KarlMarks wrote: » It wasn't stupid to tweet it. It was stupid of SF to make him take it down, and then have a posh Free Stater like Ó Broin talking about regret. Stanley was celebrating one of the PIRAs most stunning successes. A militart operation that targetted the foreign army invading our land, and resulted in no civilian loss of life.
Hubertj wrote: » I wasn’t aware there are different types of terrorist attacks. You can’t really distinguish between different types of murderers.
Solutionking wrote: » Seemingly people on this forum can. Blowing up men, women and children can be put into brackets. The PIRA sit in a bracket which allows you to glorify how great it was for them to blow people up. Like blowing up a chip shop when the PIRA knew the target was never in the building was probably an "excellent success", sure it was only 2 children that day And if you don't like that expect to be called any of the following "liar", "Beligerent unionist" or a "partitionist".
Hubertj wrote: » Any acts of cowardly murder are wrong. There is no justification for them whoever committed them. Its not about SF, the British or any other political party. Its about an elected representative celebrating an act of terrorism.
McMurphy wrote: » And far far less than what Leo did, just for clarity like.
Solutionking wrote: » Every week you lads want a vote of no confidence. Next week if Ethel doesn't have the tea right will you want a vote of no confidence then as well?
Bowie wrote: » Isn't it? If you can't get your head around the fact that some people saw the IRA as a legitimate army fighting another army, you've a long way to go in understanding. The paras are still celebrated and getting medals. I would expect people to be just as proud of their army. Calling one terrorist and only mentioning the other in an 'all' throw away, won't cut it.
blanch152 wrote: » Barry Cowen and Dara Calleary ended up resigning for far less than the Stanley tweet.
blanch152 wrote: » Disagree, Varadkar was correct to share the document, it was just the way he did it that was a problem. Calleary was wrong to have the dinner, Cowen was wrong to turn away from the checkpoint as well as the way he accounted for it. In the case of Stanley, the sentiment as well as the expression of it were both wrong. Furthermore, in Stanley's case even his party agree he was wrong, not so in Varadkar's case.
FrancieBrady wrote: » His party agree it was insensitive. Varadkar confessed to wrongdoing. His party and Taoiseach didn't disagree with that as far as I know. We still don't know what SIPO or the Gardai will find about it.
Bowie wrote: » What law did he break and try cover up? What government restriction did he flout? He posted a tweet. His only err was deleting it IMO. He should have stood by it and explained himself.
KarlMarks wrote: » Or not explain himself. He's a member of SF, not a self-loathing blueshirt who would have no issue celebrating the tans, but would condemn the PIRAs most successful military action against a foreign aggressor.
Brendan Bendar wrote: » Or the PSNI when Bobby’s inquiry reaches conclusion. Strong rumours that Stanley will be asked to step back tomorrow.
Brendan Bendar wrote: » Strong rumours that Stanley will be asked to step back tomorrow.
blanch152 wrote: » The boys in Belfast haven't made a decision yet. Heard Pearse on the radio this morning who said he hadn't yet had the chance to talk to Mary-Lou about any next steps. Decision awaited in that regard. While the Belfast lads will have loved the sentiments Stanley expressed, they know that they are words you must not say in public and they fear the loudmouths - look at the way Reada and Violet-Anne have been disappeared from the airwaves - so poor Brian's career will probably have peaked.
blanch152 wrote: » . Calleary was wrong to have the dinner, .
McMurphy wrote: » This is interesting, I could swear you're all over the Seamus Woulfe thread exclaiming that he did nothing wrong by attending the same dinner Calleary was wrong to attend Explain please why Calleary was wrong in attending the dinner, yet his resignation was sound, but not Woulfe. And Seamus not even a Green. This'll be interesting.
blanch152 wrote: » Because Calleary was at the Cabinet meeting that changed the rules and definitively knew the rules were changed. Everyone else at the dinner didn't have that knowledge. Simple as that.
P.S. You never answered the question about whether you agreed with your party leader and what she said about Stanley
FrancieBrady wrote: » Mary-Lou has said there will be no next step.https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/mary-lou-mcdonald-will-not-punish-brian-stanley-for-insensitive-tweet-as-it-was-a-singular-one-off-mistake-39812726.html
McMurphy wrote: » Funnily enough, Hogan wasn't a member of cabinet either - and I'm pretty sure you're on record on this site stating his resignation calls were correct. Also, the saying ignorance of the rules should be no excuse has never been more apt when a supreme judge is who at the centre of what we're discussing. I don't have a "party leader" blanch, I'm not a member of any political party, Sinn Fein or otherwise, but I'll answer your question. My opinion on Stanley's tweet hasn't changed since yesterday, I think he should have let it stand. I had zero issues with the content of it. Shinner voiced his support of two successful IRA operations shocker.
Solutionking wrote: » Hardly a shocking revelation is it?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Well it would be to the guys claiming that there was to be a meeting of the white bearded men in the Hills of Antrim before the Shinners came to a decision on the matter.
Solutionking wrote: » Mary Lou had no issues covering up for Gerry Adams over his brother, she didn't think he needed to leave SF after that. Why would anyone think she would call for anyone resignation? Unless they walked in a actually killed someone in government building in front of her and the entire population, live on TV, then you might see her call for a resignation.
Three Sinn Féin members resign over Covid grants
costacorta wrote: » Oh not a SF supporter and on here 24/7 supporting them . Then running to the mods reporting people’s post . You would have been a great informer if you were involved with the RA . Nothing but a little snitch you big girls blouse .. Now report that as I’m outta here anyway . Mc Murphy the Snitch should be your name ��