sunnysoutheast wrote: » European S4s are now diesel :-(. S5 still petrol afaik. Surprised at the small gap between "base" and "S" in the US, I presume the base is still a decent engine rather than a 1.4! Bit of a no-brainer to get the S4 really.
Pops_20 wrote: » It's looking likely that a hosepipe ban will be issued in the coming days/weeks, similar to July 2018. I'm just getting ready to take the car out of storage next Monday and I won't even be able to give it a good wash Is there any way around such a ban for washing cars? I'm not sure but I think filling a bucket and using that as a source for the pressure washer is allowed.
Pops_20 wrote: » ....... Is there any way around such a ban for washing cars? .........
CIP4 wrote: » Is there much market for selling used alloy wheels these days. I found one down the back of the shed today that I forgot I had. There are a few marks on it which maybe that makes it worthless unless someone is willing to put it on their car as is and not refurb it. Its an 18 inch Alloy of an Audi A4 B9 S-Line.
OSI wrote: » Bit late now obviously but we've had a water butt connected to our gutter run off pipes for years and have always used the collected rain water for the power washer, no concern of wasted public water there.
Augeo wrote: » https://www.water.ie/news/national-water-conservati/#:~:text=Irish%20Water%20has%20confirmed%20that,watering%20gardens%20attached%20to%20a The prohibited uses are as follows: Use of water drawn through a hosepipe or similar apparatus for the purpose: ............. cleaning a private motor-vehicle using a domestic hosepipe ........... Strictly speaking a pressure washer fed from a bucket that's filled from a tap is probably ok but it might be somewhat against the spirit of a water conservation effort Of course, commercial car washes are still allowed to operate so it's very subjective.
Tazzimus wrote: » Just lash a sign on the gate; Pops car wash. Boom, commercial car wash.
Augeo wrote: » ........... Strictly speaking a pressure washer fed from a bucket that's filled from a tap is probably ok but it might be somewhat against the spirit of a water conservation effort
Pops_20 wrote: » To be fair, the power washer uses very little water comparing to the garden hose itself.
Toyotafanboi wrote: » Lads I have bought a car today at Merlins via online auction. What's the craic with paying for it? Cant get them on the phone? I got an email invoice for it but no info on how to pay. I dont intend on going there in person, just some kind of electronic payment and getting the car towed to me. It was €1k for a bidding card, so does that come off the final amount I pay for the car or is it refunded as a separate transaction?
The QuietMan wrote: » 2 year old plugs on a Corolla Verso that’s fine 9000kms in that time. Opinions on the plugs?
colm_mcm wrote: » What did you buy? Another Micra?
Toyotafanboi wrote: » No, missed out on a 206 for a tenner and some other ****e that I would have been killed for dragging home. Was bidding on anything cheap ish and new ish with a bit of NCT over the last few auction for something for my sister. Bought a Auris for handy enough money. Bit of a chancey thing to do but it's low owners, Joe Duffy trade sale, should be grand I'd say.
ELM327 wrote: » It will be deducted from the 1k. If you bid 500 and won, the final fee is like 625 or so. Very high fees on low dollar cars. I bought and sold yokes there over the years. The no reserve auctions and the main dealer direct cars can be good finds, but I'd be wary buying a cheap car sight unseen at an online auction.
colm_mcm wrote: » They’re quite unpleasant, but at least they’re not unreliable.
Toyotafanboi wrote: » 2009? Jaysis, nerves are in shreds now!
Isn't the American S4 a bit...meh though?