average_runner wrote: » Most walkers aren't keeping their distance, most dog owners not keeping dogs on the lead or cleaning up after them. So ban walking first
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » Running is a good pursuit. It's very healthy. Unfortunately at this time it presents a growing risk to others. That's mostly down to the increase in numbers. Let's be real not all joggers are keeping proper distance - I see it myself every day. Like I say I expect it to be part of a new bundle of restrictions. Just exercise some other way for a while.
On the basis of these results the scientist advises that for walking the distance of people moving in the same direction in 1 line should be at least 4–5 meter, for running and slow biking it should be 10 meters and for hard biking at least 20 meters. Also, when passing someone it is advised to already be in different lane at a considerable distance e.g. 20 meters for biking.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » The daily briefing. I take it you don't watch it.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » The CMO yesterday was not impressed with the amount of people running. The OP wonders why looks are being given. When you run you sweat and pant. This is not good for anyone within feet of you running by if you happen to be infected. I fully expect jogging to be banned in the coming days incidentally. It won't be allowed continue, nor should it. You can go a while without jogging. It's not a requirement. People need some cop on and a sense of perspective. You won't be flabbing out because you can't go for a jog for a while. Just go for a walk. 4 km is a perfectly good walk.
brutes1 wrote: » Exercise good for health. The introduction of more restrictions on liberties is not acceptable Especially not for a virus that has a wall of propaganda around it and lack of clarity around death rates and infection rates. Months in and we still do not have population samples indicating infection rates. The world should not stop for something like this. The govt needs to work around it and get on with life.
adrian522 wrote: » Where is your source on this. The guidelines are quite clear on this, how do you know how impressed or otherwise he is?
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » Just don't run or jog. It's very simple. Do all the runners out there find this confusing or what's the problem? You can jog again in a few months (probably) but I think it's time to outlaw jogging in public for the next few weeks and i'd like to see fines issued at this stage. It's not right. Everyone else is sticking to the plan to prevent spread and save lives. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DogS6dIe2t4
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » The CMO yesterday was not impressed with the amount of people running.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » The OP wonders why looks are being given. When you run you sweat and pant. This is not good for anyone within feet of you running by if you happen to be infected.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » I fully expect jogging to be banned in the coming days incidentally. It won't be allowed continue, nor should it.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » You can go a while without jogging. It's not a requirement. People need some cop on and a sense of perspective.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » You won't be flabbing out because you can't go for a jog for a while. Just go for a walk. 4 km is a perfectly good walk.
The only reasons you can leave your home Stay at home in all circumstances, except in the following situations: to travel to and from work where the work is considered an essential service. The full list of essential services is available here working in an essential shop, bank or post office. The full list of essential shops, post offices and banks is available here to attend medical appointments and collect medicines and other health products for yourself, your family or someone who is vulnerable or 'cocooning' for vital family reasons including caring for children, elderly or vulnerable people but excluding social family visitsto exercise within 2 kilometres of your house. You cannot exercise with people from outside your household
Glencarraig wrote: » Dont forget the kamikaze kids on scooters/small bikes who look anywhere except where they are supposed to be going. Parents are oblivious.
nyarlothothep wrote: » This is what it should be like, empty-ish and dogs on leads, I never see this, might make a complaint about it. And dog owners are so willfully thick, they just stare at you mutely when you tell them several times to call their dogs back.
stockshares wrote: » No, I thought some would be amused.She said she had two lovely Whippets
Burkie1203 wrote: » I live right between two decent sized parks. Also a fairly quiet large residential area so I can run on roads mostly. ..I ducked into both parks today. One was busy so I left after one lap and went to the other. Was maybe 20 ppl there. Two lads doing sprints up and down a pitch, they were either side of a set of goalposts, nobody else near them. Only 16 or 17 but they looked like brothers. Others on the paths were great. Dogs on long leads were reeled in etc.
skyblue46 wrote: » Do you really think that anybody cares what Amanda Brunker thinks?
nyarlothothep wrote: » I did a few timing experiments with park runs. The nearest place within the 2km limit is a park so that's what I'm limited to, that and the footpaths are pointless as they're not wide enough to accommodate the 2 metre social distancing principle (and families/walkers seldom observe it at all anyway, meaning I have to go out on the road, looking behind me while dumbo 1 or dumbo 2 stare at me like I'm an alien, even though they're taking up the entire footpath!). In any case it can be fairly busy. The best advice I can give is to look far, far ahead, I run on the open fields, so I can get a good view. If I see dogs anywhere I change route. My main fear is dogs, I hate dogs not on leads or more accurately I utterly hate the owners when their dogs run up to me. Since dogs may be carriers this is even more egregious. Happy families clearly are major problem, they spread out and take up entire paths, it's bizarre to see. Cyclists are equally bad and seem to be like iron filings to magnets, they just have to cycle up on top of you. I run in perpendicular directions to rapidly increase distance between me and the offending agent. There is a lot of stop/starting, particularly around choke points where you're forced to use the path. Again, I find if the great unwashed actually used their fcking brains for once, everyone could enjoy the park. Example: I am rigorously practicing social distancing out of self preservation and civic responsibility. Therefore I benefit other people as they would me if they would practice it themselves but the majority don't! When I do see people observing it, I give a small nod of acknowledgement and appreciation and it's good to see people moving aside for others (when it sometimes happens). This is what we should be doing. However, there are so many ****ing jackasses that don't, talking in groups, refusing to give space and generally wandering around in their own little worlds and therein lies the rub.
stockshares wrote: » It might not be up yet. You might have to wait till tomorrow and then go google Rte Radio drivetime and click on the Podcasts link under the main link.