who don't possess one iota about the pub setting leaning on the jaded stereotype of drunken buffoonery.
Oops! wrote: » Is'nt that what we were told at the start of all this? Life needs to go on....
AdrianBalboa wrote: » Yes it is what we were told at the start of all this. Guess what? It hasn't changed. And it won't change until we get a vaccine out in the wider public. That's life, pal.
Oops! wrote: » If you say so....:rolleyes:
AdrianBalboa wrote: » Yeah that's right, I do say so.
copeyhagen wrote: » you're coming across as a right idiot if your trying to be all high and mighty.
hynesie08 wrote: » Do you see them fully lifting restrictions without a majority being vaccinated?
IAMAMORON wrote: » It is not a great question in fairness. I don't think they will be using the Vaccine rollout as a measurement of when they can reduce lockdown? But the rollout of inoculations will inevitably lead to a decrease in hospital admissions and infections, when this starts materialising you will see restrictions easing. Everyone will be back drinking and cavorting again, bring it on please. Once the important demographies are inoculated you will see the gubbermint immediately looking for a return on their investment, that will mean getting pubs, restaurants, and other indoor venues open fully again. It is only a matter of time now.
hynesie08 wrote: » I mostly agree, but I can't see the magic day when the bells of Christchurch ring and we all meet on o connell St and hug...... I think it'll very much be a slowly phased reduction in restrictions, and while I'd love to see "we're vaccinating group x, so food pubs only need 1m and pint pubs can open with time limit and distance restrictions" I think we'll be at least be at 25% vaccination before anything extra is lifted....
IAMAMORON wrote: » It is not just the pubs they need opening, the airports also and the country as a whole. Once the HSE and the elderly get their jabs it will rollout quick enough. It is more cost efficient to vaccinate everyone than fork out 350 a week. Believe. I reckon we are back drinking by Paddy's day. Flights too.
Necro wrote: » Probably for another thread but the main stumbling block will likely be supply in the first few months. I am hopeful of a normal summer though.
IAMAMORON wrote: » Fair point... and I think we can ( or should ) also factor in the " Irishness " of how things roll out. Lets be honest, we are not best known for our efficiency? But the way I see it once health workers, the elderly and the vulnerable get their jabs I cannot see why restrictions don't start getting lifted? The question should be what is the population of people over 70 + healthcare workers + vulnerable persons? That is basically the break even point from a safety point of view?