Yurt! wrote: » Come off of it, what possible agency did this woman enjoy when we know the forces that were pitted against her on the threat of losing her job? I'd have some sympathy for your point of view if we were having this discussion in 1984, then we could at least admit you were a man of your time. But you're trying to peddle this line in 2019, knowing what we know. As far as I can discern, you're trying to say this woman shouldn't have had sex in the circumstances she was in, and the rules and culture of the time were just that; so she should have known better. Well, gold medal for you Captain Hindsight. And what's more, you're slyly suggesting the Garda hierarchy at the time had no agency at the time themselves, they simply had to apply the opaque rules of 'discrediting the force' the way they did. Newflash from 1985, this was a matter of controversy and debate back then too...https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/intolerable-intrusion-the-1985-coverage-of-majella-moynihan-s-story-1.3928248
Yurt! wrote: » Garda rules aren't the law. Crack open a book and get that into your head.
Mrsmum wrote: » Could we cope with the horror of what would come out !
Deleted User wrote: » easy there now ted you havent once acknowledged that these were known terms and conditions of employment. of society, in a broader sense.
One eyed Jack wrote: » I didn’t say they were? Garda Moynihan as she was at the time knew the rules of AGS which applied to her as a member of AGS. Everyone else knew the law which applied to them as members of the public. My point was that being educated in an industrial school offers no explanation or excuse as to why Garda Moynihan was of the opinion that she was above the rules of the organisation of which she was a member. Of course it was going to be humiliating when it was pointed out to her by her superior officers that she isn’t above the rules, in spite of her protestations that they “leave her alone”.
[Deleted User] wrote: » I see where you're coming from but I still think we'd be a much better society for having the courage to examine our history like that. Much better. I am always impressed at the honesty which the Germans have had about WWII and their museums are thoroughly admirable in their courage about this past. It's not as if the poor in other European societies did not endure local variants of what the Irish poor endured - although there is certainly a much greater emphasis on social history in France, for instance, than there is in Ireland, where our very conservative historians infamously merely aped the English historical research culture which focuses on the history of the political elite and their wars. Historical research in Ireland is still suffering from this emphasis. And you can be sure that after 10 or 20 years of research into the social histories of these homes etc, we will also have more balance, hearing stories of good things which were done by good people in those years and have a better understanding of how Ireland compared internationally. It all beats some eejit with an affected accent musing about some esoteric letter written by some waffler in 1932/1832/1732 that has already been examiner by other like-minded people - and being paid by the state to do so. Then again, that's a lovely, safe history for the state to spend its research funding on.
Yurt! wrote: » I wont even bother dealing with the rest of the post
Deleted User wrote: » eyeroll.jpg
Yurt! wrote: » Rules, be they set by AGS or your local Spar, must adhere to the law. You suggested she wasn't adhering to the law. It's in your post.
One eyed Jack wrote: » I didn’t suggest she wasn’t adhering to the law and it’s not in my post either. In your post you considered that the fact she was educated in an industrial school is somehow relevant to the fact that she was found to be in violation of the rules of the organisation of which she was a member at the time. She was found to be in violation of the rules as set down by S.I. No. 316/1971 - Garda Síochána (Discipline) Regulations, 1971 -1. Conduct prejudicial to discipline or likely to bring discredit on the Force. It was perfectly lawful then, and it’s perfectly lawful now. That’s why when she contacted Michael Noonan about it, she was told correctly, that it was nothing to do with him as the Minister for Justice at the time -Separately, Ms Lohan called on former Fine Gael leader Michael Noonan, who was Minister for Justice at the time, to state what he knew about the case. Ms Moynihan said on Monday that she spoke with Mr Noonan ten years ago, and he told her that it was an internal Garda matter. Mr Noonan did not respond to requests for comment yesterday. Her circumstances would be similar to Paddy Jackson claiming he was mistreated by his employer for having sex. We know that would be a misrepresentation of the facts. Similarly, Garda Moynihan in this case was not fired following informal disciplinary action, and she subsequently chose to remain with AGS for a number of years after until she chose to leave of her own volition, so attempting to portray herself as a victim, is a stretch. I do worry about her though that if she isn’t satisfied this time with the outcome of all the media attention this time around, that she’ll run out of other people to blame for her circumstances.
marieholmfan wrote: » This was 35 years ago. This is not news. We can only fix the problems that exist today.
Jupiter Mulligan wrote: » If all else fails, then I suppose she could always make a sixth unsuccessful attempt to commit suicide. That should whip up another bit of publicity for her.
Jupiter Mulligan wrote: » If all else fails, then I suppose she could always make a sixth unsuccessful attempt to commit suicide. That should whip up another bit of publicity for her. But, as with her decision to have unprotected sex with a fellow trainee garda, her decision not have a termination, her decision not to marry the man who fathered their child, her decision not to keep her child and her decision not to not leave AGS, it's entirely up to her.
Yurt! wrote: » Take a wee read through that and point out the provision in the law where it deals with pregnancy. In your own time...
Stop moaning ffs wrote: » It’s that kind of thinking that we still have and why horrors like the Tuam seeer grave aren’t investigated officially when they really should be. We can’t just ignore these things they have to be looked into with all the seriousness they deserve.
One eyed Jack wrote: » What? What sort of whataboutery is that? I didn’t say anything in my post about any provision in law where it deals with pregnancy. Did you read my post properly? I was addressing the point you made in which you tried to imply that disciplinary action within the AGS at the time was somehow unlawful in your opinion. My point is that contrary to your belief - her being subject to disciplinary action for her actions was not unlawful.
Yurt! wrote: » *Sigh* Of course AGS are empowered to discpline. But they must discipline LAWFULLY and with good reason in accordance with law. Last post on this thread. Enjoy fantasy land
SusieBlue wrote: » You're holding her to the standard of options she'd have had today, that's an unfair comparison and very disingenuous.
Nermal wrote: » You're holding institutional actions of 35 years ago to the standards of today.
SusieBlue wrote: » I'm not, I'm saying that stating she had the option of contraception (which was extremely difficult to get in the early 80's) and abortion (which was only legalised last year, over 30 years after the fact) is extremely disingenuous.
SusieBlue wrote: You're holding her to the standard of options she'd have had today, that's an unfair comparison and very disingenuous.