Bonniedog wrote: » Gold Star gorm. Excellent.
maestroamado wrote: » Is this thread closed?
maestroamado wrote: » They dominate the gaa at football level which will eventually damage the gaa as can be seen already with attendance drops. Because there is more people playing gaa in Dublin this is likely a factor in their domination especially when it comes to funding. I cannot see them becoming a force in hurling anytime soon. I think Kerry were the best time yesterday and expect them to win replay.
Bonniedog wrote: » I will spare you the shame Did "us" beat "youse" ? Good night ladies. Early closing in Boar's Head today. Celebrations postponed to this day fortnight. And no, none of you are invited.
Bonniedog wrote: » What are you talking about? I've been involved in Dublin GAA all my life, since the early 70s. Our job is not to be part of some nonsensical social engineering project to fill low paying jobs and high rent slums. Our job is to maintain our tradition. I won't be around to see the outcome of this assault on Irish society, and neither will the GAA. In the meantime. I savour surviving examples of culture and courage and endeavour as displayed by the four teams in Croke Park yesterday, That's what our association is about. Not being flak catchers for deracinated traitors.
blanch152 wrote: » The money was all about increasing juvenile participation with the twin aims of raising awareness of our national game and improving long-term health and fitness outcomes. It is succeeding very well in those objectives as seen by the huge number of kids in Dublin now playing the games. If you preferred, the government could have put money into promoting soccer and rugby in Dublin, but instead it chose our national games for this important initiative.
Strumms wrote: » How many people live in Dublin ? How many play GAA ? It’s only appropriate that Dublin have their house in order to facilitate as best they can.. the experience of participating in the sport.
odyssey06 wrote: » The funding to Dublin GAA was deliberately spread as widely as possible, because it's intention was to encourage participation and the spread of one of the most popular games in the state - not to aid the elite team directly.
STB. wrote: » There is no direct correlation between development funding and the success of the current Dublin squad. The whole idea of development funding was to get more kids playing the game and not soccer, rugby, athletics, boxing, and other sports. And to get them sticking at it.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » 1) Shrewd management of finances (I would argue they are actually underfunded given the population size)
odyssey06 wrote: » In 2017, Dublin received 14% of the funding for games development. If that is 10% by 2020, does that seem unreasonable given Dublin's size? And yes there is a disconnect between Dublin's population and registered players, but some of the funding if it is for games promotion and schools should have a per capita element and be ring fenced for same (rather than be used for conditioning coaches for senior players).
naughtb4 wrote: » So do you think Dublin dominate in GAA?
maestroamado wrote: » naughtb4 wrote: » No I think you mis-understand, The thread is about Dublin Dominance of GAA - Dublin do not dominate in GAA - in hurling, in camogie, at minor level at U-21 level etc. Any "solution" needs to work across the board and not just be due to hand-wringing because Dublin are currently successful in one out of many elements of the GAA -namely Senior IC Football (Male and Female) - and even that will not last forever. (I actually think the women are more likely to go onto dominate more than the men) I do not misunderstand at all, this thread in my opinion is about dominance in the gaa, i think if i am incorrect someone will advise as i think this thread starter one od the bosses here. You cannot pick and choose the bits you want to talk about. You do not want me to have a voice, you prefer switch to conversation gender.
naughtb4 wrote: » No I think you mis-understand, The thread is about Dublin Dominance of GAA - Dublin do not dominate in GAA - in hurling, in camogie, at minor level at U-21 level etc. Any "solution" needs to work across the board and not just be due to hand-wringing because Dublin are currently successful in one out of many elements of the GAA -namely Senior IC Football (Male and Female) - and even that will not last forever. (I actually think the women are more likely to go onto dominate more than the men)
maestroamado wrote: » Yes i agree with all of that which is great for gaa which i have being involved for years and support. My point is because of the dominance of gaa in sport in this country, unfortunately our young people are not exposed to other sports. Its not a criticism of gaa, its about spreading funding to other sports...
salmocab wrote: » No they were saying GAA is more than just football it’s also hurling camogie and across age grades and men’s women’s.
maestroamado wrote: » No i didn't its called "spin" it happens all the time. They were saying gaa only game in town and i agree...
bruschi wrote: » Integration and expanding the reach?
salmocab wrote: » I think you misunderstood what the poster was saying
maestroamado wrote: » You are correct, unfortunately because gaa so strong it is for the most part the only sport available to young people in this country. This is not the fault of the gaa it is because of lack of funding by successive governments for other sports.
naughtb4 wrote: » More then one sport in GAA, multiple levels and genders as well .......
ArielAtom wrote: » And a lot of people living in Dublin are Culchies who head home every weekend as well as foreign nationals who have zero affiliation to the GAA, my son has 4 teachers from Cork who would be anti Dublin to say the least, so no benefit to Dublin GAA.
maestroamado wrote: » naughtb4 wrote: » But Dublin aren't dominating GAA....... I have not being fallowing this thread. I just heard in the commentary Dublin have won their last 43 championship games and the last 4 all Ireland titles. Is this not dominating?
naughtb4 wrote: » But Dublin aren't dominating GAA.......
blanch152 wrote: » Correct, they pay out extensive mileage to players at a level that makes them almost professional
tikkahunter wrote: » What a game today , very entertaining. Hopefully another great game the next day . So does the funding compensate for being a man down in the second half or can’t you just except Dublin have a good team . Fair play to the Kerry boys they will win an AI in the next few years.
Duffy the Vampire Slayer wrote: » A lot of the money Mayo spent was on trasnport related costs. That's sonething Dublin rarely have to worry about.
tikkahunter wrote: » Oh I have countlessly throughout this thread but your sole agenda is pure hate for Dublin, but everytime your own counties lack of vision or scandals are brought up you sidestep the issue and spout more boil . Get your own house in order instead of worrying about Dublin . We spent years getting ridiculed and where a laughing stock so got our house in order and set out a plan and stuck to it . Anyway I have to go get ready for another AI final so you just stew away there in your own bitterness and I’ll enjoy the day with the kids no matter the result and if Kerry do win then good luck to them at least they are a county and team that go about things the right way and they have a very decent set of supporters.