Octavia Curved Loner wrote: After watching mayo play meath I don't think they have a snowballs chance in hell of beating Dublin. They won't even come close 7 point difference at best
Octavia Curved Loner wrote: » After watching mayo play meath I don't think they have a snowballs chance in hell of beating Dublin. They won't even come close 7 point difference at best
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Christ if you think they will be beaten by at least 7 based on the Meath game you should have seen the Kerry game.
Kalyke wrote: » At least this is one of your nicer posts....
flasher0030 wrote: » Was having a read over in Willie Joe's Mayo blog. I know some people here might also be contributors there. But God, you wouldn't want to say anything negative against our chances over there. I didn't anyway, cause anything is possible after Castlebar last Saturday evening. One chap was basically saying to give up your ticket now if you're not willing to drown out the dubs on noise levels for the best part of 80 minutes. There's lots of poetic, flowery language of how we're all going into battle together. I hope Mayo get over the line on Saturday. But I certianly wouldn't be going around spouting that we will definately win because we have more passion, want it more etc. etc.
Octavia Curved Loner wrote: » Kalyke wrote: » At least this is one of your nicer posts.... ? First post on the thread.
Kalyke wrote: » Yeah... First post...
Rockfish wrote: » Car is in the garage so going to take the train, be a new experience for me, going to a match this way. Have pre booked a seat, am i daft or will it be a free for all? Ticket booked from Ballyhaunis but thinking i might go to Castlebar instead and get on there? Im sure there will be no check etcs. Years since ive been on the train :cool:
Martina1991 wrote: » I'm taking the train as well. It's great craic. Everyone is wrecked from a poor nights sleep. The hang sandwiches are packed. There's a gang of young ones skulling cans as soon as they've pulled out of the station. Some people have the tabloids with them, speculating who'll mark who and if this is Andy's last year. The tidal wave of green and red pours onto the Luas stop at Heuston. And we all have about 6 hours to kill before throw in.
Coillte_Bhoy wrote: Actually im wondering the same, is it a free for all or do people respect the booked seats? Not too pushed but dont fancy standing for the journey. Anyway looking forward to it, haent been to a match by train for a while either
seligehgit wrote: Another very good article by Eamon Donoghue.
jr86 wrote: » Stop, some posters on it are as odd as feck. As bunny said, talking in riddles and the likes. How on earth do so many of them congregate on that site? It's like some cult honestly to any outsiders - we're mainly normal in Mayo, don't worry Haha as you say so many posts along the lines of "we'll win because we want it more". Haha did ya ever hear such rubbish. I'd doubt Dublin are too pushed about the 5 in a row alright! Maybe some of them are complete wind up merchants laughing at everyone's expense? They have to be... On the flipside there are some outstanding posters on it, but I'll be focked if I'm going wading through that comments section with its layout! The brown nosing of Willie Joe is hilarious too. Good on him though, he never acknowledges it and - I'd imagine - probably completely cringes at it himself Agree with Bunny, he can be precious with the moderation and I lost a bit of respect for him after his stance on newbridge last year and being so petty at people who disagreed with him. And his out of order accusations at Ronan Shanahan in the league. But fair play to him, must be some nuisance to run and moderate. Respect to him for not packing it in long ago.
irishgeo wrote: » I think one change. Mcloughlin in and that's it. The gaa hour podcast has a good anaylsis on the game. Who is the ref?
PressRun wrote: » Rain is expected to clear before throw in tomorrow but I think a bit blustery? Might be slippery surface and ball and some wayward shooting with the wind carrying the ball. Could be low quality stuff on the day.
seligehgit wrote: » Another very good article by Eamon Donoghue.https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gaa-statistics-who-should-patrick-durcan-and-lee-keegan-track-1.3980014?mode=amp
flasher0030 wrote: » I think James McCarthy is a little overrated. He's very good and obviously needs to be watched, but I don't think he is this game changing super player that he's made out to be.
moghrasa wrote: » I'm glad to see this. In RTE's buildup to the Ulster semi-final between Donegal and Tyrone, Colm O'Rourke said Joe Brolly sounded like "Nigel Farage on drugs" by suggesting that Michael Murphy is one of the most influential players of the last 20 years, and when queried on who was better, O'Rourke said ... James McCarthy. Now don't get me wrong he's a fine footballer that would probably get on any team, but Jesus Christ there are faaar more significant players in the Dublin team alone than him, let alone the country. Take Fenton or McCaffrey out and they're in a spot of bother. Never got the extent of the hype around McCarthy.
corny wrote: » Really? I found it awful simplistic. Keegan stood beside player X at the throw in. Player X didn't score therefore Keegan is a great man marker. Thats the great analysis we get in the GAA. Why we can't look at actual defensive actions (tackle, turnovers) in a game to judge effectiveness i'll never know. Its like no one actually saw Keegan being beaten to the ball every time last week. I'm sure Murphy missing a couple under no pressure was somehow spun as Keegan impacting the game too. The year he got player of the year for standing beside D Connolly was the same crack. Michael Quinliven taking him to the cleaners didn't actually happen. Same for Durcan. He spent a huge amount of time nowhere near McHugh yet he too got the plaudits. Mayo as a team stopped McHugh and i'd say the two big bastards in the middle and Colm Boyle had way more to do with McHugh not being in the game than Durcan did.
seligehgit wrote: » I can't agree that McCarthy is overrated,he won the 2017 final for Dublin when it was there for the taking at the death.A wonderful footballer.