Pineapple1 wrote: » No they are not dole heads. They are both teachers which makes it even more mind boggling how ignorant they are.
Pineapple1 wrote: » Thanks for all the replies so far..I can tell you all understand and support my frustration! What I'd like to know though is, can and should I get the guards involved? Or would they even care? (The garda station in our town is only open part time hours)
This is it wrote: » Definitely not the approach I would take. You're asking for trouble.
This is it wrote: » Clamping someone that's blocking your car in is hardly ideal...
Nadia Young Cub wrote: » I did it once in Dublin. They came back just as I hung up the phone. Told them the potential outcome and they stopped blocking my drive.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » Ah go on and tell us. Don't leave us hanging like that!
Nadia Young Cub wrote: » Big yellow metal thing on their wheel...do I need to spoon-feed youse;)
This is it wrote: » As I said, it's not the approach I would take. No point in starting some sort of tit-for-tat parking war, there are plenty of other avenues.
Toots wrote: » If you said you were in Dublin I'd have thought you were one of my parents. Their neighbours are the same, pig ignorant and would never dream of blocking their own drive but constantly park across my parents'. It would be worth having a chat with a local garda and seeing what they advise. My sister in law was in a similar situation only in her case the neighbour was refusing to move the car so she called the Gardai. Neighbour still refused to move it so the Garda said basically if it's not moved in the next 10 minutes it'll be on the back of a tow truck. Neighbour must have thought the garda was bluffing, until, sure enough, a tow truck arrived and the car was carted off. They've never blocked her drive again, but obviously they now absolutely hate my sister in law.
gk5000 wrote: » Is there some way you could block them in after they have blocked you in, say with a friends car, or by keeping your car outside when you expect them? Then just don't answer your door or move it, and leave them stuck all night.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » What alternatives do you propose, if talking to the neighbours/ blockers doesn't work.