Xxcj wrote: » Hi could anyone help me please I forgot to declare my car off the road and I owe €600 tax on it now the car isn't insured either I was wondering if I sign the car over to a relative and They sign it back to me in the next few weeks can I tax it then with out paying the arrears or do they have to tax it first before signing it back over to me thanks.
Dirty Nails wrote: » Naturally you'll have to insure it again before you can tax it,so don't be in any hurry putting it back into your own name until it's insured. Do change of ownership start of month rather than end.
xDerp wrote: » Is it not still the case that you can put a random number into the insurance number field when filling out the online form?
Irishphotodesk wrote: » you would be pretty silly if you think it isn’t going to be flagged and investigated.
messrs wrote: » If your car was actually off the road can you not just go into a guarda station and get them to stamp a form saying it was off the road? I know this used to be a thing years ago but dont know if it still is or not
Irishphotodesk wrote: » Be careful with advice you receive over the internet..... you may or may not get caught, signing over ownership to avoid tax has been well documented, you would be pretty silly if you think it isn’t going to be flagged and investigated.
twin_beacon wrote: » Get caught at what though? Buying back your old car that had been parked up for a few months? For someone to be caught at this would require people to monitor car sales, and pass on any suspicious car sales to the guards. They would then have to investigate, and give you a court summons. Then when it gets to court, its basically your word against the guards, with no solid evidence the judge cant convict. All for the sake of a few months back tax? The costs incurred by the state to bring you to court, would be greater than the sum of back tax in the overwhelming majority of cases, not to mention the waste of guards and the courts time. This is why is doesn't happen. One of my uncles has an old jeep from the early 90s. The gearbox need to be replaced, he kept getting it fixed on the long finger, until eventually two years passed and he realised he never declared it off the road. He went to the tax office to plead his case, and the woman just said to transfer it into his wife's name, and then back to his. Problem solved.
Isambard wrote: » he's not avoiding tax, the car was off the road. The Tax Office will advise you to follow this procedure. That's well documented
antodeco wrote: » Current car I have (2k a year tax) had 17 owners before me. Turns out 13 of those owners was the same person!
Sir Galahad wrote: » This is up to date advice. The Roads Policing Units have been checking cars for this recently as Revenue had flagged it. Everyone used to do it (including me) but if you do it then make sure the new owner is not the same name or a very close relative.
corcaigh1 wrote: » Nonsense. Ive been there with my own vehicle, RPU Garda sussed that there had been numerous changeovers to my name and commented on it to me, I replied what law am I breaking Garda? He couldn't answer and I heard no more.
Irishphotodesk wrote: » Do you have proof the car was off the road and not driven at any stage ? From the OP So.... by failure to declare the vehicle off the road in advance, the OP is avoiding tax, if he/she wants to take advice from random people on the internet, let them, if they are old enough to own a vehicle they can make their own opinion on what to do and if caught they must accept the consequences.
Irishphotodesk wrote: » If you really believe the highlighted part, how do you explain people brought to court for no TV licence or failure to pay a tram/train fare or even failure to pay the m50 toll .... this happens EVERY week in the district court, at least it did pre covid, (thurs and fri were tv licence, m50 was first tues of every month etc, in four courts in Dublin) I know as I was often in there monitoring the outcome of some of the cases, listening to some of the excuses etc. Tv licence is €160, cost of going to court is a lot more, Luas tram or train fare are usually only a few euro, m50 costs €3/4 .... in fairness though they usually only brought people to court who were ignoring their letters.
SouthWesterly wrote: » As soon as, it's in their name they need to declare it off road or they will be liable for tax.
Cheensbo wrote: » When you think about it, getting rid of the aul form (rf100a was it?) didn't make the blindest bit of difference, I may dig out the book - I'm sure as shite not paying this :pac:
etxp wrote: » Why does your amount of arrears go up depending on how long you tax it for? surely your arrears should be fixed for the amount of months you didn't pay tax?
Cheensbo wrote: » It doesn't, the arrears are currently €1562.. 22 months based on €710 rate