Ulysses Gaze wrote: » Responsible citizenry starts at local level though.
Tell me how wrote: » I agree with you in terms of those who do participate in community initiatives are generally older people. It has always been that way. This doesn't start at a local level either, it has to start at a national policy level.
PostWoke wrote: » Pampered? Have you ever tried protesting? She's given up a lot, even with all the middle aged men baying for her head on a spike. Didn't she sail across a bloody massive ocean? Pampered? You just sound jealous that she's accomplished something. As to your point about skipping school, it makes me imagine a class of kids sitting dutifully in a shell of a school building in the middle of a post-apocalyptic desert Get your priorities straight. Hundreds of Irish kids go on the mitch every day and just go knacker drinking.
Tell me how wrote: » gozunda wrote: » The scientists are not saying civilisation ends in 10 years. But you know that already... I do, and you know that my position is the frame of reference is a moot point in this given the situation. If a mechanic told you your car was going to fall apart in around 10,000 miles. Would you expect that he was accurate to the stated milage? Would you drive it for 9,800 or try to get it sorted immediately?
gozunda wrote: » The scientists are not saying civilisation ends in 10 years. But you know that already...
gozunda wrote: » Indeed. I think you will find the thread details opinions as to gretas voyage to the new world. The constant repetition of 'greta is great' etc. Is kinda outside those terms of reference to be fair
Tell me how wrote: » Have you yourself not pointed out the name of the thread title several times already.....We can do this whichever way you want. You will have to be consistent though so maybe that's too big an ask.
Tell me how wrote: » I do, and you know that my position is the frame of reference is a moot point in this given the situation. If a mechanic told you your car was going to all apart in around 10,000 miles. Would you expect that he was accurate to the stated milage?Would you drive it for 9,800 or try to get it sorted immediately?
gozunda wrote: » Hyperbole lol? The article (which you haven't read evidently) simply details as an example how kids can make a difference even whilst holding whichever opinions they choose. Interstingly the "Aussie guy" said much the same. Bizarre you seem to have missed that. I do love the 'greta' this and 'greta' the 'greta' the other! Seriously is it possible to produce a comment that does not reference the little red book of the sayings of greta? Eitherway something seems to have changed your mind - we have now moved from "greta tells us to listen to the scientists" to the "guidelines which are in line with what Greta has proposed". Thanks for that
Tell me how wrote: » So the scientists are making stuff up are they?
Tell me how wrote: » You could use the same argument suggesting a climate change advocating scientist is driving to work is a hypocrite and it would be equally false.
Tell me how wrote: » Is that article the bible from which all those against Greta are now taking their lead? Might want to say that to those including the aussie guy in the video above who have all basically implied they should shut up and come back when they are adults. I am glad to see that you yourself are now posting links to guidelines which are in line with what Greta has proposed given that they are contained within the article.That is significant progress.
Ulysses Gaze wrote: » When I walk through my locality on a Saturday morning you know what I see? A bunch of middle aged and older people cleaning rubbish off of the green there, rubbish out of hedges and footpaths as well. Tending to the plants etc. You know what I don't see? Younger people doing the same. This all starts at local level. And not just joining a one-off protest now and then. Words without Action = Bull****.
jackboy wrote: » What do you think most of the protesting students did for the weekend after the school strike. Most of them consumed like demons and continue to do so. Greta is traveling around with a team of handlers consuming resources unnecessarily. Her UN speech could have been done at home with modern technology. She is all for other people to give up economic growth and live frugally but not her or her family. Did she ask her mother to stop her book being published, which will destroy many trees?
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » slogans given to them by their Marxist/NGO handlers
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » Nah pal, they would never sniff the wind and nod along with whatever their paymasters want for a cosy life. They are infallible superhumans and incredibly virtuous, just like priests were back in the day.
Tell me how wrote: » How do you know what they intend to do? Greta is already doing what she can herself is she not?
Tell me how wrote: » How do you know what they intend to do? Greta is already doing what she can herself is she not? Also, even so, are they not entitled to ask that the governments of all countries develop the appropriate strategies or processes to improve things. Is that not what governments are for?
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » Getting a day off school and chanting prepackaged slogans given to them by their Marxist/NGO handlers requires no effort, just show up, that'll do. Sticks and stones, they should seriously harden up a bit for their own good and not be part of the contrived victimhood industry where in the absence of real problems stuff has to be made up.
gozunda wrote: » Nope. Wrong and incorrect. Read the article linked above if you are at all confused as to what was said about kids making a difference. If you can't understand that I can't help you.
Tell me how wrote: » Teenagers are going to the effort of protesting and calling for action. Most of the whinging is coming from the likes of the guy in the video above saying they should shut up. Can you imagine how difficult it is for a struggling teenager in todays world with social media and the likelihood of bullying 24/7 often anonymously.
Tell me how wrote: » I've no doubt but that some teenagers could do with realising not everything is handed to them, but was possibly even more true for some of the people telling them now they need to cop on. Teenagers now don't realise how not so long ago smart phones weren't a thing any more than earlier generations would have struggled to comprehend life without a fixed line phone or a television. They've grown up watching their parents on smart phones and are now being told they shouldn't have an opinion on the climate while they own one. By people who often shoved a phone in their face to distract them when they were younger. They often don't walk or cycle to school because their parents told them the roads weren't safe for them to do so and now they're being told they are pampered for being dropped at the gates. So, the fact that kids have grown up in a world where their parents are enjoying all the material goods life have to offer and they have no frame of reference of what it was like before, they deserve credit for saying hang on, there needs to be action on the climate.
jackboy wrote: » Not that they should shut up. They should practice what they preach, which almost none of them intends to do, including Greta. Most of them live incredible privileged lives and consume mountains of unnecessary resources.
Tell me how wrote: » Most of the whinging is coming from the likes of the guy in the video above saying they should shut up.
Jimmy Garlic wrote: » Teenagers have never had it so soft.they have been allowed to soften to a point where many of them possess no basic life skills, cooking for themselves for example. Couple that with a enormous sense of entitlement and years of pc brainwashing and the result is the greatest generation of right-on dryball whingers that has ever existed, hopping from one trendy bandwagon to the next.