[Deleted User] wrote: » Well i cant wait for the pubs to be open so i can have a nice few pints with my mates. Feck the anti pub brigade
HeidiHeidi wrote: » But a separate one to the one of pubs opening for drinking only.
Macy0161 wrote: » It also gives the population a kick up the arse that it's not over, and if people don't stick the "rules" (and the spirit of the "rules") that enable the easing restrictions, it'll slow the process. I have to say though, the picture being painted of rural pubs is laughable. If the couple auld lads (probably includes me at this stage) sitting belly to the bar over a couple of pints a few nights a week are that crucial to income, those pubs are already screwed or have very low costs. The reality is most rural pubs I know that are reliant on the alcohol trade are packed with young people - that's why I go to the bar not the lounge!
DuffleBag wrote: » Ah well as long as you have your fun that's all that matters. Reckon it's the anti-virus group not the anti-pub group in the 70-75% bracket tbh, but I can see there's no convincing you. Gasping for a pint you are.
HeidiHeidi wrote: » I wouldn't call them anti-pub, more anti-virus Nice public-spirited attitude though!
[Deleted User] wrote: » I am all for fighting this virus. I just think the way publicans are being treated is a disgrace when you see the likes of gyms,shopping centres,retail shops like pennys(no social distancing there) are open
PMBC wrote: » Yes and one of the Healy Raes talking about the pub that just has four or five customers. Even if they all drank 10 pints each, that would hardly be enough to make the business profitable. Id like to see pubs re-open, but only when its safe. Its heartening to see the Government stand strong on this.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Wouldnt say i gasping for pints,sure the cans at the weekend sort me out. I miss the social side of the pubs,catching up with the friends,watching the gaa etc
Deleted User wrote: » Well i cant wait for the pubs to be open so i can have a nice few pints with my mates. Feck the anti pub brigade
Charles Babbage wrote: » People who do not want the spread of the disease do not want restrictions to be relaxed while case numbers are increasing. They may not be happy that pubs are closed, but they see the need for it.
Deleted User wrote: » I am all for fighting this virus. I just think the way publicans are being treated is a disgrace when you see the likes of gyms,shopping centres,retail shops like pennys(no social distancing there) are open
Deleted User wrote: » Do people not think we might have to live with this.What if it never goes away,we might never find a vaccine. Do people think pubs should stay closed until a vaccines found
deckie66 wrote: » err . . . .No. Bars are open all across europe
Deleted User wrote: » Have cases risen since bars opened across Europe?
HeidiHeidi wrote: » Cases are rising in places all over Europe.
Strumms wrote: » There is no anti pub brigade. Only a pro health and pro return to some degree of normality brigade... who are willing that we make short term sacrifices to enable long term gains... so pubs become a thing again, cinemas, traveling, seeing your friends, family without military like precision planning.... They are the priorities, ALL priorities. Pandering to the ‘pubs at all costs’ fûckwits who either are just too selfish because they want a few pints, the craic and somewhere to go, or the mealy mouthed money men in charge who can’t abide not making money, despite great savings and a nice covid payment.
cadaliac wrote: » What are you talking about? Get down off the high horse with your "fuc_kwits" comment. The savings that everyone seems to have..... right ya. People are very entitled to have a pint if they wish. There "should" be no issue if the pub employs the correct SD guidelines and adheres to them rigidly. Blanket banning of non food pubs is using a sledge hammer to crack a nut. Currently, you have to order food which enables you to order drinks. People are already flouting the guidelines, everywhere. It's not as simple of keeping half of the pubs shut while other pubs flout the guidelines. I completely understand the dangers of opening pubs where there will be no SD and this must be addressed, yes this is the crux of the issue. However, pubs that can manage the situation correctly and can be spot checked etc should have no issue re-opening. Everybody else is allowed to operate within reason, so should the pubs.
SAMTALK wrote: » It's the amount of time people spend in the company of others. Go to a supermarket and you can have your weeks shop done within an hour. it's the fact the with a few drinks in us we tend to get a bit lax and let our guard down I feel sorry for the publicans and the way the food rule was implemented but it's a difficult call for the government to make I think the priority now is to get the children back to school and work from there
GazzaL wrote: » You can have a rake of pints and an immunity steak sandwich without a mask, but if you want to run in and out of a shop to buy a loaf of bread you're risking armageddon if you don't wear a mask, apparently.