Deleted User wrote: » Actually, I used bone the leg, remove the sinews and stuff with sausage meat and sage and onion stuffing. Himself loved it, but I wasn’t too keen. I don’t bother any more. Too much trouble.
Graces7 wrote: » Frozen turkey "should" be over today. Weather permitting.. He had forgotten as I suspected but all is now well... such a good man the manager here...Along with all the fruit and vegetables and other Christmas goodies... Could not run to a Christmas cake . Not well enough to cook one so ordered a choc Yule log.. Very "laid back " (!ie perforce abed much of each day ) these days so after this afternoon closing the doors on the outside world.... All the cleaning done gradually so all is well; will put outside decorations and lights up nearer the time. MUCH nearer the time.. Not seen ANY lights etc and it is rather refreshing and meaningful . Never thought i would think like this! lol.... Age brings wisdom. It is so very intensely dark out here
Deleted User wrote: » I hope Elsa doesn’t scupper your delivery.
Graces7 wrote: » Turkey now in residence; poor critter is frozen solid! Some things missing from list eg Roses, and I ordered 2 pots of cream one for trifle the other for Irish cream liqueur with the recipe given by the chef at the dingle Skellig... only one pot came and really there is no contest is there exhausted so sleep. have a grand evening …
Deleted User wrote: » Great news. I don’t think that you’ll be missing too much in the Roses! They ain’t what they used be!
Posy wrote: » I'm hoping to get my turkey today- off to do the 'big food shop'... yelp!
Posy wrote: » I usually get a 4.5 kg turkey. This year I'm just getting a turkey crown, but the only one Aldi had was 2.4 kg. Now I'm having 'I won't have enough turkey' anxiety. On the plus side, the Big Shop is done!
Princess Calla wrote: » How busy were the shops? I procrastinated too much, so tmw early it's looking. Once I get parking and a trolley it will be fine (hopefully)
ReginaldSmythV wrote: » Christmas Eve morning first thing is normally a good one I’ve found the past couple of years. I was leaving Tesco last year around 9:00 and there wasn’t even a big pile around.
SlipperyPeople wrote: » question for people who have their christmas dinners at lunch between 1-4. what time do ye stick on the bird? christmas eve night? obviously depends on the size of the turkey but we usually have a decent sized one that goes on around 6 am christmas day. We don't eat our dinner until 7-8. granted that's also a choice with other things going on and the bird is cooked a decent time before we sit down.
L1011 wrote: » Dunnes Maynooth today was suffering from being relatively small/tight - its a full size Dunnes wedged in to a smaller size than usual. Difficult to navigate the aisles and you had to queue with the trolleys sideways Only need to collect the meat and get the makings of the fryup from the shop at the end of the road now; everything else is bought.
ReginaldSmythV wrote: » That car park is vile at the best of times too.
L1011 wrote: » Weirdly today there was no exit queue - once you got on to the main aisle you were out in one light sequence - but getting around and getting spaces was horrible. People were stopping in the aisles if they saw you going near your car with a trolley so you could be stuck for minutes at a time. Last couple of years I've been used to a five or six light sequence exit, or worse.
Rubberchikken wrote: » our turkey is never dry. i baste it every 20 mins or so. and its perfect, if i do say so myself:) and from tesco. always happy with it.