Mrcaramelchoc wrote: » Sport : definition an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment. Ill just leave that there. Esports me arse.
Comfy Af Atm Tbh wrote: » Computer games are an amusing diversion for children, that's it really.
Potential-Monke wrote: » Wow... You could practice playing Through the Fire and the Flames on Guitar Hero for years and still not be able to play it without mistakes. Stupid analogy. Again, funny hearing someone call another person childish for being a gamer, which in itself is a childish remark. Top points.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » You still aren’t playing guitar though. Just a simulation of it.
sonic85 wrote: » How did this turn into gamers calling people out of touch and non gamers saying these games are not real? None of that has anything to do with the OP. I 100% agree with the OP - if I pay a sub for Sky Sports I want to see soccer, american football, basketball, MMA etc. I definitely don't want to turn on and see lads playing video games. It's as simple as that
sonic85 wrote: » I 100% agree with the OP - if I pay a sub for Sky Sports I want to see soccer, american football, basketball, MMA etc. I definitely don't want to turn on and see lads playing video games. It's as simple as that
cdeb wrote: » I dunno. If I paid for a sub for Sky Sports and got American football, basketball and MMA, I'd be fairly pissed off. I definitely don't want to turn on and watch stuff which would get a 5-year jail sentence in real life. Horses for courses like.
sk8erboii wrote: » Because its true. You’d have to be out of touch to ignore the esports industryhttps://www.investopedia.com/news/booming-esports-industry-hit-138b-2018/ Nobody’s taking anything away from you. All theyre doing is adding in another revenue stream and a younger audience. Its really not that hard to understand. Unless youre out of touch.
sonic85 wrote: » I don't really know what you're trying to say here to be honest. If you turned on Sky Sports and seen sports you'd be pissed off? You don't like MMA I presume which is grand but it's a sport. You can't say the same for a lad playing Fifa 2019 or NBA 2k. I have nothing against computer games. I used to play them quite a lot myself - I just don't think a dedicated sports channel is the place for them
FrankieFeeler wrote: » They are not real as sports because the sport that is being contested in an e-sport is not happening just a simulation of the sport based on a computer program that has been designed by somebody. In madden e-sport competition a football is not being thrown, players are not catching the ball, there is no running or tackling.In a real game of a american football all of those things happen. 99% of the work in an e-sport is done by the person who has designed the game if the game is designed badly nothing happens. 100% of the work in a real sport is being done by the person playing it. Nobody apart from Lionel Messi causes him to pass a ball accurately for an accurate pass to be executed in the FIFA computer game a programmer must design a program properly so that when a button is pressed what is supposed to happen will happen. Technically this conversation isn't 100% real as once again it depends on a computer program to be programmed correctly. What if when I input the letter A the program for boards is designed badly and so the output is B on the other side.Everything I type here depends on the program for boards to work properly, everything I say in reality is 100% based on me .
Game Changer wrote: » You're comparing playing a guitar with taping buttons on a piece of plastic? You realise that's like comparing masturbation with making love to a beautiful woman, right?
cdeb wrote: » Yeah, MMA is bollox. That's another thread of course, and I'm not going to try persuade you otherwise if you like it. Is it a sport? Yeah, it is (though I hate to really call it a sport as most sports tend not to be utterly illegal if played by kids on the green in a housing estate) But my point is that people like different things - I don't like most of the sports you mentioned, so I would be annoyed if I turned on the TV and that's all that was on. Snooker, a League of Ireland game, a bit of hurling - great. But others would be annoyed if those were on of course. I do find the idea that people would want to watch other people playing computer games weird - partly because I don't think FIFA is even that realistic, so it pales compared to watching an actual football game - but if there's money there, then I can understand sports TV stations showing eSports. If you don't want to watch, there's 752 other channels to choose from - or you could go for a walk, read a book or even play some sport. I'm not sure anyone is claiming they're actual sports, and I certainly wouldn't be giving government funding to them in the way regular sports are financed.
cdeb wrote: » But why should paying for a channel give you carte blanche to decide what's on it? I don't like MMA (and let's use this as a general example). If I pay for a Sky Sports sub and there's MMA on, that doesn't give me the right to give out. You just watch something else. I get that you don't consider eSports an actual sport, and I tend to agree, but then there's poker on Sky as well. Is that a sport? I don't think so (though I'm aware I defended chess as a sport earlier in the thread, so I may be contradicting myself here). But that doesn't mean I'm entitled to complain that my money is being wasted because there's poker on the sports channel I pay for. It's just horses for courses.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » who would actually sit down and watch two fat lads play computer games? Am I missing something? At least Liverpool were hammering Manchester United in the final, so there's that I suppose.
Cookie_Monster wrote: » To those who dismiss esports, what think ye of drone racing? It or course contains some real world physical drones and courses but at the same time you basically use a joy pad and vr headset. No fitness required, just a lot of skill. Does it qualify enough to be a real sport?
Nixonbot wrote: » Is motorsport sport? The driver presses the accelerator, which tells a computer to make the car go faster...
Deleted User wrote: » If all commercial "sports" could be sent to some sports radio and sports tv gulag and stop cannibalising mainstream news - the 10 minutes "sports" bulletins on Morning Ireland at 7:30am being a case in point - radio would be infinitely more tolerable. TV is a lost cause in its entirety, in large part because the "sport" business has been imposing its business agenda on the rest of us for decades now under the guise of being some sort of community spiritual endeavour rather than the big money and big gambling racket which it is in its entirety. And this lark of sneering at a follower of some other commercial "sport" for not being a serious "sports" fan. Jesus, my head.
FrankieFeeler wrote: » E-Sports are simulations of potential real life events. When you drive a car you are actually driving a car.One of the main aspects of motor racing is having the bravery to drive a car that fast, you don't need any of that to do the e-sport version of it. My issue with e-sports is they are simulations of real things and not actually the real thing. To be honest the point I was making is really not that difficult to understand.
Nixonbot wrote: » You're driving a computer that drives the car.
FrankieFeeler wrote: » The car is moving from point A to Point B. On a computer game nothing moves from one point to another which is the entire purpose of driving a car.