km79 wrote: » Well said He wasn’t captain of minor and u21 all ireland winning teams and a sigerson winning team for nothing ! Having said that I never ever want to see him in the attacking third again and I don’t think he wants too either
Barlett wrote: » I thought O'Shea played very well, his two quick offloads in the second half should have resulted in two goals.
Brusna wrote: » Why is it that almost all Mayo supporters are loath to give any credit to Stephen Coen. He was very good today as he usually is but never gets a mention. Maybe in time we will begin to appreciate the work he puts in, like tracking runs and cutting out options for the opposite team. Well played again Stephen Coen!
Green&Red wrote: » I don’t think Mullin is as good as is being made out. I think he can be but the three games I’ve seen have told me he is not tight enough. That’s alright when it’s a Kilmeena forward you’ve to mark but when you’re marking IC forwards I don’t think it’s good enough but I’m sure he’ll learn Likewise nothing I’ve seen from Eoin McLaughlin tells me he’s good enough. Ryan O’D, Brian Walsh and Jordan footballers all look like nice footballers but not really good enough to have us really competing. All are young though Thought Keegan was much better in the second half, as was Durcan. Was impressed with Loftus at midfield Cillian obviously MOTM, outstanding
mayo londoner wrote: » I'll hold my hands up, Cillian was brilliant today, still maintain he could go well at CHF, kicked a couple of excellent 45s. Conditions sure as hell didn't suit the lighter players anyways. This nonsense of AOS at FF has to stop, He's a midfielder, an area where we are really struggling, even against Leitrim. TBH, conditions didn't suit but I thought he was fairly awful today regrardless, has missed opportunities from a couple of marks he's taken in the last few games and is not a natural scorer, which is a full forwards no.1 duty. If D Coen had as bad a game as him he would have got the curly finger at HT you can be sure of it. Flynn not good enough at this level I'm afraid, we've much better options, Boland seems to have disappeared altogether and presume Moran and O'Hora were injured. Carr did ok when he came on and O'Donoghue got on a lot of ball the first half. Wouldn't be overly confident of us taking the Rossies with how our midfield in particular are performing, move AOS back to his natural position and we can break even at the very least there, I think one of Carr/Coen will start in full forward line the next day.
NabyLadistheman wrote: » Jesus thats harsh enough. It's not Mullins fault Kilamine were junior, talk about a low blow. Nothing you've seen form either Mullins or McLoughlin tells you they are good enough?? Well I've seen the plenty that tells me they will be good enough. Year after year people are crying out for fresh blood in the team and as soon as 7 new debutantes are launched they are written off straight away. If all the old timers were playing we all know what would be said. These young fellas are been dropped into Senior championship and it is the only place they will learn. Mullins has done alright in a team that is driving forward at every given minute. Imagine Mayo were some bit defensive and there wasn't oceans of space in front of him? He was practically a one man defence for long spells yesterday. Whatever happens this year will stand to them for the years ahead
Green&Red wrote: » This isn’t an attack on Kilmaine, no sort of a low blow, Kilmaine are a junior team, that’s a fact. Playing junior football is a LOT different to senior football, you get away with looseness and mistake that you’d be punished for in senior football. I’d imagine IC is a massive step up from senior club football. Disagree completely that senior championship is where these lads will learn. That’s what the league is for. His primary job is defending, he hasn’t done that too well in the three games I’ve seen him in. He looked great going forward against galway but Conroy got three points from play off him. He got destroyed defensively against Tyrone. The best backs we have had in the last 10 years took care of business at the back, Mullins isn’t doing that at the moment
mayo londoner wrote: » Thought Aido gave away a lot of ball in particular in the first half, conditions were atrocious but we play much better overall when he's at midfield. He will be snuffed out against the likes of Dublin and Kerry as per usual if we get that far, it's been done to death at this stage. Can talk about setting up a score or two all you like, a full forwards primary duty is to score heavily, look at Clifford, Stephen O'Neill, Con O'Callaghan, Canavan, Geaney, Murphy, all All Ireland winning full forwards (bar Clifford but he'll get there no doubt) who score heavily from play as well as set up scores, do we honestly think Aido is going to contribute enough on the scoreboard from full-forward to get us over the line in an All Ireland? Would ye not rather have a forward line of Conroy, Coen/Carr and Cillian with Aido at midfield dominating kickouts?
flasher0030 wrote: » The problem there is that he does not dominate kick-outs. In the modern game, any goalie worth his salt will easily keep kick-outs away from the big man. So we'll have Aido huffing and puffing running around in circles trying to get hold of the ball, but getting nowhere. And we don't have a keeper who can deliver a proper kick-out to him. And even if we did, it's easy for opposition management to counter that by just piling into the back of him, stand on his toes, hold jersey etc. We've seen it all before.
mayo londoner wrote: » It's been tried the guts of a dozen games down through the years and it just hasn't worked. If anything, with the amount of ball that is pumped in at him, it's more common for it to come straight back out and alas we've wasted possession, especially against Dublin. This is a big reason why we have not gotten over the line in All Irelands, fire in a natural scoring full forward like the ones I mentioned in previous post and we would have gotten over the line in at least one. Bar Cillian, the only other natural full forward that we've had since 2011 has been Freeman and he got a raw deal in 2013. Now we have Coen and Carr as options, who are much more mobile, natural scorers and on a given day can easily knock over 5 or 6 points.
wirelessdude01 wrote: » Remember Mullin is still learning his trade. Was u20 this year. Those giving out about McLaughan, remember he is only playing football in any serious fashion for the past two years after he decided to give up cycling.
Green&Red wrote: » On AOS - he’s not going to score 1-9 from full forward, that’s not his game. His game is bringing others into it, taking pressure off other forwards. He’s score strong he can have two or three lads around him and it releases others. Plus he’s smart enough to see the moves others are making. To criticise his lack of scoring shows a lack of understanding of what his point in there is
mayo londoner wrote: » I very much understand what the thinking is having him in there Green&Red, my point is that we are not going to win an All Ireland with Aido in at full forward when we have scoring forwards of the calibre of Coen and Carr warming their holes on the bench.
mayo londoner wrote: » He scored two points from full forward against Leitrim, a division 4 team.... One from a mark and missed another handy one, gave away the ball a good 4 times in the first half, I'm a huge fan of Aido (at midfield) but he's not immune to the odd bit of criticism. As I said above, a full forwards primary duty is to score heavily, set up scores is secondary. Only big score Aido has registered at full forward was against Sligo.
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » What did Coen and Carr do v Dublin last year? That seems to be the stick thats used to beat AOS at full forward by a lot of people; who has done better? We have lots of forwards who drift in and drift out, and can be interchanged with each other without too much noticable effect. AOS is the one forward we have who can do something the rest cant, who other teams have to come up with a plan to handle specifically.
Green&Red wrote: » The quote below doesn’t suggest you do understand it. Not all full forwards do put up massive scores. I hate comparing him to Donaghy but he is a good reference point here. He allowed Gooch and O’Donoghue to score big. By having him in there he provides space for those lads and allows Cillian to put up massive scores
flasher0030 wrote: » Why do you keep referencing Darren Coen as being our saviour. Darren made his Mayo senior debut EIGHT years ago. Has nowhere near nailed down a position in the intervening years. What's different this year? He's around 28 now.
mayo londoner wrote: » Coen didn't get a game against Dublin last year....
mayo londoner wrote: » Does he or does he not consistently score? Which I believe to be a full forwards job..... Personally I'd prefer Carr but at least Coen has the balls to take on a shot or two when many others wouldn't, seem to recall him being excellent against the Rossies last year in bad conditions till he was called ashore, scored 4 or 5 outrageous points, scored two versus Meath I think, 2 against Kerry, 3 or 4 against Galway. That's what you want your full forward to be doing.
flasher0030 wrote: » Surely if he consistently scored, he would consistently be on the team. We've all seen Darren's contributions over the years. Can score fab points every so often. No denying that. But overall not a team player. First instinct is to go for a score. Will seldom pass and never looks for a player in a better position. It's great when all goes well. But then when it doesn't go well, and he hit couple of no-hopers, it's detrimental to the team - throwing away possession. Doesn't have a cute football brain for someone who is one of the seasoned players on the panel at this stage. It's a pity, cause he has a deadly punt of a kick when it goes well. It's all bravado saying he has the balls to take on a shot. That's no good for a win against the better teams when he's ballooning shot after shot wide. I think James Carr could do with a lengthy spell in the team. I think he has that bit of X-factor. At one point yesterday, looked like he was lining up for a shot, but instead dinked in a pass to the area around the goal, took a return pass and punched it over the bar with his back to goal. I think he was going for goal. Anyway, that's the kind of cuteness needed by our forwards. If that was Coen, he would have taken the first shot straight away, and it could sail over the black spot, or it sould hit the corner flag. Out of cusiousity, was it yourself who thought that Cillian O'Connor was on the downward slope?
mayo londoner wrote: » Agree with you on that Coen can be gung ho and not take on the better option on occasion, and thus give away possession, although I'd argue similarly we've given away possession more often than not kicking balls into Aido at FF down through the years which is every bit as bad, if not worse than kicking a wide. I said I felt with his injury troubles he would be a better option at CHF supplying ball into FF line or coming off the bench in the 2nd half with 20mins to go with his experience. He had a stormer yesterday granted, albeit against much lesser opposition but looked much fitter than the previous 2 years. Actually thought he was superb the year he played CHF for a couple of games spraying ball everywhere, hence why I said he would be an option for there if we persisted with Aido at FF. Anyways as the previous poster said, we'll agree to disagree, time will tell if Aido works at full forward against the big boys, we all want the same thing at the end of the day so no point getting worked up about it.