Tacklebox wrote: » I seriously don't give a toss about multiculturalism, race, populism, alt-right, left.. liberalism, Fach ism, loony left... Alcoholism, socialism...transgender ism I S M I self me Im far too busy collecting sea weed and listening to the waves crashing against the shore, choking herrings, surfing and cleaning engines than to be worrying about society and all that bollix ology What good does it do to be discussing all that sociology it rots the mind....
sk8erboii wrote: » Reactionary types beware: Multiculturalism is defined as the spread of people and ideas.
sk8erboii wrote: » Mate thats literally what multiculturalism means.
Multiculturalism is a situation in which all the different cultural or racial groups in a society have equal rights and opportunities, and none is ignored or regarded as unimportant.
: cultural pluralism or diversity (as within a society, an organization, or an educational institution) : a multicultural social state or a doctrine or policy that promotes or advocates such a state
Auntie Semite wrote: » Some would say a 'Booming Multinational economy' means ever increasing rents, ever increasing house prices and ever increasing population density. lower trust in society and communities, lower wages and a lower standard of living.
Edenmoar wrote: » There seems to be a cohort of people in Ireland, or at least a cohort of Journal commenters, that are absolutely dying for some kind of Muslim inspired terrorist attack to happen in Ireland, so they can get the pitchforks ready and say I told you so. The world is changing and globalisation means all sorts are going to live in Ireland. We can't have our cake and eat it, if we want at a booming multinational based economy we'll need low skilled workers from all over the world. Deal with it, life is too short to get your knickers in a twist over these things.
ThomasFlynn wrote: » Like it or not, Ireland will become a white minority eventually, as will many countries in western europe.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » Not going to happen for centuries if ever. Most Muslim countries have alcohol for minorities. However of course societies will charge. A lot of people assume that if you add culture B to culture A you get culture A again. That or they use the idea of multi culturalism to promote secularism in hospitals etc. Which isn’t the same thing. What’s likely to happen is that parts of society will have different morals, customs and conventions (and maybe laws) to the rest of us. Happening already. In Britain (in Birmingham) Muslim parents are protesting LGBT inclusive education. As is their right. I wonder what the op thinks.https://twitter.com/tomhfh/status/1103718078980997121
Lefty Bicek wrote: » Depends on what you mean here by 'Asian'.
Sweetemotion wrote: » It just baffles me, how anyone can look at what is happening in other European countries since Merkle opened the borders and think. Sure it's grand.
Gentleman Off The Pitch wrote: » I just cannot wait for us to be the same as everywhere else, how special that will be
Wibbs wrote: » *the outlier here are Asian folks. They are clearly "different" to White Europeans, but you rarely see their dissatisfied young men kicking off and ending up in the news. Indeed on average they tend to track higher in success than the indigenous population. Almost certainly down to a deep cultural influence.
Sand wrote: » You say that but no European politician dares hold a referendum on mass migration. Because as recently as 2017 55% of Europeans surveyed in 10 countries wanted a total ban on Muslim immigration. Indigenous peoples can obviously have a far more negative view on the matter to the migrants who are arriving. Your talk of 'net positives' is obviously wrong, but its also deceptive. The costs of mass migration are borne by the indigenous people, with the benefits accruing to the migrants.
Jmsg wrote: » Perhaps when alcohol is banned under sharia only then will the Irish lift their head up from under the sand and give a damn.
Norm Peterson wrote: » Multi culturalism would mean countries were distinct and different from each other and going to another country would be a somewhat unique experience. What the opening post seems to want is homogenization which is a horrible thing that unfortunately will be difficult to stop. if I want to experience East Asian culture I'll go to East Asia, if I want to experience Middle Eastern Culture I'll go to the middle east etc.etc. A small amount of multiculturalism is OK, too much of it would be a terrible thing.
kildare lad wrote: » ye it worked out well in tyrellstown and balbriggan, id a uncle that lived in birmingham since the late 60's . We went over to visit him 15 years ago and to say it was a culture shock was an understatement. Mosques, women wearing bin liners, all the blokes looking like taliban, He was the only white person left on his road ,all the rest were muslim, He was just waiting to get his pension so he could move back to Ireland. He said it was a lovely area when he first got there but as more and more starting moving into the area , the natives starting moving out. Thats not muticulturalism , its an invasion
OneEightSeven wrote: » Yes, Pakistani men grooming and raping underage girls is just fine an dandy. The Internet, you mean the place where people can freely express their thoughts and not have to worry about being vilified, fired or even violently assaulted just for stating the truth? Life is too short to worry about your daughters or working-class girls being groomed and raped by Muslims in your hometown? "Ah, sure, my daughter is being plied with drugs and alcohol with the intent of grooming her for sexual proposes, but I'll be dead in a few decades so be grand like."
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » I think multiculturalism is grand.
I think most people are fairly ok with it, tbh. Away from the internet, most people are ok, full-stop. The internet seems to attract a lot of angry lads who are full of misery and don't see anything positive anywhere.
Life's too short to obsess over stuff like this.
sk8erboii wrote: » Reactionary types beware: Multiculturalism is defined as the spread of people and ideas. I know you're already thinking about white genocide, catholic oppression and that liberal arts girl that rejected you for being rough around the edges. But hear me out, because im about to tell you why multiculturalism is good. The one reason: It's the default state of humanity. You ever wonder why those forgotten tribes like in the sentinel islands is rare and in many ways primitive? Because they are not like us. The rest of the world has managed to collectively cooperate. One guy comes up with a great idea and someone else from another country copies it and improves it. Thats multiculturalism. I made this thread as a response to the obvious xenophobic hatemongering in other posts. Like some scumbag throwing acid to a child's face, somehow implicates every immigrant and they should be put under a proverbial spotlight. Its tenuous logic at any point of view. Right now I want you to imagine if Ireland became your insular and backwards utopia. Forget about the Wakanda syndrome (That if a nation somehow closes its borders and focuses on itself it will become advanced) and look at case studies. The empire Japan is the poster boy for the self-serving xenophobic nation state. And it was 200 years behind until it stopped the blockade then it entered modernity. If Ireland had no multiculturalism (which includes the Catholic church) it would literally be a depressing backwater even moreso than it was for hundreds of years. Everything you ever owned, knew and f*cked is influenced by foreign people. That doesn't mean genocide, asmuch as self-victimizing citizens in the top 10 quality of life in the world would have you think. It simply means acknowledging that Ireland and multiculturalism are deeply intertwined, even back to the building of 'native' structures (which were built by people that came from spain, scandinavia and france). Ireland's golden days when it was all 'native' never existed. In fact, those days were among the most depressing and oppressive in history that the population never recovered. Blighted by a food that came from Peru.
GinAndBitter wrote: » Birth rates are up here as far as I know.