20Wheel wrote: » But bodies float. And the canal locks were all closed. Maybe further along the route. After the locks. There's no known footage of him from the US embassy. And that's a place that would probably have no shortage of cameras. Likewise the Israeli embassy.
BDI wrote: » And nearly every fit young healthy man in Ireland visits Amsterdam for the weed and the coffee.
bunderoon wrote: » Any chance the place where he worked is a reason for his disappearance? A few wanted something and the office party was the perfect time to do it. We have the water accident and the gangster/prostitute possibilities. The face that he worked for a bank should not be ruled out of hand.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » But he was past the Canal by the time he was spotted on Haddington Rd heading east, which incidentally leads towards the coast. And he would have had to cross the Dodder to get home from where he was last spotted, so he was close to a fast flowing body of water on a stormy night
strandroad wrote: » The Dodder is not easy to fall into at any of the crossings in the area, the bridges at Ballsbridge, Lansdowne Road, Bath Avenue are all secured with walls and railings, you can't step around or under the bridge to pee or anything like it, the banks are not accessible. It's all paved and walled. The Dodder walk wouldn't be on his way unless he walked a large loop and was only coming home; it is paved and secured today but when was that done? The Canal banks are grassy and accessible but he was walking away and not towards it unless he took Percy Place rather than Haddington Road (away from his place?) or continued all the way to the basin. No location before the basin is likely anyway, because of the locks.
Fiftyfilthy wrote: » If he took a left After the Bank machine , brings you parallel to Haddington Road and directly by the canal again onto Percy place
20Wheel wrote: » Afaik it's locks all the way down. At Haddington Rd, point of last footage he was still several locks from any free river. On a mobile device so I'm a bit restricted here.
smelly sock wrote: » Dublin bay.
John_Rambo wrote: » To dispose a body in Dublin bay and keep it hidden would involve nasty logistics including invasive tempering with the corpse, heavy weights, tidal knowledge and probably a boat with night time navigational abilities and the personal to a operate the craft. Without such, the unfortunate deceased would have washed up on the East coast sooner or later.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » If he hand turned left onto Percy Place from Haddington Rd, and fell into the canal then we would not be having this conversation. Because his body would have been found a long long time ago. So I think "turning left onto Percy Place and falling into canal" can be removed from the list of thinks that might have happened
smelly sock wrote: » Suicide. Google Conor Whooley.
20Wheel wrote: » Maybe he was just recognised by local criminals as yer man who works in the bank. While having a few in bucks. Marked as an opportunity for a mugging or other crime. Young Country lad, soft target, bank worker probably has a few quid. Few pints in him. They could have known his route. Seeing him regularly around their area. So one stands by the pillar on wilton terrace, a point td has to pass no matter the route. There won't be any cabs, and he has to go home. Another watches for him to leave. Calls the first guy. They've planned a point further along on his route to ambush him. MIB steps out from the pillar sees its yer man from the bank indeed. Goes to the gate expecting TD to follow, which he does. Sizes him up with some muggers questions. You got a smoke? etc. But its a bit busy on that corner for a mugging. Bank building, security. TD goes in, MIB hangs back. TD leaves. MIB follows. TD turns down Haddington the plan is in motion. The spotter has a car, he'll be in front of TD, MIB will be behind. They'll rip him off somewhere quiet along his route home. Then they'll hop in the car with tds wallet. And off away. It goes very wrong. Well known to gardai locally they don't have the luxury of simply legging it in the era of dna/forensics. But they do have a car Thats my guess anyway.
sugarman wrote: » I think he meant a few drinks in Buck Whaley's, not bucks as in cash.. but that's a very fair point, none of them are petty thieves. As a young lad in the year 2000, you'd probably only have £20 or £30 on you for a night out. Pittance.
John_Rambo wrote: » They'd more money than any of the young bankers. They were rolling in cash, mugging wasn't and still isn't a thing for them.
John_Rambo wrote: » Oh right... fair enough. I still, like you, find it hard to believe there'd be such a complicated sting that includes cars and spotters to mug someone at the end of a night. Maybe a cash van or a jewellery shop, but not a young fella heading home.
20Wheel wrote: » Why not. Criminals do mug people. Opportunist thief mindset. They think different.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » And to hang around in the cold and wet in full view of CCTV as part of the plan ? Hardly
20Wheel wrote: » There won't be any cabs, and he has to go home.
20Wheel wrote: » If they were on the gear, looking for cash for a hit. Lightning balls wouldn't stop a fiend.
Omackeral wrote: » Jesus Christ the way that's said is so sinister and not something that's ever entered my mind before. This taxi strike was known ahead of time. If there was any premeditated angle, it makes sense to do something on that night in a sense. Now I'm not saying you're right but it's definitely another direction of thought.
Lina Limited Workaholic wrote: » see that now thanks i think i read his work place is different now? are the gates still there? or even the bank
soiseztomabel wrote: » On the last thread (which descended into an absolute ****e-show) I remember a guy talking about passing up somewhere along a similar route to Trevor Deely and was followed then chased by a group which he thankfully got away from... He said he made contact and reported it to the guards before he got into the details he said the guard he was speaking to asked him was he followed by a gang. Apparently the cops were well aware of several attempted muggings in the area by a group. Didn’t a prostitute who fell foul for owing a drug gang in the vicinity get stabbed to death a year or two before this incident happened too that many thought were perhaps linked to this too?
"We are none the wiser," said Michael. "To say that it is done and dusted is nonsense and very insensitive. It is an impossible thing for his family to live with and we are still appealing for information. We are never going to give up hope and we need help with the appeal from any body with any information to talk to the gardai."