Boggles wrote: » Jesus Christ the virus jumped fúcking species. But for some reason people are stating as fact that humans 18 or under are immune.
average_runner wrote: » Does it have to match the school uniform and have the school crest on it?
iamwhoiam wrote: » Is it necessary to use bad language in almost all your posts?
Zahir Bitter Cellist wrote: » Anyone 13 years old or under doesn't have to wear a mask so it's not mandatory for children to wear masks as it stands.
seamus wrote: » And the ancillary stuff? Making sure kids have their masks on properly, making sure they stay on properly, making kids change them during the day, and then having to call up parents to collect a child who has invariable forgotten their second mask?
seamus wrote: » Now consider what you're actually trying to achieve. Are you trying to get a five year old to wear a mask for the sake of wearing a mask, or are you trying to reduce the spread of a virus?
seamus wrote: » Because the tranmissions risk is very low for that five year old, and you're punishing him and sending him home over a mask that he doesn't really need to wear.
iamwhoiam wrote: » What ? Not sure why you are asking me that ?
seamus wrote: » Because the tranmissions risk is very low for that five year old
seamus wrote: » I think it's a joke. A reference to the time-honoured tradition of schools insisting that school jumpers can only be bought from the school shop with a crest on it for twice the price of a normal jumper
Cordell wrote: » going back to reasonable, it's a resonable effort even if it doesn't work out.
jazz_jazz wrote: » I think visors would be a lot more appropriate for teachers to wear than masks. They won't hide facial expressions and won't muffle the voice.
seamus wrote: » This is where our disagreement lies. Reasonable balances the effort against the benefit. I believe the effort to make masks mandatory for under-10s outweighs any potential benefit.
vid36 wrote: » They should be mandatory for everyone over 10 or 12 and all today's advise will achieve is to hasten a second wave. Schools will be closed by Halloween
Cordell wrote: » Your belief is something along the line of "I don't think it's going to work so we don't try it even if there is no other option".
My belief is "since you got the under 10 little devil dressed slapping a mask on it's not that difficult and it may even work"
seamus wrote: » It's that masks are an unnecessary distraction. The argument you're making here could be made against putting everyone in a plastic bubble - "I don't think it's going to work so we don't try it". There are plenty of other options than masks. Hand & cough hygiene, minimising mixing. For over-10s, distancing is an alternative to masks. And if that's not possible, then maybe we should look at masks for them. Hilarious. If you even have kids, I expect you can count the number of times you've gotten them ready for school, on one hand.
Cordell wrote: » I have kids, one under 10, and I can tell you there is no issue to get him to put a mask on by himself.
glack wrote: » Try getting him to keep it on for 5 hours everyday for a week! I can't get the kids in my class to keep their hands out of their trousers and their fingers out of their noses.
the corpo wrote: » Wall Street Journal posting that Google is to keep employees at home until at least July, 2021, but sure, we'll be grand to feck the kids into grotty old classrooms...
Zahir Bitter Cellist wrote: » risk v benefits
Zahir Bitter Cellist wrote: » Masks won't be mandatory at all so don't be getting your hopes up. If the unions push for it and throw their toys out of the pram well then be prepared for lots of notes from parents about why individual kids can't/won't be wearing them. Balanced approach needed risk v benefits and masks for little children won't be required. Sure if it wasn't masks I'm sure it'll be some other sticking point :rolleyes:
Boggles wrote: » Benefit = People may not die. Risk = People may die.
Zahir Bitter Cellist wrote: » Very dramatic :pac: