SuperRabbit wrote: » Why are we still having this stupid ****ing conversation. 1. If hundreds of thousands of people die in Ireland it will hurt our economy just as much as a shut down, and no one will go to restaurants or buy iphones because they will be too terrified for their lives 2. Plenty of young people with no underlying health conditions have died of this virus. Just because it mostly kills elderly people and people with diabetes, cancer, asthma etc. doesn't mean it won't also kill hundreds of young people with no other health problems if we just let it run rampant. Bloop bloop bloop Unrelated: New Dr Mike covid faq video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMopOpiNB1s
YFlyer wrote: » No casual walking, running or cycling. Have one shopping per week and one pharmacy visit per week.
SuperRabbit wrote: » Why are we still having this stupid ****ing conversation. 1. If thousands upon thousands of people die in Ireland it will hurt our economy just as much as a shut down, and no one will go to restaurants or buy iphones because they will be too terrified for their lives 2. Plenty of young people with no underlying health conditions have died of this virus. Just because it mostly kills elderly people and people with diabetes, cancer, asthma etc. doesn't mean it won't also kill hundreds of young people with no other health problems if we just let it run rampant. Bloop bloop bloop Unrelated: New Dr Mike covid faq video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMopOpiNB1s
GT89 wrote: » Do we have the numbers of Gardai to implement such measures. It's clear to me proportionally there are a lot more police in countries like Spain and Italy than here in Ireland and let's face it there's no messing with the police in these places. What will be the punishment for breach of such measures? Fines? Will people actually pay these fines. I can't see a situation where after this is over people will be dragged into court for non payment of fines accumulated during this crisis. If that happens the judicary system will be overwhelmed.
Arghus wrote: » Where I work, about 30% of custimers still pay no heed to things like social distancing or cough etiquette. I see this with my own eyes every hour of every day. It is a fact. And the proportion of my Co-workers who are oblivious to those things is closer to 50-60%
easypazz wrote: » Compulsory masks in shops and on public transport. If it does nothing else it forces these morons to show at least a bit of respect.
timmy_mallet wrote: » Respect to who? You?
easypazz wrote: » The people driving the bus or operating the till, obviously.
Arghus wrote: » I don't know, but things we thought were unworkable and impossible, unenforceable even,up until a few weeks ago have turned out to be very possible. I presume if further restrictions were put in place, you'd assume the majority would just obey them and you'd have increased visibility of Gaurds and the Army on the street, which would deter a lot of the rest. The Guards and the Army don't have unlimited manpower or resources but you'd be wary enough about making unnecessary journeys if you knew there was a chance you'd run into trouble for doing it. Regarding infections coming in from outside. I'd love to know exactly how many people travelled into Ireland from elsewhere yesterday or today, who weren't Irish citizens or residents. It can't have been a very large number. It probably was a record low. And that record will be probably beaten again tomorrow.
jonski wrote: » You're not being forced to do this, you're not really even being told to do it, you're being asked ............by everyone . You're being asked to do something that the celtic tiger generation will find difficult, you're being asked to consider other people .
SuperRabbit wrote: » If thousands upon thousands of people die in Ireland it will hurt our economy just as much as a shut down, and no one will go to restaurants or buy iphones because they will be too terrified for their lives.
Ace2007 wrote: » Why is that we have a society that unless it's the Gardaí or maybe even the Army, that people wont' adhere to it? Why can't we use some of the people that signed up for Ireland's call?
timmy_mallet wrote: » You have 30pc if your customers standing within 2m of strangers for more than 15 minutes? I would be surprised if that was the case. "There is very little risk if you're passing someone"
Rotweiler wrote: » Unfortunately he is rigt on this. Ireland has "policing" issue and other than cpouple of individuals and mostly expats, many disregard the respect to Gardai which I believe comes with the economic boom and lean attitude that is infected to everyone on this country for at least 10 years.
timmy_mallet wrote: » See above.
Arghus wrote: » At the very least they don't observe the guidelines on social distancing. And being around that many people and being in close proximity to many people isn't considered a smart idea, whatever about the fifteen minute rule. And particularly in an area where people are touching lots of surfaces and breathing in the same recirculated air. And that's just the customers. Do the workers spend more than fifteen minutes at a time within 1-2 metres of each other?Yes, a lot of them still do, even when they could easily not do it.
timmy_mallet wrote: » Right, I thought it might have been an exaggeration. What you've described only highlights the absurdity of supermarkets being open and a 3km cycle being banned.
boetstark wrote: » Lads will people ignore this muppet timmy mallet, he is constantly winding people up and trolling on Boards.ie Sad really
easypazz wrote: » When push comes to shove old people will be left out of ICU's and younger people treated first. Old people can look after themselves by cocooning.
jules5417 wrote: » Sorry to tell you but my sister said they gave 4 icu beds to over 65 year olds instead of people mid 40's because mid 40's all are smokers,alcohol dependency so most decisions are based on who is most likely to survive. Seriously its not just the elderly.
timmy_mallet wrote: » Can I walk a little quicker than casual, would that be ok? Can I cycle to the pharmacy visit or not? If I forget something if I'm a little forgetful, do I have to wait til next week?