hardybuck wrote: » After three games played, Carlow's scoring difference in the Leinster championship is better than Waterford's in Munster...
carter10 wrote: » While the pain from Sunday has not dissipated and I view the future with a fear of a return to the bad old days of the 80 and 90s I can't accept the now generally held narrative that the players threw in the towel on Sunday. These players got to an all ireland final and also with 14 men got back to within 3 points of Tipperary until fatigue and Tipp superior ability and gameplan blew them away. While i am in despair about our situation - as I was in 82,83 and 93 - I am surprised at the level of 'pilling on' by pundits. Today i read on the RTE website Eddie Brennan commenting about the players wanting Matty Forde before Fanning and saying players should play for the manager regardless- I find this astonishing that a current serving manager throws out opinions about another county, especially one who hasn't set the world alight himself in his role. The treatment of Austin Gleeson on the Sunday game also was appalling. This year alone he has been asked to play - centre back, wing back, midfield, half forward and full forward. Ask yourself if you were treated this way how would you fare as a player. We have numerous instances of players being messed around- Patrick Curran; barely used in the league, no game against Clare then starting against Tipp followed by no game against Limerick. Brick - no game time until last Sunday. Conor Gleeson on the bench last Sunday for no apparent reason. Overall the selection of the team all year has no sense or reason to it. Similarly the game plan - or lack of it. Add to this the obvious lack of fitness and skill- this is down to the management team. For the last 2 games, we spend no time during the "warm up" taking shots at goal. Last Sunday Limerick spent the last 5 minutes before the start raining balls down on the terrace behind the goal. Small things. A lot of people blame the players, some blame the manager the truth as always is somewhere in the middle. Also, us as supporters have to take some responsibility. I was in Ennis last year and the atmosphere was actually hostile to both the team and us the traveling support. Clare entered the field to a thunderous roar. Last Sunday Limerick got a bigger welcome than Waterford. Tickets still available on Sundy morning. How can supporters give out about players when they themselves 'threw in the towel' Our attention to detail in many facets of what we do is not good enough; for example, even the band couldn't play the national anthem in tune last Sunday and the ridiculous situation with the crowd being heard over the PA embarrassing stuff. Enda McEvoy made this very point recently about the press box in Walsh Park - he pointed out in the Examiner the dirt of the place- even after this it wasn't cleaned. He commented again on it after a game in Thurles when he was provided with sandwiches and Tea in a clean press box. Small things.
Dont Stop wrote: » Heres my alternate team next week. Billy Nolan GK Callum Lyons CB C Gleeson FB Noel Connors CB C Prunty WB A Gleeson CB D Fives WB Shane Bennett CM C Roche CM T Ryan WF J Prendergast CF M Shanahan WF S Bennett CF Brick FF Kearney Look at bringing in Sean Power and Paul Flynn for the last game. Take stock then over the summer and next winter.
KevIRL wrote: » Personally would only start Lyons, Prunty and Jack Prendergast from Sunday. All of the fringe and squad players such as Daragh Lyons, Billy Nolan, Colm Roche, Stephen Roche, Kieran Bennett, Mark O Brien, Jordan Henley, DJ Foran, Peter Hogan, Shane McNulty, Brian O Halloran and Colin Dunford should be considered for starts ahead of those involved last Sunday. Any of them who were on the lash Sunday or Monday in Nicky's though I wouldnt start and go down to the under 20 squad if required
hardybuck wrote: » If you do that you're potentially sending in a team of young lads to be slaughtered down in Cork. It would be much fairer to them to be blooded properly in next year's league.
TheScoringGoal wrote: » What you say is correct but would you have any confidence in the established players bothering this weekend? Playing them could be even worse. I felt sorry for the full back line last weekend looking up to play passes and realistically only Miley Kearney wanted the ball.
TheScoringGoal wrote: » A lot of Cork folk, including Dónal Óg Cusack, seem to have forgotten https://m.independent.ie/sport/hurling/galway-glide-past-woeful-rebels-26041236.html
Deisegodeo wrote: » Am I get to getting the wrong end of the stick Here, or were some Players on the beer Sunday and Monday?
munsterlegend wrote: » What is a bit unfair on Waterford is having to play 6 days after. Only county affected like this?
Cornerstoner wrote: » Deisegodeo wrote: » Am I get to getting the wrong end of the stick Here, or were some Players on the beer Sunday and Monday? Confirmed with my own eyes on Sunday
Jjjjjjjjbarry wrote: » Without mentioning names, are we talking about three or four lads or half the panel?
hardybuck wrote: » Especially seeing Cork had a break at the weekend.