Irish_peppa wrote: » I have a mask decent one used it for painting. i would wear it while im shopping but for the life of me i cant get the confidence to put it on. I feel a bit of a jack ass with it on in public. i brought it with me in the car to go to lidl and went to strap it on but looked in the rear view mirror and thought "jasus everyone will be looking at me with this thing on" left it on car seat I should stop caring what others think of me! From what I saw not many people wear them so didnt want to be the odd man out :P
GreeBo wrote: » Ah here. There are studies that show people are more risk embracing when they are wearing protective equipment than otherwise. Comparing that to not wearing trousers is just silly. These people aren't cretins, they are normal people who are not used to going about their daily business wearing PPE. Washing your hands is a perfectly normal thing to do, we have been doing it all our lives so asking people to do something normal more frequently isnt a big leap, wearing PPE isn't normal for 99% of the world. You are being silly equating them to jumpers and trousers is frankly nonsense. Ever use a hedge trimmer and feel like Arnie in Predator? Thats the subconscious you are demanding that people fight against.
Sam Quentin wrote: » The sewing skills are not necessary,and would put anyone off attempting to make masks....hot glue guns work perfectly well with material(cotton).
Wibbs wrote: » Never even considered the glue option. Good call S. Those people most at risk, those over 70's men and women would be more able for sewing than younger folks. My mum made clothes for me and others when I was a kid and my dad was handy with needle and thread too. It was a skill learned by many in the past. Might be a way to use those skills? The worry would be breaking the cocooning aspect in distribution.
maxsmum wrote: » I saw group of young lads sitting outside Tesco with masks on, as if a new fashion trend, I doubt they were all siblings from the same household, they looked like eejits
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Yeah, there are risks. I acknowledge that there are risks that I could get the virus. I just keep the trips outside to a minimum and I don't worry that much about it.
BrianD3 wrote: » +1, I was in Tesco this morning, very few (~5%) customers wearing masks or even gloves. I wore my nitrile gloves but didn't wear any of my masks as I am still "building up" to doing so - partly for the reasons you describe. There is no mask wearing culture in this country, there's a fear of standing out from the herd, looking like an awkward individual or a lunatic etc. We're all susceptible to cultural influences. If the authorities wanted to, they could normalise the wearing of masks very easily as we will generally do what our shepherd tells us to do if we think it's in our interest.
cnocbui wrote: » I'd rather them looking like eejits than them, or someone else, looking like a corpse. I can sew, after a fashion. It may not be pretty...
gozunda wrote: » De fuk? Who is "embracing" who whilst wearing ppe??? The advisory is not to shake hands etc - hugging random strangers or otherwise is also out afaik
Gynoid wrote: » And this friends, is what happens when men need to sew...
na1 wrote: » unless it is a full face mask it is no use the infection can pass through eyes
GreeBo wrote: » a bulletproof vest is no used since a bullet can pass through your head. a bulletproof helmet is no use since a bullet can pass through your face. Its all about reducing rather than eliminating risk.
Wibbs wrote: » Oh FFS. NO. 1) Masks demonstrably reduce risk in a twofold manner; by reducing the spread of droplets by the infected .
na1 wrote: » There are many cases of doctors got virus in hospitals all around the globe, being wearing full protection
na1 wrote: » The masks on infected people do protect you, the mask on yourself doesn't protect you.
How do you think mouth mask will reduce the virus penetrating your body? It is like protecting from tear gas with a mouth mask
Wibbs wrote: » I think we need to start something more locally, make it a fashion, spread the "virus" on social media until it catches on. Like they did in the Czech Republic. When it reaches a tipping point those same people in Tesco will feel daft for not wearing one and will look askance at those who don't.
cnocbui wrote: » Yeah, sure they don't, people wear these just for the fun of it: That's mine, I wore it for weeks while laying floors using contact cement with toluene as the solvent - nasty stuff. This thing scrubbed fumes, let alone droplets, to the point I couldn't smell the toluene while wearing it, proving it's efficacy. You're spouting the same rubbish the WHO have been. All sorts of people in numerous industries wear protective masks - because they Work. Engage brain.
Wibbs wrote: » Why do some insist on doubling down on their ignorance of a subject? Never mind the contrary logic in that statement of yours. Think. If a mask on an infected person reduces the spread of viral particles getting out, how does the same mask on a non infected person magically become useless at reducing the spread of viral particles getting in? They're not a one way system for god's sake. Nope. It is not. For a start a gas is not directional. The slightest chink in protection and it gets through. This virus spreads in expelled droplets that are directional. A non permeable barrier in front of your mouth and nose, even with slight openings at the sides will reduce the risk of said droplets getting through to your airways. Why the hell do you think medical people wear them? Put it another way, if I had pepper spray aimed at your mouth and nose, which would you prefer? No mask or mask? You do realise you're just parroting verbatim what your were told, without putting any thought into the mix?
Gentleman Off The Pitch wrote: » Would donning a FFP3 mask with exhalation valve in Lidl make one look like a mé féiner or do they offer some protection to people who come into contact with the wearer ?
biko wrote: » Sweden has many masks for the military, and the plan was to hand them out to staff. But they cannot be used by anyone because they don't have the required "CE" EEA marking...
na1 wrote: » The virus is not a bullet, it is spreading with a cloud of micro droplets when someone sneeze. How do you think mouth mask will reduce the virus penetrating your body? It is like protecting from tear gas with a mouth mask
stratowide wrote: » Have the masks got one way valves fitted or what..?