ingo1984 wrote: » No need for a pub license. Just get restaurant license. Permits you to sell alcohol whilst you are serving food. Serve food up until 11.30pm last orders, everyone out the door by 12.30am. Get restaurant license fairly easy. Be surprised how many pubs don't have a pub license but operate off a restaurant license.
ShatterAlan wrote: » I'd smoke illegal smuggled cigarettes.
BPKS wrote: » Curious to know where they got the kegs from? Is it easy to deliver kegs without being noticed? Asking for a friend;)
Sheep breeder wrote: » As stated to travel 25 to 30 mile away for matches that would have been played local and would have filled in Sunday afternoons or evening for people and then into the pub for a bit of craic. All gone now as it is all about the money for the county board.
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » My local only really closed for a couple of weeks at the start. You can just text and they let you in the back. Sessions aren't the same though. No sports on the TV, they never put any music on. The craic just isn't there. Only a few occasions was it busy and a bit of craic. It'll nearly be worse now. At least before you knocked to get in and they let us smoke inside and stay late. Now that they're opening officially they'll probably be more by the book. I'll still go anyway.
Ubbquittious wrote: » A lot of the reason for pubs not re opening is the licensing laws. If you want to turn your gaff into a pub first you have to buy a secondhand pub license for 50 to 80k, get planning permission. There have been no brand new pub licenses created for decades except for the convention centre. Also the dood you buy your secondhand pub license from can never turn his building into a pub again. A certain number of licenses are 'lost' every year so there is constant downward pressure on the number of pubs by our overlords despite their cheap talk of re opening the country. If you see a pub for sale and think it might be a goer because things picked up in that area, if the owner sold the license so he could sit on his hole in Lanzarote for a few years you are stuffed, it won't become a pub again even if you buy a license
ampleforth wrote: » Well, you would not smoke 1k a year if you don't have it, would you? Or you would not consult your bank to finance you hobby, or would you? I think the price can become a component of your leisure choices when funding runs thin... and you don't have the time to do some black market enterprise to fill up your stash... Worth a thought at least.
JupiterKid wrote: » I would imagine - as a recovering alcoholic myself - that the need to get drink at any cost - means most of the all-day pub lads - the barfly types - will be drinking from home or for the social aspect, at another alcohol dependant’s gaff. I’ve no doubt that they’re doing this already. If they have families - wives and children - I imagine being at home rather that in the pub every evening and all day at the weekends must be causing ructions for quite a few. Some may well decide that it’s not worth the hassle going back to the pub with all the social distancing restrictions, which would I imagine be pretty hard to stick to once you’ve had about 7 or 8 pints down your gullet.
_Brian wrote: » This a thousand times over. Irish people need to break their relationship with pubs and excessive drinking culture. Hopefully the remaining pins will have to substantially increase prices so going for one pint is no big deal, but makes full days and nights drinking less of a thing. €1 onto a pint is nothing if you are going for one or two.
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » one already has a for sale sign up.
GoneHome wrote: » Yes and all of that will come with time, a vaccine can't just be plucked out of the sky so for now we need to stick with the programme as hard as it may seem and stick with it we will have to for up to another 18 months
10000maniacs wrote: » You would want to be crazy to enter a pub until the virus has been eradicated from Ireland. The same applies to hairdressers and barbers.
Hairy Japanese BASTARDS! wrote: » They should've stopped off sales during Covid as well. God knows some people could cut down. Myself included.
ShatterAlan wrote: » You're not too au fait with the mechanics of economics, are you? Does increasing the price of cigarettes make people quit? NO.
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » I know a town where only one out of four is planning to reopen, one already has a for sale sign up. Same story all over the country. Tourist traps will be the only places where there won’t be mass casualties. Only 50% planning to reopen on the 29th. That’s a lot of jobs permanently removed from the economy by bat flu hysteria.
Coillte_Bhoy wrote: » What??
GoneHome wrote: » Well said Sheep, that sounds very like my local area here in Co Limerick, what part of the country are you in ?
dominatinMC wrote: » All the more reason for a vaccine, obviously. Or maybe everything needs to be explicitly stated nice and clearly for your comprehension. In the absence of an facility to provide you with a drawing, with labels, let me make it perfectly clear that the priority of a vaccine would be to keep the population immunized and healthy - so that they don't contract the virus and become sick. As a secondary benefit, those same people could then return to the old normal which might involve going to matches, having the odd pint, etc.
GoneHome wrote: » But like to bring it back to basics people are actually dying from this wretched virus, you do realise that don't you while you're missing going to the pub or going to a match :rolleyes:
dominatinMC wrote: » Well, the "other way" which you refer to is the old way, not this new normal bolox. From what I've been reading, there are very optimistic signs that a vaccine will be successful, just think of the resources going into this - bar the Spanish Flu, has there ever been a pandemic that brought the entire planet to a halt such as this has? The current way of living, is not living at all to me, living in a semi-state of fear, perpetrated by incessant media bombast, no sporting events to attend, no concerts, no holidays, no foreign travel at all. And to top it off, no pub as we know it! No way can this be considered the way forward.
Jayesdiem wrote: » Agreed. I won’t be in the pubs because of the joyless, clinical nature of the restrictions. It just saddens me at what we’ve become. On the vaccine though, I wouldn’t count on it. We need to live with the virus as we do with all others. There is no other way.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » They shouldn't be opening the pubs. South Korea, Australia, Florida, Texas and California have ordered bars closed following outbreaks or super spread events and other local places as well within days of reopening them. It's hard to imagine a worse place for spread than a pub with the exception of nightclubs. Seems a badly judged risk for the country to take atm so people can have a pint in a pub.