Pelezico wrote: » I do not think so. The major change has been the 100 per week for the last few months. This is reminiscent of the 2008-2010 crash. Today's numbers are biggest to date.
awec wrote: » If there is less tomorrow, does that indicate that all is going to be grand? I mean, you could be right, but isn't your sample size remarkably small to be making such grand statements?
Cyrus wrote: » isnt the answer if you are a teacher or nurse get out of dublin? you know going in what the salary levels are like and they can offer a decent life outside of dublin. In dublin they are poorly paid jobs.
Pelezico wrote: » Number of price reductions is increasing. Big increase tosay on the usual 20 or so average. A lot of people are hoping to get out and want to be ahead of the curve. Too late I think. Come Autumn, we will have the mother of all reality checks.
Iceman29 wrote: » For once i agree with you Cyrus. Most first time buyers wouldn't dream of buying a house and doing up one room at a time. This generation want the finished article now.
Cyrus wrote: » the premise remains the same, buying a house is easier if you sacrifice, previous generations were more likely to scarifice than current generations. generally now, we want it all, and we want it now.
SozBbz wrote: » Humm...you don't know this though.Anecdotally many people took the break regardless of whether they needed it or not. I considered it myself but decided against it.
An Ri rua wrote: » Nothing about the Irish economy matters. No fundamentals apply. The world financial markets drive and direct the real world economies, not the other way around. Should anything happen to the USD or to access to credit at the upper levels, the demand/supply arguments go out the window. Same as 2008 except with bells on. Only a matter of time.
landofthetree wrote: » If we had good transport links it would be fine. But as it stands its an insane policy. We can literally build hundreds of thousands of units in Dublin. No shortage of land at all. A fear of high rise is holding us all back.
fliball123 wrote: » The same option everyone else who isnt a nurse has Rent Stay with the paretns Move to a smaller place Move to a place in a less desirable and cheaper area Move to a commuter county - Plenty of choices, meath, kildare, wexford, Wicklow, Louth. where I work one lad is commuting in form Kildare. I appreciate it will be hard but its the same for everyone nurse or not
Shelga wrote: » Ok, so what’s the motivation for someone who was born and raised in Dublin to become a nurse? What if they don’t want to move to Wexford, they have frail parents they want to be near? Let’s banish all the nurses from Dublin, great idea. Don’t know who’s going to look after you when you go to hospital, but let’s worry about that another time.
MacronvFrugals wrote: » If everyone did what i did there would be mass suicides, lets be real here and have some empathy - pulling up the ladder has become a sport. My luck is finding a job i'm interested in and having a personality type that dosent enjoy going out every weekend. Again if thats the standard for a single person i find it depressing.
AlmightyCushion wrote: » If he earned just €2,001 more he would not be able to use the rebuilding ireland home loan and would get a much lower multiple from a bank. Also, read his post. It is far more than just sacrificing he is doing. I know plenty of people that have enough for a deposit saved up, but house prices are too expensive and would leave them either in a rough area or with a seriously long commute.
Cyrus wrote: » im just pointing out the facts, if i wanted to be a teacher or nurse dublin wouldnt be where id be setting up home. im not saying its good for dublin, its just common sense. i have advocated before that certain key services take the place of these social housing allocations, so if 10% of a new estate in dublinneeds to be social housing it should be targetted at nurses, guards, firemen, teachers etc etc first.
awec wrote: » How many 4th year apprentices do you think can buy 3 bed semi's today?
Cantstandsya wrote: » So the fourth year apprentice should start saving for his deposit in third year of secondary school?
schmittel wrote: » Imagine how much they will complain if their 3% variable rate becomes 15%!
awec wrote: » This is one of the laziest, most patronising elements of society today, the idea that people buying today have it easy. Anyone who thinks people struggle to buy houses today because they go out at weekends is an idiot. There is no other word for it. It's that avocado toast nonsense. It is always so bemusing to hear how easy it is today from people who bought a 3 bed house in Dublin on a single working class salary.
fliball123 wrote: » Ok you have lost me I never said it was easy for the current generation. I simply said that things should not just be handed to them. Do you see the difference? I have 2 kids and I know they will be running the same race and jumping the same hurdles you are. I do sympathize that some cannot afford to buy where they want but why should a seller sell at a lower price so that someone can afford to buy where they want and most likely where other people will want and will be willing to pay more?
Cantstandsya wrote: » What does this mean? Please show me the evidence that "previous generations were more likely to sacrifice". It sounds like the usual dismissive guff that gets trotted out by a generation passively enriched by rocketing asset prices to convince themselves they earned their wealth.
MacronvFrugals wrote: » I went to college 4 years, study most weekends to get certifications and currently a programmer on 48k aged 24, live with my parents and nearly have the deposit up yet i'm still relying on the Rebuilding Ireland scheme to buy in a very rough part of D11, thats fine though i'm excited about getting my own home and understand how lucky i am. Many of those weekends though i thought to myself this isnt sustainable only to a hyper introvert who loves learning like myself, is this the standard for a single person to own their own home now? if so its pretty miserable tbh. This avocado toast attitude has ran its course, my dad often acknowledges he bought a 4 bedroom really nice house on 1 bricky wage in the 80s - compare that standard to now.
Cantstandsya wrote: » Did you read what the poster actually wrote?
Shelga wrote: » But who is saying it should just be handed to us? No one is arguing that. Ok, you had no life for 4 years, well done. That's 4 years of your 20s you'll never get back, and no I'm not saying go out and spend all your money on alcohol, but there has to be some leeway for occasional eating out, socialising, seeing a little bit of the world, even if that's just an odd weekend away. I think those things apply to both the 1980s and now. I would crack up if I sat in my living room for 4 years straight. All people are saying is that it is frustrating and demoralising if you are on a middling salary of say €40-45k in Dublin, you pay €700 a month in rent, you cut the rest of your expenses down to the bone, and say you save €800-1000 a month. The bank will only lend you €158000. Say a pretty basic 2 bed place in Dublin costs €260k. It will take you 9.5 years to save a deposit, plus come up with an extra €5k for stamp duty and expenses. For all of this 9 years you can have no major expenses, no holidays, no unexpected large bills. Now, obviously people would aim to earn more as the years go by. But what if you start off on €23k, and work your way up to €45k after 5-10 years? I'm sure this isn't a million miles away from what teachers and nurses earn. What kind of life is that? There is chasm between what I have just outlined, and "expecting a house to be handed to you." The truth is, it's near impossible to do, without a partner or family help, whereas my parents could easily secure a mortgage on 1 income, and the house was about twice my father's annual salary. You cannot compare the two. Anyway, I'm out, these conversations go nowhere.
Cyrus wrote: » how did they get a mortgage for a house with no roof? i do think the current generation is very self entitled, its why you see such a large cohort of young people voting for sinn fein, because they are naive enough to believe their empty promises.
Cantstandsya wrote: » One of their houses had no roof. Is that comparable? Ah no, the old people were just a superior breed to all these whinging kids.
Cyrus wrote: » theres a difference between fixer uppers and a place with no flooring but sure whatever, everyone has it harder today.
Cantstandsya wrote: » And plenty of people buy fixer uppers today. Out of my friends who own houses the majority needed significant work, only one bought a new build. Also, your parents didn't "care to live like that" either. Hence why it's now "most people's idea of a dream house".
brisan wrote: » I bought my first house in 1982 as a 4th year apprentice 3 bed semi for 24500 pounds Borrowed 18k at 16.5 % Lads now complain about 3 or 4 % mortgages lol
brisan wrote: » I bought my first house in 2020 as a 4th year apprentice 3 bed semi for 77,992 euros Borrowed 57,300 at 16.5 % Lads now complain about 3 or 4 % mortgages lol
Cyrus wrote: » im probably the same generation as you so you can retract your last comment, my parents bought a modest house when they were young, some of the rooms had no flooring, it was about 600 sq feet. its not 3500 sq feet and it would be most peoples idea of a dream house, but for years they had no flooring, no curtains, you get the jist. most people wouldnt care to live like that today, thats what i meant.
fliball123 wrote: » Well aren't you just proof that it can be done? I am not saying its easy and you will be on the ladder and once your on when your more comfortable or moving on in your life as in a wife, kids whatever floats your boat you can trade up and when the kids fly the coup and you don't need the 4/5 beds anymore you can trade down. I have listed a fair few differences between now and when I was starting out but fair play and congrats on your gaff..go and enjoy it as you have made a lot of sacrifices for it.
fliball123 wrote: » Well I did it, anyone I know in my extended family and friends who has a house now did it, my parents before me did it. Now weather it is right or wrong I couldn't answer that but on the flip side why should it just be handed to the current generation? All I know is that someone selling wont just go ahh look at this poor 20/30 something we have to help out this poor buyer out as they partied for a few years and had a lot of holidays and unfortunately now they have very little savings so lets drop our price to suit them. That is just not a reality we live in. If you want something you have to sacrifice and its not just in property but its pretty much how it works in all facets of life