gormdubhgorm wrote: » There is definitely an undercurrent there with SF. Don't mind what it says on the SF website. Many vote SF because they don't want the immigrants coming in and Vadradkar is an Indian Fággot anyway etc. Ties in with the true Gael guff - freedom and so on.
Shefwedfan wrote: » ^^ Surprise Surprise. Another long ramble of a post. What has his killing got to do with a SF thread. Work it out yourself. I do find it terrible the best you could come up with for SF was they sat in opposition, even the PBP numties got things done in the short time they where in government. Must be fairly deflating to spend all your time defending a party who have done nothing in 30 years for Ireland. But you keep supporting them, I am sure they will come good soon, maybe sometime around 2050
Deleted User wrote: » When were PBP in government?
McMurphy wrote: » PHP ministers..... **Gets popcorn** This will be epic, even better than the ceann comhairle boo-boo.
Deleted User wrote: » Well like your free to not believe it....but there is zero evidence to support your inane ramblings here (but your free to believe them,and thats ok too) from forgienpolicy.com
armaghlad wrote: » I remember the people of Ardoyne, republican stronghold welcoming with open arms Syrian refugees. There are Syrian kids playing for GAA clubs in west Belfast. SF MPs in both constituencies. Some undercurrent there alright
gormdubhgorm wrote: » See below:https://www.researchgate.net/publication/29652064_Why_is_there_no_Radical_Right_Party_in_Ireland
This paper argues that that this is because the ‘space’ usually occupied by such parties - for young, poor people disaffected by economic change - is taken up by Sinn Féin, which though it has similarities to radical right parties, differs markedly in its attitudes to immigrants.
FrancieBrady wrote: » So there isn't anything on the website saying this stuff...there isn't a single SF policy in existence that is designed to 'stop immigrants coming in', in fact they spend a lot of time doing the opposite and calling for reform of Direct Provision etc, and one Councillor goes off on an incoherent waffle (did he use that F word to describe Leo?...I don't think he did) and it is an 'undercurrent with SF' and 'many vote for them because they don't want immigrants coming in'? You don't require a lot of proof do you? You seem to have a bit of a problem with exaggeration actually (e.g The 'F' word)
Shefwedfan wrote: » If you want to see about SF and “da foreigner”....how long was MLM on the LLS before she got a dig in about the Keeling workers It’s an undercurrent that run through the party and supporters Not saying it’s not in other parties by the way The issue with Keeling was nothing to do with social distancing, it was that “da foreigner” was working in Ireland Not that the people in Ireland that should be working for Kelling would ever do it, too easy sitting on the social
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Yeah someone else posted a thread about social distancing on boards.ie, gave out about Keelings etc, then proceeded to say Travellers in Ireland could go where they like. And people from NI can go wherever they like in the ROI. You could see the them and us mentality. It is definitely there, in a cohort of the SF vote. Ireland for the Irish etc. But the irony is many of these types hardly speak a word of Gaeilge (I don't know what SF's excuse is for the last 100 years - re- the Irish language). But they want the 'Brits out', and have tattoos of British soccer teams. While failing to see the irony. It would be like you having a large tattoo of Sheffield Wednesday while giving out about 'The Brits'. I have no time for them, they are pure eejits looking for a cause with some mystic. A 'gang' effect more than a political party.
FrancieBrady wrote: » 'Definitely there' but not a single official pronouncement that would point to it being a 'policy' or intention of SF? In fact you have the exact opposite happening. It is funny reading.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Meanwhile we have SF doing what they do best playing with words. Has anyone ever noticed that SF never call the Republic of Ireland by it's proper name?https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:VdYpqZCxvDMJ:https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/why-sinn-f%25C3%25A9in-will-not-call-the-state-by-its-name-1.4182195+&cd=15&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie It is always the Southern State or the Free State (when being derogatory). The irony is he DUP often refer to 'The Republic'.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » I never said it was SF policy. If you read the article you can see the writer clearly makes the point that "SF is the tolerant party with intolerant supporters." If you have ever talked to a flag waving (rough around the edges) SF supporter from a working class area in Dublin - it is clear that there is intolerance there. With the nationalistic rhetoric and so on. And not being fond of the foreigners/other.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Although this has been debunked before...I'll give you 50 cents if you try really hard to figure out why they have a problem calling each parts of an island that has - in their political view, wrongly and illegitimately been partitioned - the name the whole island should have. Actually I will give you 50 cents and a bag of fizzy sweets if you are quick.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Can you see why a writer that has a bias might phrase a theory in that way? Because they don't have to prove it, so giving them the liberty to waffle away at their wee heart's content. Like, I couldn't care less what some members of Fine Gael think about Same Sex Marriage or Women's Rights as long as they don't legislate those views into laws we all have to obey. Again...all party's have supporters that are objectionable. If the party is not airing or lobbying for those views...so fecking what?
gormdubhgorm wrote: » How has it being debunked? SF are always very careful in thier language to the point of comedy. Playing with words. You argue it is because they do not want to appear partitionist - fair enough But considering during the GE that Mary Lou did not want SF's record in the ROI scrutinized. She clearly stated she is from Dublin not the North. I would argue she became defacto partitonist when it suited her to deflect from SF's performance in NI. Also the very fact that SF have two different leaders both North and South is a tactic acceptance of partition. As for yourself a 'new' dyed in the wool SF supported how would you normally refer to the state you live in? Because SF are going to give themselves fierce headaches
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Well from personal experience on 'the ground' with working class SF voters from Dublin - I believe the article rings true. Also it makes logical sense. Working class area, disenfranchised looking to be anti-establishment. When you see the comments from the likes of AOS calling Alan Shatter 'Goebbels'. You do not have to dig too deep to find the true face of SF.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I refer to the 'Dublin government'...'the island of Ireland', 'NI', 'northern Ireland', A whole multitude of terms depending on the point I am making or to what i am referring. It was debunked because 'evidence' (you know that stuff you have an aversion to?) was presented of SF using the term at times. I have no issue whatsoever with them making it known, when appropriate, that the whole island is Ireland. And thereason why you cannot compare SF in the north and Sf in the south is because they are completely different scenarios and political entities. It is beyond stupid at this stage that people still do it.
FrancieBrady wrote: » If somebody called a FGer 'Hitler', would that make them anti-Catholic given he was raised as a Catholic OR would it more likely be the case that they are making a comparison to what Hitler did? Goebbels was a world infamous Minister for Propaganda...any chance that a man who has never been otherwise found to be anti-semitic may have been using that comparison??? Think hard now.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » "completely different scenarios and political entities" - ergo tactic acceptance of partition no mater how you cut it.
So when the covid19 is over and Francie goes on his holidays. Chatting to a foreigner in some idyllic locationForeigner: Francie where do you live?Francie: the 'Island of Ireland'Foreigner: Oh I love Golf Rory Mcllroy is great. Which part Francie?Francie: The part run by the Dublin government.Foreigner: What is the country called?Francie: Ireland/The 26 Counties/The Free StateForeigner: Is that all the same place is that what it says on your passport?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Did the GFA woosh right over your head? You talk to some odd foreigners...never once have I had to distinguish my country in that way. I use a 'multitude of terms', if i need to refer to the Republic Of Ireland I do...all the time. Flags, Anthems, Names of places, doesn't really bother me actually. Maybe you have done extensive research among foreigners on this, as well?
gormdubhgorm wrote: » You are been deliberately obtuse there Francie. You think hard why AOS said it to Shatter. I will give you a hint his religion begins with J. The only one in the DE Also you just have to look at the comments Reada Cronin said and it becomes crystal clear the mindset of SF. The Paddy Hollahan as well. It plays to the SF electorate.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » So you do call it the Republic of Ireland? Ergo you are a 'new' SF voter who is partitionist. As you accept the name, laws and rule of the ROI and so on. Yeah the SF voter is not confused at all.
Deleted User wrote: » Tbf everyone out my way calls it the free state aswell....seems to be midlands/pale thing to be triggered by that