theological wrote: » The fact that people are still arguing against travel restrictions despite the evidence is incredible. Particularly when the country is being effectively locked down again in part because new cases were imported from travel from abroad.
Happydays2020 wrote: » Where is the evidence?
gozunda wrote: » Heres three different studies which trace COVID-19 spread to international flightshttps://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2020/09/studies-trace-covid-19-spread-international-flights And no I'm not going to engage in an argument of semantics. If we had shut down flights from Northern Europe/ Italy early on in the pandemic - we clearly wouldn't have imported all the initial cases from Italy and elsewhere. That and / or making sure those who were then repatriated were properly quarantined. I remember early on in the discussion a small subset screaming that you "cant stop flights." I think that it's quite clear oh yes we can and / or at least put proper protocols in place to stop eejits jetting off and back again and continuing to increase our already rising infection rates.
Happydays2020 wrote: » That is not evidence and does not reflect the new reality of masks and enhanced cleaning on aircraft not to mention lower risks travelling to and from airports and at the airport. Separately, the virus was well implanted in Ireland in February. Unrestricted travel under old conditions will have led to higher numbers but it was here already.
The authors noted that thermal temperature screening and self-reporting of symptoms at the airport did not stop the infected person from boarding. As is clear from this investigation, long flights can lead to ideal conditions for "superspreader" events, they added.
gozunda wrote: » Saturday, February 29th. First case diagnosed in Ireland. A teenager had become ill after returning from Italy and was placed in isolation in a Dublin hospital.March 2nd The second case of the coronavirus in the Republic was confirmed on Tuesday evening after a woman who had recently travelled from Italy tested positive.March 4th it was confirmed that a family of four in Co Clare had tested positive for the virus after returning from a skiing holiday in northern Italy.
Tenzor07 wrote: » Totally agree that the time to suspend flights was early March for about 4 weeks, which would have allowed the Government to set up a Covid testing facility at the airports and install temperature cameras at passport control......fast forward 7 months and still no testing or temperature checks... and still some calling for closing the airports..... none of which makes sense, or is supported by evidence that the very few who have traveled are being traced back to any clusters of the virus or super spreader events... :rolleyes:
More than 191,000 people flew into Dublin Airport from Covid hotspots during a four-week period, according to figures given by Transport Minister Eamon Ryan. The airport saw arrivals from the US, Italy, Spain, Greece and Portugal between September 7 and October 4, as Covid-19 infections in these countries continued to rise.
faceman wrote: » Per Stephen Donnelly today citing hse figures up to date as of 14th October; travel now accounts for less than 1% of cases
normanoffside wrote: » I think we can all agree that we should just simply have a testing facility in the airport and/or require all travellers to bring a negative test a few days before travelling. The latter would cost the government nothing and most travellers would be willing to do it at their own expense
Tenzor07 wrote: » .... none of which makes sense, or is supported by evidence that the very few who have traveled are being traced back to any clusters of the virus or super spreader events... :rolleyes:
gozunda wrote: » Fast forward 7 months and infection rates are rising again and planes are still arriving. Our first diagnosed clusters came from Northern Europe. And despite knowing better - we still have some eejits thinking they can go off on their holliers willy nilly come back and do the same all over again. No need to completely shut down airports if the self same eejits had some cop on :rolleyes:
Tenzor07 wrote: » Yes, because of Government mismanagement of the Airports, so if you're looking for someone to get angry with then contact your local T.D. Airports are empty, flights aren't even half full, there's no tourists.
theological wrote: » And we've explored the reason why this is a misnomer several times on this thread so far. The figure doesn't account for onward spread from those people. Rates of travel are obviously going to drop in autumn but it should have been restricted before the summer. It is too late now. It still requires isolation. Test on arrival can produce false negatives because early on in the incubation period you can test out as negative. Quarantine for a few days is still required.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Biggest nonsense. 20% of infections are community transmission. Which means they have no idea where they came from. So 20% could be travel related.
gozunda wrote: » Personal responsibility has a big part to play in this pandemic. And where we have eejits who don’t think they can be carriers - then thats a big problem. As for "empty airports" - as detailed- "More than 191,000 people flew into Dublin Airport from Covid hotspots during a four-week period" Even discounting other tourists - our own flying 'tourists' seem to be certainly doing enough to make at least a sizeable proportion of that for sure
Tenzor07 wrote: » Everyone is a potential carrier, all transport needs to be treated the same.You keep referring to "eejits" seems quite childish to describe people? Whoever they are? Ireland is a Covid hotspot now. There's hardly any country in Europe with a higher rate of cases than Ireland.. The numbers coming into Ireland are 5 to 10% of normal, not significant at all. Outbreaks of the virus are not occurring due to travel abroad.
gozunda wrote: » Nope. Incorrect Not all transport has global links. Nor does all travel involve long stay contact with other individuals. Every person travelling and vacationing to or from a high risk areas outside their own households is potentially significant. And yes those denying reality are little more than right eejits imho. Sorry to call that out. And no need to take any of that personally btw.
Tenzor07 wrote: » That's ok, I viewed your post as a rant anyways when you started blaming "eejits".
saabsaab wrote: » If through a severe lockdown and curfews we brought th evirus down to almost nil and we still allowed non essential travel into the country we would be back to square one in a few months. Probably what happened already this summer and we all know it.
gozunda wrote: » Scientific studies based on real live infections from international flights are not evidence! Away and take a hike with that crap. The above link shows higher infection rates in Bussiness class (which has greater seating distances) and despite themal screening and self reporting etc at airports. Masks / face coverings only offer so much protection in any crowded environment - with the study showing that "Sitting near the ill passenger was strongly tied to increased infection risk." That remains. "Well implanted in Ireland in February"?????? Not to sure if you're now simply having a laugh or just making it up. Saturday, February 29th. First case diagnosed in Ireland. A teenager had become ill after returning from Italy and was placed in isolation in a Dublin hospital. March 2nd The second case of the coronavirus in the Republic was confirmed on Tuesday evening after a woman who had recently travelled from Italy tested positive. March 4th it was confirmed that a family of four in Co Clare had tested positive for the virus after returning from a skiing holiday in northern Italy.
lawrencesummers wrote: » So travel isn’t a problem? Travel clearly is a problem, but this piece would have you believe the “index case” is the problem with their behaviour when restrictions should have applied, testing should have been in place and follow up to check compliance happening. Man who failed to restrict movements after trip abroad led to 56 Covid-19 infectionshttps://www.thejournal.ie/man-failed-restrict-movements-56-cases-5237110-Oct2020/
[Deleted User] wrote: » No, its not. Its the behaviour of an individual who went out and socialised when he had COVID symptoms that is the problem