Toots wrote: » We had a few in the last place I worked. Everyone was really worried about him - a couple of the older women in the office got together and arranged a rota between them to make a load of meals for him to put in the freezer and they'd give them to him on the days he was in. .
Wanderer2010 wrote: » Theres nowt as queer as folk, honestly... This isn't a scandal as such but the oddest woman I ever worked with in my life sits opposite me and is such a technophobe that she has an A4 sheet sellotaped to her desk near the keyboard with instructions on how to Logon, how to open Word and how to Log off. She used to only do paper filing then when we went electronic she hadn't an absolute notion what was going on. Shes late 50s and otherwise a lovely woman (she only works 3 days a week so not too bad) but each morning she sits down and starts to NARRATE her activities to nobody in particular. "Ok so Control Alt and Delete ok so Login ok so whats my password again...ok so open up that document....what is it again, Start Programmes Microsoft Word...ok so...oh whats this thing popping up". EVERY SINGLE DAY. At first I genuinely thought she was taking the p!ss and nobody else really hears her as the office is spaced out but shes dead serious, she cant do a tap of work without speaking about it and her phone is an ancient Nokia, she just cant grasp technology at all. :rolleyes::rolleyes:
teroknor83 wrote: » A co-worker sent an email to the entire staff saying that the boss is "nothing but an old ...ox". It was a fun day.
Toots wrote: » We had a few in the last place I worked. One day this woman rocked up to the branch, screaming that she wanted to see the manager and generally making a massive scene. We assumed she was an angry customer and went to get the manager. The manager refused to come out of her office, which was odd, because usually the best practice is to get customers like that out of the public eye and try to diffuse their wrath in the office. Turns out she wasn't an angry customer; she was actually the wife of a manager of another branch, and she had just found out that our manager had been riding her husband. :pac: .
Collie D wrote: » What an absolute dick. And it sounds like you’ve a very understanding employer and decent colleagues. EDIT: Seeing your second story, I think I worked there. About 15 years ago now?
XLR 8 wrote: » Having spent some time in the military way back. I could literally write volumes about stuff that never becomes public but is scandalous. I know of an Irish case where a high velocity machine gun vanished. Even though it and several more weapons were locked in a room surrounded by soldiers. A staff sergant being shot and killed while on exercise even though all participants were issued blanks. All spent shells were accounted for and none had ever held live ammo. Nuff said.
corner of hells wrote: » Which Army ?
Miguel Happy Groin wrote: » Me too! I remember it well.
Princess Calla wrote: » What a lovely thing to do. Fair play to those ladies!
Deleted User wrote: » I’d love to know what branch that was.
Toots wrote: » God, it probably would be about 15 years or so by now! I joined after it happened and it was all anyone could talk about.
XLR 8 wrote: » I know of an Irish case where a high velocity machine gun vanished.
SuperS54 wrote: » Are you sure your colleagues weren't winding you up?!https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sick_Note_(TV_series)
fergus1001 wrote: » was just in the toilet sitting on the throne when some lad came into the cubical next to me took a piss and started wispering repeatedly "vlad the impaler, vlad the impaler" as he was putting himself back together
Toots wrote: » The trip to Knock was part of a 3 day trip to Mayo that this woman was on during her summer annual leave.
Then there was also an incident where the CEO of our company stepped down because he'd been caught viewing "adult material" on his office computer.
realdanbreen wrote: » Are you sure it wasn't 'wheres me inhaler' ?
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Some lads with great army stories were never in it. aka "Walter Mittys"
TheW1zard wrote: » I just destroyed the disabled jacks
sligojoek wrote: » "During the war ......' Shaddup Uncle Albert.