Pretzill wrote: » Thanks again jim I'm not a bit enamoured with the no wheat, no carbs, no animal fats - clean eating stuff that's becoming trendy - I'm neither a lover of fasting - but I can see these will work for some. I do see the benefit in eating three balanced meals a day - This is how I was rared - In those days (cue sad music) I moved an awful lot more, treats were a rarity and I didn't drink alcohol. I was slim for a long time until I got to my mid thirties. In recent years I've become a lover of supper - so I've gained a meal - (supper might be two slices of toast, or a crisp sandwich or cheese and crackers or carrots chopped up) I also enjoy a few drinks at the weekend (slightly above the rec guidelines adding up to 14 units a week) and my portion sizes have grown all told really. So I'm trying to do this simply - cutting my calorie intake by up to 600 cals a day. Moving more and cutting alcohol. Basically going back to when I was younger and my world was poorer:o I really spoil myself now because its easy to do so.
Penn wrote: » Hey Pretzill, I was in much the same boat as yourself. For me, calorie counting is absolutely the way to go. I certainly tried to cut down on carbs & sugars, but calorie counting was the main focus. Use MyFitnessPal if you're not already and take a proper count of you calorie intake. Try use the carbs/protein breakdown as a general guide too. Focus on that for a while anyway and see how you're getting on. Also try to find snacks that are healthy or low calorie and have them between meals if you can. It'll help you reduce portion sizes for meals and you won't be hungry in between. Find a low fat yoghurt or something that you enjoy (it's vitally important to enjoy the food you're eating, it'll make it much easier to stick to it).
Pretzill wrote: » Thanks both! It's all hypothetical at the moment and I do hope I can make those changes and stick to them - but without feeling I'm not ever again allowed have a slice of cake - I bake so I use very little sugar if I make a bun or cake (if any) but use fruit (I know but still a little more natural) instead - I like to have control over what I eat and I eat very little processed food. I also live out in the sticks with no access to take-aways - I love cooking but it's not always healthy. I recently got into greek natural yogurt (full fat) delicious (but a lot more calorific than I thought) I know sugar is bad but since I stopped smoking this is by far my biggest problem - I started to love sweets, and chocolate again - I'm day 3 now without a sugary snack and I'm cutting snacks altogether. I don't want to think of this as a diet. The only times I've actually dieted in my life I put on weight after stopping. And when I smoked i had the luxury of being able to eat and drink anything without putting on extra weight.
jim o doom wrote: » Low fat yoghurt isn't a good choice - fat keeps you satisfied for longer periods than anything else. Low fat yoghurts are generally full of sugar, as you need something to replace the fat content. Sugar = the worst thing you can eat, as 50% (the fructose part, sugar being a disachharide if I spelled it right) of it is converted diretly to fat, as the body cannot process or use it.
Penn wrote: » I found as a small snack inbetween meals, the yoghurts I was having were great. I know they're not the best thing I could have eaten, but again, it's important to eat things you enjoy. I did have other snacks all the time too, but the yoghurts were one of my main ones and I had great success. Even though it's converted to fat, if you're at a calorie deficit you're still burning fat off regardless.
Penn wrote: » I found as a small snack inbetween meals
jim o doom wrote: » I also snack too, but much less at the moment. Every time you eat, you produce insulin (the chemical which stores fat), and constantly elevated insulin leads to insulin resistance, which leads to obesity and potentially diabetes.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Rather than get into it again, I'd recommend reading this and even listening to the podcast with Jason Fung.https://sigmanutrition.com/episode85/ Fairly balanced.
iamtony wrote: » Lads can I just say yous are going a little overboard with all this stuff. This is a weight loss thread and we're trying to get people to put down the big Mac's and support each other. I'm not saying this stuff isn't true, well some of it anyway but the battle most people here are fighting is a physiological one and the information your providing would he more useful to an athlete. I'm loosing loads of weight and I'm still eating all the food groups. I just change the portions around to be veg heavy but I'll still have some mash or some chips or pasta or whatever. When I'm at my ideal weight and want to improve further I'll start worrying about the macros and insulin etc. Keep it simple people.
Penn wrote: » Have to agree. I lost 8 stone in a year simply by calories in, calories out. As simple and as flexible a weightloss program as it gets.
iamtony wrote: » Amazing, I'd say you feel great now. And you probably can count the calories in your head at this stage like I can and look at a plate and say yeah that's about 500 calories.
Penn wrote: » It's all about what you can stick to both short and long term.
jim o doom wrote: » Very well put indeed. I saw statistics about the full keto diet, which showed better weightloss and better health markers (bad cholesterol and the like) than calorie restriction over 6 months.. ..but over one year, all the keto group (and calorie restricters) regained the weight, because the diets were unsustainable. Fasting is absolutely not for some people. A good friend of mine suffest horrible gas and cramps if he goes without food (stomach issues). For me it works great. It's easy (for me) to just not eat for x number of hours. Even if it's having dinner at 8 and skipping breakfast and eating a lunch the next day. But no diet is universal, it's all down to what you can do, and do in the long term. Glad your one is working for ye!
jim o doom wrote: » Ok here it is simple Bad stuff: Sugar and wheat. Try and reduce it you can, especially sugar. Also snacking very regularly, also Try to reduce it IF you can. Generally bad: highly processed foods. biccies, sweets, "low fat foods" (many of which contain high sugar which is in bad stuff). Good stuff: vegetables, fruit, meat (but keep meat protein to 20% to 30% of over all intake.) Not that bad stuff: potatos and sweet potatoes - they are not highly refined. Protective of obesity stuff: vinegar and fibre. Can reduce obesity. Stuff people think is bad but actually isn't: healthy fats, such as dairy. Very filling, keeps hunger at bay for long periods of time. Very good stuff that is hard to do at first: fasting. Massive health benefits and definite weight loss benefits. Ta daa The important thing to remember is do what you can do, and be aware of what is bad. We use food to celebrate, so it's ok to eat bad food some of the time. Just don't do it ALL of the time. If you eat biscuits every day with tea, which contain lots of sugar and wheat, you are going to struggle to lose weight.