IAMAMORON wrote: » I think it is very important for the...
Omackeral wrote: » Few paragraphs wouldn't go amiss you poxbottles.
sbsquarepants wrote: » The ploughing is basically the haj for culchies
Church on Tuesday wrote: » This is one seriously odd place sometimes.
EmmetSpiceland wrote: » How on earth is this a major “event”, drawing such big numbers? It sounds like a truly awful way to spend your day. Tractors ploughing fields and stomping around various farming supply tents listening to yahoos shouting “hup” and “hon the banner!” or whatever parochial nickname their town/county has. Probably has “Wagon Wheel” constantly blaring over speakers that double as bunting poles too
EmmetSpiceland wrote: » I can think of few things worse than standing around in a field with lots of old men with rope belts keeping their “trousers” up and both hands, firmly, in their pockets. Always wearing those thick suits, probably older than they are, whether it’s cold and rainy or blistering sunshine. Then having some freckled young lads in navy gilets running around bumping into you roaring “hit the diff!” and shing themselves laughing. I’ve had to endure spending time with my partner’s “people” out west on a few occasions and it’s always the same. Incessant weather chat, pointing out the long, or short, evenings and “‘tis an Indian summer we’re having” type pronouncements.
EmmetSpiceland wrote: » Then, down the pub, having to endure some of the locals from further afield. Poking fun at my accent or asking my partner if “so and so” is her uncle and on her answer in the affirmative falling around laughing telling her “Softy, we used to call him!”. Base humour.
EmmetSpiceland wrote: » The coverage the Ploughing is getting is beyond me. Pat Kenny was broadcasting from there today. The Dubs win “five in a row”, a feat never achieved by any other side, in either code, and one that I, personally, don’t believe will be done again, and there’s no mention of it. Instead it’s this country “festival” that’s getting all the coverage, that and the country “beef” drama. Can’t just let us have our “moment”. Up the Dubs!!
sbsquarepants wrote: » A heap of the wolly backs in work go missing for the few days every year. The ploughing is basically the haj for culchies - they have to make the pilgrimage or they don't get to finally ride some dirty aul one in culchie heaven i believe. There's no fúcking civilisation in them!:mad:
Lady Haywire wrote: » Aongus Von Bismarck has a challenger!
ToBeFrank123 wrote: » If I was a single woman (rather than a married man) I'd be down there in a flash! All those bachelors, lots of land, plenty of road frontage, etc Instead the single women of Ireland are wasting their time on Tinder, POF and at Electric Picnic!
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » I'm sick of all this rural news on TV. I was watching Claire Byrne last night and there was a load of pig ignorant ****ers giving out that they didn't like the price they were getting for beef. Tough **** hombre. That's the free market. The sight of them on every RTE bulletin annoys me. Red faces, incoherent accents, big wooly jumpers and eyebrows under their eyes. You can almost smell the cow****e off them. How minister creed went in to a room to negotiate with them I don't know. The fent of manure would be enough to turn a bombay sewage worker I'd say.
Mad_maxx wrote: » Lack of scale is a problem in Irish farming but the meat processors have been ripping off farmers for years, as have the retailers, withdrawing product is the only weapon farmers have
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Mad_maxx wrote: » Lack of scale is a problem in Irish farming but the meat processors have been ripping off farmers for years, as have the retailers, withdrawing product is the only weapon farmers have They're not just withdrawing product. No issue with that. They're preventing others product from entering the abbatoirs.
blinding wrote: » There’ll be no ploughing in Dublin this week after the All-Ireland anyway .
EmmetSpiceland wrote: » How on earth is this a major “event”, drawing such big numbers? It sounds like a truly awful way to spend your day. Tractors ploughing fields and stomping around various farming supply tents listening to yahoos shouting “hup” and “hon the banner!” or whatever parochial nickname their town/county has. Probably has “Wagon Wheel” constantly blaring over speakers that double as bunting poles too A few of the girls from here have been talking about it nonstop for the last month. Talking about, no word of lie, which wellies were “best” to go with their outfits. They share lots of jokes about “finding a man” and, obviously, “road frontage” and this brings them on to talk of the “Aisling” book and how they’re all so like her. All of them. I can think of few things worse than standing around in a field with lots of old men with rope belts keeping their “trousers” up and both hands, firmly, in their pockets. Always wearing those thick suits, probably older than they are, whether it’s cold and rainy or blistering sunshine. Then having some freckled young lads in navy gilets running around bumping into you roaring “hit the diff!” and shítting themselves laughing. I’ve had to endure spending time with my partner’s “people” out west on a few occasions and it’s always the same. Incessant weather chat, pointing out the long, or short, evenings and “‘tis an Indian summer we’re having” type pronouncements. Then, down the pub, having to endure some of the locals from further afield. Poking fun at my accent or asking my partner if “so and so” is her uncle and on her answer in the affirmative falling around laughing telling her “Softy, we used to call him!”. Base humour. The coverage the Ploughing is getting is beyond me. Pat Kenny was broadcasting from there today. The Dubs win “five in a row”, a feat never achieved by any other side, in either code, and one that I, personally, don’t believe will be done again, and there’s no mention of it. Instead it’s this country “festival” that’s getting all the coverage, that and the country “beef” drama. Can’t just let us have our “moment”. Up the Dubs!!
Galwayguy35 wrote: » Sounds like you have never even been at it.
Say Your Number wrote: » Ah it's better than walking through Dublin with chuggers and junkies in your face every 5 yards looking for money.
griffin100 wrote: » My teenage son just got back. He described it as travellers, tractors and food. He got to see Michael D. and Richie Kavanagh so was happy. As someone who lives nearby I hate the feckin thing. Roads are closed, kids sports cancelled, schools all over the county have been told to shut by Garda, school buses have been comendeered for shuttling attendees, lots of businesses closed. At least some businesses can make a few quid from it. I can’t wait until the feckin thing is over.
Boom_Bap wrote: » Ye do know that it's a drunken rampant f*ck fest?
jmayo wrote: » The big advantage of the ploughing is the lack of insufferable ar**holes from certain parts of the country.