Missyelliot2 wrote: » HI all... am looking for a restaurant for a party of 4, just a chill-out place - somewhere that has really good food - 'Les Gourmandises', was suggested, - but I find it so stuffy there. There will be 4 of us, like food (one's a chef), atmosphere and a pint! Thank you!
rob316 wrote: » you could rename the thread to the "market lane recommendation thread"
Markcheese wrote: » Market Lane or spit Jack, (I'd probably jump for market lane), anyone recently tried liberty grill in the evening...?
rob316 wrote: » Liberty Grill is possibly the most overrated restaurant around. I'd cook better at home
Outkast_IRE wrote: » Grabbed a pizza at Oak Fired Pizza on Saturday after the match, have to say the base is perfect and the ingredients really good. Really enjoyed it.
the beer revolu wrote: » Oh, you're right. I've completely changed my attitude and will enter the next restaurant I see with no menu. Or Would you for the love of Jaysus let it go. Lots of people here have a problem with restaurants not displaying menus. You obviously don't have a problem with this. Get over it!
sporina wrote: » if wanting to know prices was your only issue, why didn't you just pop in and grab a menu?
sporina wrote: » if the menu is not on display i have no problem with going in, asking for it and having a look - whether i plan to eat at that time or not.. whats the problem with doing so? they are only restaurant staff - its not a crime and if they give you attitude then so be it - have some confidence - get the info you need.. there are much more important things to worry about.. i am not being smart but it seems be me that some folk here feel insecure by asking to look at a menu if it is not displayed.. there is nothing to be scared of in doing so
sporina wrote: » so ye won't spend 1 min to ask to look at the menu yet, even though ye have an interest in eating there,,, yet ye will come on line and moan about such for much longer than a min.. emmm.. sounds dubious to me.. man up and just ask for a fecking menu.. 30 secs sconce - done
sporina wrote: » but you are willing to spend the energy to come on here an post about it,.. emm... sure what ever your comfortable with
sporina wrote: » maybe you need to let the "problem" go
D'Agger wrote: » Went to Farmgate, Midleton on Friday night with the lady and had a really great meal. Fillet steak with jameson & mushroom sauce - possibly the best sauce I've ever had with steak. Bread and butter pudding for desert was tops too. Lovely atmosphere, staff were friendly too and will definitely be going back.
the beer revolu wrote: » Yes. #dogwithafeckinbone I'm not responding to any more of your persistent attempts to change the behaviour of people online. It must be getting extremely tedious for others too, not to mention being completely off topic. Despite it not being a case of anyone being right or wrong, I will, for the sake of all readers concede that you are, in fact, right and I, and possibly others, are afraid of restaurant staff and I need to man up. I really am done on the matter.
sporina wrote: » yep
limnam wrote: » Cop on and grow up.
SusieBlue wrote: » I know I don’t post here much but it’s one of my favourite threads on Boards & I read it religiously but ye are spoiling it with this pettiness, can ye not just put each other on ignore or something?
sporina wrote: » yes moving on.. just read that The Sextant is closing, but it will open at a new location..
nerwen wrote: » Went to Cornstore the other day. The food and service was great, but my pet peeve was activated. Got there at about 18:30 and they gave us the early bird menu that stated last orders at 18:30. When I tried to order, they didn't have 3/6 mains on it, including the burger, steak and pasta. Left to chose between was a thai curry, pork belly, and I believe a fish dish. Generally this wouldn't bug me, but they didn't mention anything about it beforehand, only said "oh we're out of this" when I tried to order each dish. Just tell me beforehand! Ended up having the pork belly, which was delicious, with garlic mash and a bacon jus type thing. The service was great and attentive, one of my companions had a nosebleed and was as discrete as you can be about bleeding from your face, yet the maitre d discretely popped over with some napkins, and "our" waiter stopped by to ask if he could help in any way.
Italix wrote: » I had myself another bacon sandwich in cafe Eden @ Dwyer's, I've some fat belly. Honestly irresistible. Need to stop.
cadaliac wrote: » I went in here a few weeks ago for lunch on a Saturday. Menu was ok, but I didn't think it was good value for what we got. It was nice, I couldn't fault any of it. It was just OK though. I have to check with herself and see what we had, I can't remember (says it all really) €9 a glass of wine is too expansive for there too imo.
cadaliac wrote: » €9 a glass of wine is too expansive for there too imo.
who_me wrote: » Heya... I'm sure it's been mentioned somewhere in the last 500+ pages, but has anyone eaten in the Dockland cafe (Lapp's Quay, next to Tequila Jacks). Looks great, but haven't seen the menu; the website seems to be down.
the beer revolu wrote: » Was that the cheapest glass of wine available? If so, I'd agree that they should offer cheaper options. Without saying what the wine is, you can't really say that €9 is too expensive. Was it no good?
Markcheese wrote: » If you asked for a glass of lager, and what came out was 9 euros, you wouldn't be ordering beer often...