Whereisgalway wrote: » Log onto Strava and you’ll see a load of cyclists and runners doing massive loops of the city/county
at1withmyself wrote: » Great and your point being? You'll also see loads of people observing the rules? Anyway this is as I feared is going off topic so I'm out (well technically I'm staying inside but you know what I mean!)
Adan Easy Comedy wrote: » Banning exercise totally may be the next step that’s needed imo, only leaving home for shopping (once a week) or other essential reasons.
Adan Easy Comedy wrote: » I am seeing quite a few cyclists in full training gear on fairly high end road bikes etc. There isn't a hope they are staying within two km of home. The areas I'm seeing them in also would not be people commuting, country areas etc (not that I'd expect anyone commuting to be in full training gear etc anyway). Most have gps watches or trackers on their bike anyway so very easy to check their route, I've heard that guards are doing this but I dont know if that's true or not.
Snow Garden wrote: » Counterproductive and a silly statement to be honest. Exercise makes people healthier (physically and mentally) and boosts the immune system thus making it easier to fight Covid19. A ban on exercise will not happen and would be completely ignored.
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » Well, in fairness, that’s unfounded. I agree that exercise can’t be stopped and shouldn’t be but its effect on fighting coronavirus is unknown.
BlackEdelweiss wrote: » I had to go out for diesel yesterday and decided to drive along the prom in salthill on the way home. I was astonished at the number of people walking, running and cycling along it.
Snow Garden wrote: » https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/be-active-during-covid-19
dastardly00 wrote: » Huh? Have the government said what people can or can not wear whilst briefly exercising within a 2 km radius of their home, or if commuting by bike to and from essential work?
Adan Easy Comedy wrote: » I am seeing quite a few cyclists in full training gear on fairly high end road bikes etc. There isn't a hope they are staying within two km of home. The areas I'm seeing them in also would not be people commuting, country areas etc (not that I'd expect anyone commuting to be in full training gear etc anyway).
Deleted User wrote: » Live in the country. While mowing the lawn the other day I was very annoyed to see a cyclist head past in full Tour de France gear. Only to see him pass by every 10 minutes or so over the course of the 45 minutes I was out. There’s a 5k loop within 2k radius that he was repeating over and over. Don’t always assume the worst
ChewyLouie wrote: » I've been doing a cycle on my road bike in full cycling kit every 2 or 3 days, when the footpaths are too busy. Doing a 6km loop that goes out through country roads and back, 3 loops in 35mins. Brief daily exercise all within 2km from home. If you've ever cycled on a road bike you'll know it's worth wearing the kit with the padding where it's needed!
Whereisgalway wrote: » How are the rest of the cyclists on strava looking? Be honest
JoeA3 wrote: » Nox, I am quite surprised you are taking this stance tbh, I'd have expected a bit more pragmatism from you... you are usually the man who does it his way or no way, and f**k what anyone else thinks, so long as I'm enjoying myself. The lack of your usual 5 gallons of beer per week must be going to your head. Talk of lashing out fines and arresting people and bringing in the army is the stuff of fantasy and not the environment many people would tolerate. I have friends in the Gardai and I know that they do not want to do that. Thankfully they have some common sense and decency and they do not rely on militants on boards.ie for advise on how to enforce the law.
Adan Easy Comedy wrote: » Its almost like the last month didn't happen Was it "silly" in Spain, Italy or China where exercise was most certainly banned? was it unenforceable when people were getting jailed for it or a gun pointed at them?
what_traffic wrote: » How many kms did this DETOUR add to your essential journey? For me you are engaging in similar behaviour as some of those you observed (i.e the non 2km locals who are driving, cycling alongside the prom and those walking/jogging it)
Salthillprom wrote: » The prom didn't look very closed on a video posted on the City/Connaught Tribune Facebook page. Couldn't believe the amount of people walking it today! Barriers were up but so many ignoring them.
Snow Garden wrote: » To be honest you sound highly strung and possibly need to get some aerobic exercise. This is Galway, in Ireland. An exercise ban will not happen here. There is absolutely no need once people follow the guidelines. And apart from on the Salthill prom, I think they are. Exercise boosts the immune system and helps people cope with the lockdown. So yes, it was a silly suggestion to ban exercise now or in the future.
at1withmyself wrote: » Any chance of sharing the link?
[Deleted User] wrote: » This is the video. As far as I can tell, it's fairly deserted with those using it maintaining distance. You would see more users on a wet December day But make up your own mindhttps://www.facebook.com/ConnachtTribune/videos/537257270549450/
at1withmyself wrote: » However reading back on the thread, there has been no evidence posted to show a busy promenade? If its bad then the guards should take action, that should be the first step before any bans are considered.
at1withmyself wrote: » However reading back on the thread, there has been no evidence posted to show a busy promenade?
BlackEdelweiss wrote: » I put up a post that I had traveled along the prom and it was packed. I know it was not video evidence but I did not come on here to lie to people. Exactly what kind of evidence do you require?