markodaly wrote: » Do we actually know if he bought any at the end? €150 for a good pair of shoes is nothing, considering a good pair will last you a decade, if not more.
Ush1 wrote: » "physcos"(sic) distinctly lack empathy, so the only one accusing Leo of being anything like a "physcopath"(sic) is your good self.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Again the Huff and the complete lack of awareness that it isn't just me who has observed this:https://www.google.com/search?q=Leo+Varadkar%27s+lack+of+empathy&oq=Leo+Varadkar%27s+lack+of+empathy&aqs=chrome..69i57.179330j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
SafeSurfer wrote: » I could probably accept criticism of a politician for lack of empathy and insensitivity but not from someone who defended Barry Mc Elduff during the Kingsmill bread gate debacle. If you consider buying shoe insensitive that’s fine but apply the same standards to those in Sinn Fein also.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » How in the name of Jesus was Louise O’Reilly demoted from the health portfolio in favour of Free State Bastards Cullinane? The guy is a gombeen.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Go back and find the post were I said...'If McElduff was explicitly targetting the Kingsmill victims' then he needed to go and he and SF needed to apologise. I even said a person doing something like that deliberately should face a prison sentence'.
jh79 wrote: » Any articles linking the shoes and dinner photo to this lack of empathy?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Oh my...what a novel way to ignore the long list of people observing what we are talking about here. Well done JH. Well done.
SafeSurfer wrote: » I said you defended him. You defended him.
jh79 wrote: » As i said earlier linking these specific photos to his perceived lack of empathy was just ridiculous.
Ush1 wrote: » There's a grand irony about ne'er do wells saying Varadkar lacks empathy when he is a doctor.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Yes...but not in the knowledge that he had knowingly engaged in victim abuse. Funny you should mention that case...I made my decision on it by looking at the track record to see if he had a pattern of victim abuse and he didn't. So I questioned why he would suddenly decide to do what he did if it was deliberate. Same with Leo. There is a definite pattern of behaviour that has been called out by many many more people than me, as I linked to and backed up. Funny when people challenge me they never point out when I criticise SF...I was one of the first to do it (criticise them) with regard to their insensitivity and mishandling at the funeral.
jm08 wrote: » A non-practising doctor. Who says doctors automatically have empathy anyway. When you look at the way some of the women in the cervical smear scandal were treated by their doctors you would certainly question their ability to empathise with them.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Not if you believe it isn't a perception, it isn't.
SafeSurfer wrote: » Oh really? I assumed it was just your usual slavish defence of all things Sinn Fein.
jh79 wrote: » So why do you believe the photos of him having dinner and buying shoes contribute to pattern of lacking empathy?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Because I ask myself...at a time when everyone else is having to curtail themselves socially why is the Taniste plastering photo's of himself leading a normal life over social media? It's the 'look at me' nature of them, which would be silly on their own, the type of thing you see on FB and Twitter all the time, but which when coupled with all the other stuff, depicts somebody who has issues. Should politicians be more sensitive about this stuff...yes in my opinion...SF included.
jh79 wrote: » They didn't open the restaurant specifically for him. Lots of people were socializing while respecting regulations at the time and helping the economy in the process.
FrancieBrady wrote: » When are you going to accept the point of view that all that is fine...if you cancel out the more serious instances? Stop with the dis-ingenuousness. It isn't just me that has observed this about him. My final word for now is... if you are a FGer...get on to HQ and have Leo locked away for a period, like you did with with Harris and Murphy and Enda because Leo will take you back to 21% territory.
FrancieBrady wrote: » What? FF and FG spent most of the last 100 yrs turning a blind eye to what was going on in NI when Irish people were getting beaten of the streets and shot. (call it killing or murder, whatever) Still do unless there is political gain for them in something that has gone on.
Niallof9 wrote: » brilliantly put markodaly In any other country a SF party with their structure and ideals and blood on their hands would be probably a right wing party. i mean a real left wing party would admit to all the structures etc. Cloak and daggers is normally the rights way. You can't be outraged when you are making the hard decisions.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » This is exactly the problem with Irish politics - ye’re all so obsessed with means that you’re entirely ignoring ideology and intended ends. What defines a left or right wing party is not how they behave, it’s what they believe in. Sinn Fein believes in the state guaranteeing a quality of life for its citizens, therefore they are economically a left wing party. Fine Gael believe in allowing the free market to dictate the quality of life for citizens - come what may - and therefore they are economically a right wing party. Their structure, means, etc are entirely irrelevant to defining where they sit on the economic left-right spectrum - and what seems to be so alarming to those who support right wing economics is the fact that an entire generation of young voters more or less has fundamentally turned against right wing economics to the extent that they are willing to overlook a party’s past crimes and allegations of an undemocratic structure because, ultimately, as long as they get their left wing economic policies and an and to stagflation, they simply don’t care who is introducing those policies. That’s what’s really happening here. Establishment supporters are freaking out because they’re being forced to concentrate on policy and ideology alone. They bring up the personalities and behaviors of politicians only to discover that the people they’re debating with don’t care. This is a marked departure from how Irish politics has generally operated before this decade and those who are used to playing by those rules have no idea how to operate in the new paradigm they and their politicians have created. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: we now have a generation of young people who would vote for a serial killing paedophile dropout over a straight A student with a PhD if the latter supported neoliberal economics and the former believes in government intervention to stop the stagflation that’s been going on. And none of you seem to have grasped this yet. To this generation, policy is the only thing that matters - policy here, now, today. That’s it. Someone who seems to genuinely want to address the growing gulf between average income and the cost of living will get a vote over someone who wants to let the market dictate peoples’ lives. It doesn’t matter who those people are. A left wing Josef Fritzl would get a vote over a right wing Florence Nightingale if this cohort of voters were given that option. I don’t want to keep linking to the same news stories over and over again but the financial times article I’ve linked before which analysed this year’s general election summed it up perfectly - he cost of housing has soared by more than 40% in three years while the average income has risen by, IIRC, 14%. In that paradigm, it shouldn’t be hard to understand why so many voters care about this and only this when deciding who to vote for!