Randy Archer wrote: » It’s the truth . Anyway, what would the wurkin class and the class warriors know about “classy” You stay classy , brah
PhilOssophy wrote: » There is and will always be people who can't manage money.....
Claw Hammer wrote: » The real problem was not people not managing money, it was their behaviour when they had it. They were far too ostentatious, lacking discretion and vulgar.
talla10 wrote: » No matter how much money people have you can't buy class.
Claw Hammer wrote: » They did buy class. Kids sent walking up and down the housing in the private school uniforms to make sure the neighbours knew where they were going to school.
PhilOssophy wrote: » Is that your understanding of class? The thing about class and wealth is classy people don't show their wealth.
SchrodingersCat wrote: » This kept going until this stupid eejit in our group complained that he didnt get paid for an hour of overtime that he had worked. He whined to all of us, but when we wouldnt give him the time of day he decided to bring it up with the boss. He showed him the pay check. The boss asked him why he was getting double time when it was supposed to be time and a half. He said "sure everyone is getting that". :mad: We were ragin at him after that, nearly as much as the boss was to the wife who did the accounts. He had to leave the site after a week or so from the threats. The fact that the subcontractor could afford them wages and not even notice showed you how much money was in that industry at that time.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I think we should be as wary of outlandish examples of excess privilege as we normally are of the social-welfare-bashing threads.
John_Rambo wrote: » He's been succeeding in failure for a long time now, he wrote a Eurovision song that came last, he was an unsuccessful Independent candidate, he refused to use email when it came out (what a pro), he supported the invasion of Iraq in the belief that there were weapons of mass destruction, opposed gay marriage, claimed there's no such thing as depression, blamed catholic clerical child abuse on gay people and was imprisoned because he didn't pay a parking fine because he felt he'd returned to his car only shortly after the grace period. And people still employ him.
Claw Hammer wrote: » Why didn't ye all chip in 50c and shut the gob****e up? You were the bigger eejits.
SchrodingersCat wrote: » We didn't think he was stupid enough to bring it up with the boss. Saying that, even if he did, the lads (myself included) wouldn't have given him .
Littlehorny wrote: » Mate of mine was manager of a large Super Valu in Dublin at the time. Met him in the local one evening and he told me he had quit because he was earning twice as much labouring for a few plasterers. Don't know if this is a reflection of construction at the time or SuperValu being sh**e payers.
One More Toy wrote: » Thinking back I was a little pr1ck during the celtic tiger, all the clothes my mother bought me had to be designer as I wanted to be seen at school. I wondered why we only had a 4 year old car. Then a life threatening event happened after the bust. Now I own next to nothing, clothes all out of penny's. Couldn't give a toss about anything materialistic anymore. I try to pay my mother 'reperations' almost to make up for the snob I was. Really embarrassed at how I acted even to this day
Leg End Reject wrote: » That's all normal enough for a teen conforming to peer pressure, it was different for people doing it from 25-50+ when they should have had a better sense of themselves.
Claw Hammer wrote: » So you read him wrong. Fat lot of good it did chasing him off site after the event.
BattleCorp wrote: » When I was a teen (not today or yesterday) I wanted a pair of New Balance football boots because they looked cool. They were £28 and I was told they were too dear. Awful upset I was. Never got them. Need counselling now because of it. :pac:My missus told me yesterday that her friend bought a pair of Yeezy runners for her young wan at the weekend. Fcukin ugly yokes and €350 for the pair, a bargain apparently. :eek::eek::eek: Times have certainly changed.
dublinman1990 wrote: » Fruugo.ie has them for €699. I know it's optional to buy them but are they mad?https://www.fruugo.ie/adidas-yeezy-boost-700-wave-runner-b75571-shoes/p-24554457-53245002?language=en
One More Toy wrote: » Thanks but I still cringe at myself, I once told my mum her salary wasn't good enough. What a d1ckhead I was. Making up for it now though so alls good