Sami23 wrote: » Do both lambs need to out of sight from the Ewe for adoption crates to work ?
wrangler wrote: » It's in a good few lamb finisher rations already
Sami23 wrote: » Great post. What type of cold milk do you give
Dickie10 wrote: » i have a lamb gone off drinking the ewe he was part of a triplet i pulled him off last night , his belly seems bloated he was not cold but left him under the lamp all day, gave him 100 ml of milk in a tube last night and thought he woud be mad for milk today but barely got 250 ml into him all day seems bloated still , gave him a shot of betamox an hour ago any ideas what it is ? hes very lethargic and just wants to lie down , hes not bawling or anything
Dickie10 wrote: » jaysus i gave warm soapy water down the neck! what do u mean by oxegyn?
DJ98 wrote: » Some of the ewes in the shed are gone very lame, scalds and an odd case of footrot, footbathing doesn't seem to be helping, they are due to lamb from March 1st on, could they be injected with alymicin or would this do harm to the lambs?
FarmerDougal wrote: » What you footbathing with? I use 10:1 bluestone mix with a bit of formalin, leave them stand for a minute, works well
Green farmer wrote: » Have some paddocks put aside since November. Nice cover of grass. Would I be mad letting ewes in now and fertilizing after grazing or would ye keep them locked out. Not lambing until last week of March onwards ?
roosky wrote: » Lads will ye settle a bit, I really hope I'm wrong but we might not be out of the woods yet....the talk of graze now and graze again in early April and 30% grazed by end of Feb is all grand until ye think back to last year when the beast from the east didnt hit until March See the images below:https://www.thejournal.ie/photos-of-snow-ireland-3881088-Mar2018/
charolais0153 wrote: » Should we also pump meal into lambs in may because there will be a lack of grass in june and july. Grazed grass is by far the cheapest feed available and isnt it the Same thing to feed in april if you have to rather than definitely feed now because your "saving" the grass. Grass cant grow if you dont eat it
Green farmer wrote: » I don’t know lads, flip a coin. The weather is all over the place , totally unpredictable Edit, Actually I’m going to see if I can tighten them up further and fertilise a paddock or two and see what growth is coming. If it’s shooting up, might then leave ewes in to others, on a limited basis.
charolais0153 wrote: » What county are you in?
Green farmer wrote: » I don’t know lads, flip a coin. The weather is all over the place , totally unpredictable, but luckily on the right side of that unpredictablility. Edit, Actually I’m going to see if I can tighten them up further and fertilise a paddock or two and see what growth is coming. If it’s shooting up, might then leave ewes in to others, on a limited basis.