average_runner wrote: » Big marches and riots in Germany over masks. French have a bigger police force
average_runner wrote: » Just need shops to say no mask no entry.
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » €135 fine has been introduced in France. If they can do it....
drunkmonkey wrote: » No they wouldn't. What happens when you don't pay the fine? Jail? Won't happen, government can't risk mass disobedience. While we're on the subject of the Guards why don't they have to wear a mask when piling into a car together while my builder mate can only out two people in his 5 seater van due to h&s guidelines. Rules make no sense they way they've been rolled out. Maybe we give all the students a toasted sandwich at sus time and they'll be grand.
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » They don't have numbers to catch everybody speeding either but the prospect of being caught is enough for a lot (not all) of people. If a guard could land on a bus or walk into a shop and fine whoever they see not complying, we'd definitely see more compliance. People have gotten so lax on masks it's sad. No desire to keep virus down, nó consideration for other people. Fines won't cover every situation but they'd certainly make people think twice. People hate getting hit in the pocket
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » If there were on-the-spot fines on masks from Gardaí, people wud wear them.
drunkmonkey wrote: » Kinda comes with the territory when your a retailer. I've observed the general public a lot more than most during all this. They are not behaving like you claim and my friends in the trade are having the same experience. Everything is gone out the window since masks, those wanting mandatory masks in schools are steering the Titanic right into an iceberg. NPHET have said masks will not be mandatory in schools. They are not risk free.
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » That's why I said a fine would make people wear them
drunkmonkey wrote: » There not simple procedures, I've yet to see someone use them correctly while following the basic advice. You need to stand outside a shop for a few minutes to see what's actually happening.
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » No 'recommended' practices. Clear instructions with enforceable penalties are all people understand when it comes to most things.
average_runner wrote: » There is no requirement to wear masks in supermarkets, it's a guideline so gardai cant fine some one.
drunkmonkey wrote: » Seriously go stand outside any shop and observe. Who's the stupid and ignorant one, the mask wearer who follows no other protocols or the person who doesn't wear a mask but follows all other guidelines. You make out people who don't wear a mask are stupid, that's just good old fashioned racism.
xhomelezz wrote: » The other guy sounds like he doesn't do anything else apart from standing outside the shop and observing everyone with mask not able to do it correctly. Seriously
jimmytwotimes 2013 wrote: » The agenda is clear from a couple of posters. Blame masks. People have gotten far too relaxed and we're headed for further restrictions. A mile-long tailback into Dingle yesterday with tourist cars. Popular tourist spots packed because people haven't imagination to pick a different spot where there wud be more space. In any shop I've been in, you'd be lucky if half are wearing a mask. Funnily tho, vast majority are wearing them in Tesco. Probably because the precautions there are so visible and properly run with a man on the door insisting on hand sanitiser. If there were on-the-spot fines on masks from Gardaí, people wud wear them. It's a shame but we're only heading for further restrictions and schools closing soon after they open. The guidelines in society or at school can't be open to interpretation. No 'recommended' practices. Clear instructions with enforceable penalties are all people understand when it comes to most things.
Zahir Bitter Cellist wrote: » Yes ignorant and stupid people will always be so, but it's not always the case. The amount of people (adults) I have to tell many times a day to put on their mask in the first place, or please pull the mask up to cover your nose, please pull the mask down to cover your chin, the wire goes to the nose, press the wire, its on back to front, your ear loop is snapped etc etc they aren't all dumbasses either. Also I have found that elderly people and children can struggle with masks too.
wirelessdude01 wrote: » We tried implementing outdoor and indoor shoes in our school last winter to try and keep it cleaner during the day. The amount of flimsy and silly excuses we got were crazy.
xhomelezz wrote: » I don't know where you live, but this is not happening here at least not on the scale you suggesting. It's more about clowns walking in without masks, skipping hand sanitizing and having a chat at the middle of the shop. Yet again nothing to do with masks, so back again to stupidity and ignorance.
Zahir Bitter Cellist wrote: » What about FWB, I wonder are they allowed
xhomelezz wrote: » Anyone who is not able to follow easy procedure of wearing a mask is hardly following any other measures either. That's my observation, so we are back to ignorance and stupidity.
drunkmonkey wrote: » Masks have given a false sense of security. Nobody is using them correctly. People are back to browsing in shops, giving an hour in Lidl wandering about touching everything after pulling their mask up from their chin before entering the store. This was always a danger with mask expressed by NPHET and it's playing out as predicted. Wash your hands, keep your distance is still the go to advice not put on mask incorrectly.
xhomelezz wrote: » More to do with ignorance and stupidity of some, wouldn't blame masks for that.
jlm29 wrote: » In fairness, this is easily observed. Since face masks became compulsory, or strongly encouraged, or whatever they are now, people are ignoring the hand sanitiser on the way into shops, standing on top of each other, coughing all over each other, and shops are definitely more crowded. I almost went into my local centra on Saturday, but I just looked in the door, it was packed with adults and children alike, just after GAA training finished. Far too many people to be safely in a small shop, but nobody seemed bothered, because the adults had masks on.
appledrop wrote: » My son has gone back to creche + rules are unbelievable(in a good way, ). He has shoes that cant leave the creche. No bags are allowed + spare change of clothes left all time in creche. Also must wear fresh clothes everyday. He is in a small pod max about 8 kids. They all play together bur have own room + dont mix with any other pods. Each pod has staged drop off + pick up times to limit interaction. Basicially if child gets sick they can close one pod easily + should be no spread to other pods. Meanwhile in primary 30 kids all together in one room, wearing same uniform for days on end + how the hell do you mange diffetent drop offs for 15-20 classes ? Meanwhile at 2nd level could have 750-1000 in a school with 10 subject choices mixing multiple times a day/,week. You just can't limit it to pods at secondary due to subject choice. Then what about practical subjects like home economics, woodwork? An absolute nighmare. I 100% believe the schools must reopen for well being of students but this isn't way to do it. Should be strict regulations like for reopening of creches.