Plumbthedepths wrote: » They saw the Italian experience of who was most in danger regarding the virus, instead they transferred sick people into care settings from hospitals. If the strategy is to kill a large number of our elderly it's working well.
Mr President, Let me close with this final point. How a society treats its most vulnerable – whether children, the infirm or the elderly – is always the measure of its humanity. ... When a society begins to disregard the vulnerable and their rights, instability and conflict will only grow.
Lefty Bicek wrote: » The perfect reply to cheap vulgarity, and well said. The concept of 'discussion boards' is lost on a fair few around here. Personally, I have resisted all temptation to get the motorbike out, and it has not been easy on the glorious days we've had. Apart from that, for various reasons, this crisis has hardly affected my lifestyle at all. I am very fortunate. I will not break the restrictions, but I wouldn't say a word to someone of my acquaintance who at this stage is contemplating doing what you're doing. If you need to do it, do it. I hope you enjoy it, and I hope you don't get caught.
Arghus wrote: » Your faux concern for the elderly doesn't ring true.
Arghus wrote: » All this disingenuous mental health white-knighting. I don't believe 90% of the posters who bang on about that everyday are really that deeply concerned about the mental health of others - they just want to justify their own selfishness. Overrun hospitals and thousands of people dying could be pretty depressing too. The lock down strains everyone's mental health. But it's for the greater good: I can put up with it. I'm fortunate to be fit and well. So far Covid 19 has killed 1200 people. I don't know what the figures are for death by Netflix.
CinemaGuy45 wrote: » Have to call it a night I have an early start. Let me know is there is anything worth watching on Netflix when I get time.
CinemaGuy45 wrote: » I might or might not do it I posted because this lockdown is getting me down like many others I would say. I did not do it for a reaction or to insight others I shoot from the chest. Nice to meet somebody such as yourself I hope you are doing ok during this time.:)
GT89 wrote: » The government are once again blaming people for their problems. They are the ones who could have stopped any need for social distancing and restricting people to staying 2km from their home they could have banned flights from Italy as soon as the first cases of Covid 19 were reported there and deny anyone coming on a connecting flight from China entry. If every country had banned flights from China this could have been stopped. We are basically being asked to bail out the government and the HSE for their incompetence once again and I haven't heard even a murmur of an apology. The same incompetent HSE who said back in January the threat was moderate and they were well prepared.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/risk-of-coronavirus-in-ireland-remains-moderate-says-hse-1.4156713
Cupatae wrote: » What do you want an apology for? For the HSE not being mystics? It was very much an evolving situation. And so far we are doing very well compared to almost everywhere else. For the Government not shutting the doors on everyone the very second we heard a peep about covid? did you want a kneejerk reaction? What would you have done different.
GT89 wrote: » Em for a start the large numbers of deaths that could have been prevented. Secondly people have been left out of work, people have been unable to take part in recreational activities and have subject to not being able to go more than 2km from their homes.I would have banned all foreign travellers coming from China and any Irish citizen returning be placed in forced qurantine for two weeks. New Zealand has had much fewer deaths and successfully repressed the virus by closing their borders and forcing people to qurantine they have had just 19 deaths we have had 1,232.
CinemaGuy45 wrote: » People from the North free to move all over Ireland. Scab slave labour being flown in on flights. Travellers totally free to do what they want when they want where they want. I am working long hours which are deemed essential. I am going to get out for a decent drive this weekend and head for a beauty spot and get out for a walk and enjoy the sun. Before you shut me down mods can you answer what harm I will be doing? This is a discussion forum we are not living in China or North Korea.
theological wrote: » You're not alone on this. I'd recommend keeping to the rules. I think governments both in Ireland and the UK (where I'm living) need to be clearer with the public though. I think if there was a clear timetable like what is being discussed in continental Europe I think people would be able to focus on this and get to the end of the line. To those saying it is easy, cop on. It isn't for many people. Particularly those living alone at the moment.
Strumms wrote: » 1000%... these days in any and every scenario people disingenuously throw the whole ‘mental health’ card at people who dare disagree with them or offer an alternative opinion, it boils my piss, it’s one of THE most disingenuous things you can do, just horrible. “I want to walk a tiger down o’Connell St but I’m told I can’t, now I’m going to a solicitor who will appeal based on the fact that not being able to affects my mental health”Saw it in my job, these fückwits skipping seniority Qs for shifts because they had kids and it was affecting their mental health working slightly inconvenient shifts and not seeing their kids as much as they’d like to... DEAL WITH IT ! Life isn’t a bed of roses and it certainly isn’t ALL about you, same with covid restrictions. I’ve just about fûcking had it with this tiptoeing around these selfish freaks.
Strumms wrote: » For the moment, those with greater expertise and insight and responsibility for making this decision would respectfully disagree.
CIARAN_BOYLE wrote: » Any timetable would be made up and unreliable. We are going to get a framework of some sort today. Its going to be more along the lines of when icu beds occupied are below x we do y than anything with dates but it will be interesting.
Gynoid wrote: » You haven't really, though. Aside from calling people who work here gathering crops "scabs", you have posted in a sulky manner with the intention to incite others to follow your example. I agree with smelly sock. Do it. No need to advertise it, or to be incendiary about it, or to look for any attention. Under normal circumstances it would be a completely uninteresting and irrelevant act to others where you take your air, but you publicise your intention here specifically with the aim of undermining the delicate social cohesion required to maintain a pandemic response. You are getting out more than most as it is, but if you need so desperately to get air somewhere else then don't turn it into a political act. Just do it privately. In fact I wish you and all the others on boards who are constantly raging about the "lockdown" would just go out and do what it is ye want to do. I don't mean you personally are constantly raging because you are not, that I have seen, though this thread is a kick at the societal effort. I mean those who day in day out have been whinging, pleading some existential case for the economy, even weaponising suicide and at all times attempting to erode the huge public health attempt to contain a novel contagion. To those people I say get a job in a place that is still open if ye want to be out in a public workplace. Drink cans on the public green and have parties and picnics. Cavort closely with each other. Visit each others houses with complete abandon. Bring the irksome virus that is not all it is cracked up to be back to your homes and families. Just do it. If that is what it takes to shut up yer ceaseless whining then off ye all go. On one condition ye keep yer fcuking mouths shut later on when the seeds ye have sown come to fruition.
Jim_Hodge wrote: » Nine o'clock RTE news tonight - a huge increase in the number of people taking daily exercise.
weldoninhio wrote: » That's actually the funniest post I've seen in a long time. If you go out the virus will get you. :D:D Strange we aren't seeing spikes around the areas where these street parties are happening. If there were it would be on every news bulletin in the country to take away from the nursing homes shambles.
Strumms wrote: » I was a regular walker in my park,for example at 11.30 on a Saturday, apart from people watching or playing sport ie. Tennis / GAA / soccer it’s quiet. Now you have walkers / runners / joggers galore... people brought a volleyball net over which is a great idea and families are playing games of many varieties, rounders, football, you name it.