dundalkfc10 wrote: » You wouldn't want to park your car around many parts of every town/city in the world.
Adam9213 wrote: » I don't know what he's on about tbh, pretty sure he's not even from Northern Ireland.
Adam9213 wrote: » Yeah that's exactly the reason why, I thought that was obvious don't know why you're asking me. My point is just that the guerilla war was based around those areas, that's where the war was, I know that everyone got stopped by the army but nowhere near as much as the people in the Catholic areas.
timthumbni wrote: » Hmmm. Is that possibly because the terrorist grouping most associated with attacking them were from within a particular community? What do you think? You have to know (and I realise you have no notion personally) that a lot of areas were and still are mixed out with the cities so everyone experienced the army/police stopping them. Belfast/Londonderry different of course but sure even now you wouldn’t want to park your car around plenty of areas of west Belfast or the bogside.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » I visit the bogside regularly, every time Dundalk play Derry away and the locals are as welcoming as any other part of Ireland. Watched this year's All Ireland replay in a pub on the bogside before a Cup final for Dundalk and the locals had great craic with us[/QUOTE I’m sure you have a lot in common though. I always find Londonderry such a depressing town. The bogside looks like something from a soviet architect’s nightmare. And let’s face it, it’s a town and a pretty depressing one at that. Northern Ireland has really only one proper city and that’s Belfast. Londonderry, Lisburn, and Newry are taking the pish.
timthumbni wrote: » Hmmm. Is that possibly because the terrorist grouping most associated with attacking them were from within a particular community? What do you think? You have to know (and I realise you have no notion personally) that a lot of areas were and still are mixed out with the cities so everyone experienced the army/police stopping them. Belfast/Londonderry different of course but sure even now you wouldn’t want to park your car around those plenty of areas of west Belfast or the bogside.
Adam9213 wrote: » Even if that's true and not just an anecdotal case just to get your point across which it more than likely is they weren't stopped and searched to anywhere near the extent as if they lived in a Catholic area and if you deny that then I doubt you can even name the 6 counties. Catholic areas were literally occupied, back in the early 70s Northern Ireland was the most heavily militarized zone on the planet and most of the soldiers (not all) were confined to Catholic areas.
timthumbni wrote: » Ok. My parents were stopped and searched all the time too and they weren’t catholics. That was the security services trying to stop knucklehead loyalist and republican terrorists from murdering people in general in NI. You didn’t experience it and so therefore not much point in continuing this. Have a good night and don’t blindly believe what others tell you. Ta.
Adam9213 wrote: » No I'm not but I'm extremely educated on the subject. Only if you lived in a Catholic area during the troubles would you actually know what it was really like, 24 hour surveillance of the civilian population, heavy occupation, even if you're an elderly woman you would be stopped and searched on the street, and if you were around in the early 70s in those areas you were literally living through a guerilla war similar to parts of the middle East.
timthumbni wrote: » That’s possibility correct I suppose. But I am very “educated” regarding the troubles. I take it you aren’t from NI. ?
Adam9213 wrote: » Just cause you're from Northern Ireland doesn't mean you're educated on the troubles is what I was saying.
timthumbni wrote: » That’s a couple of strange sentences you have just posted. So you agree that Yes I know what I’m talking about as I’m actually from NI, but it’s irrelevant. Okay I suppose.
Adam9213 wrote: » It annoys me when people are from Northern Ireland they automatically assume they know all about it. Yeah they did but that's irrelevant.
timthumbni wrote: » I’m from Northern Ireland. I have very much a clue pal. Sure haven’t a few of the hunger striker families told SF to F off. Rambling is your words not mine. As I said at least rich Irish Americans could buy the souvenir dinner plate or pay a 1000 bucks to have a big slap up feed and a rake of pints in their honour. Delicious.
Adam9213 wrote: » If you actually had any clue what you were talking about you would know the IRA at first opposed Bobby Sands plans to start a hunger strike but Bobby insisted. The strike was more about psychological warfare than anything else on one side you had Margaret Thatcher (British state) a posh snob sipping tea in her palace and on the other you had Bobby Sands (IRA) starving himself to death rambling about how much he loves his country. From an international standpoint Thatcher was representing the British state and Bobby Sands was representing the IRA.
timthumbni wrote: » Who knows? Though they did kill themselves or the republican leadership did not discourage them otherwise than to kill themselves. Great bit of propaganda for the provos/SF and also gave them great business opportunities to sell commemorative hunger strike dinner plates to dopey Irish Americans. (Or was it big slap up banquet fundraisers there. I can never remember.)
Deleted User wrote: » Im unsure if it include the 12 republican hunger striker deaths aswell??
Truthvader wrote: » So why were half of the people they killed from their own community?
Truthvader wrote: » Not killing simply because you got what you want doesn't make you a peacemaker. Any word on how its going with the Guards/PSNI on all that crime you are reporting?
Truthvader wrote: » Statistics attached. Apologies. Half civilianshttps://www.wesleyjohnston.com/users/ireland/past/troubles/troubles_stats.html
maccored wrote: » say what again? are you saying half of the people killed by the ira were from their own communities? in saying that around 400 catholics (338) were killed by the IRA .... you do the maths.
Randy Archer wrote: » IRA in Collins time didn’t rob banks or Post Offices either
FrancieBrady wrote: » Once you write sentences like that it is clear that you have a biased agenda and have no interest in debate. I detested the violence but I have not let that alter the facts and the facts are that the IRA caused the British major problems and struck at the very heart of their political and economic activity many times. And when it reached a stalemate (which the British accepted it was too) they negotiated the peace...if that makes them 'peacemakers' then that is what they were...indisputably. You can accept that and let it inform your understanding of the history or ignore it and invent your own warped narrative.
Deleted User wrote: » Ah here....the over whelmingly targeted security forces (something like 80%+ attacks)....i dunno what you consuming for info,but your are spectacularly misinformed You are free to dislike them,but to pedel lies only undermines yourself
Randy Archer wrote: » Read what I actually said . I know you have difficulties with it
Nothing in what was said even implied that Donaldson only started as an agent in the 1990s ..ffs . During the ceasefire, Donaldson was sent to the US to raise funds and meet with comrades in NORAID over there . Secondly, Donaldson was only one name of three that I specifically mentioned
Fighting IRA blind ? Lol, wishful thinking . Wanna actually back that up with sources , eh ?