Stovepipe wrote: » you have clearly never encountered actual "terrible and corrupt" police; no shortage of places in Europe and further afield where interaction with police, even by ordinary citizens, is regarded as an excuse for a bribe/ on the spot "fines"/ illegal impounding of cars or personal property, as a matter of routine. Why dont you ask a Garda to explain why prosecuting so-called children is so difficult in Ireland. You'll get an education.
Peter Flynt wrote: » It's training to do their job FFS. . . . not an academic diploma, even if they call it that.
Captain Obvious wrote: » Isn't that also the case for nurses and teachers?
Peter Flynt wrote: » In December my mother had her purse stolen by a dodgy tradesman who entered her home. €350 was stolen. This was reported to AGS twice with the phone number of the person who stole it. Statements were provided. They did nothing. Last week I was flagged down by a member of AGS driving in a cycle lane. He claimed he saw me with my mobile in my hand. I denied that I had. He asked to see my drivers licence and proceeded to prosecute. 3 penalty points and a €65 fine. That's the police force we have. Nothing more than a revenue raising arm of the state. The fact that their Twitter name is @GardaTraffic pretty much says it all.
Harry Palmr wrote: » What do the Guards do all day?
yoke wrote: » They might be paid to investigate, but they are still human. Do you not think they’d get demoralised if the fruits of their work are thrown out the window back at them all the time, in the form of the judicial system not following up with any real punishment? Doesn’t have to be prison - could be something as simple as a dole reduction or putting them at the bottom of the housing list until reparations are paid to the victim. After all, one of the main reasons for having a generous welfare system (which I fully support) is to ensure that no one has to turn to a life of crime... that’s obviously not worked for someone with 100 convictions
Peter Flynt wrote: » Teachers are qualified in all sorts of disciplines with science, business, maths degrees and others. I'm not quite sure what the situation is with nursing but my understanding is that they require a qualification to degree level such has been the changing role and demands that have evolved and have been placed on nurses over the past 20 years. I have the height of respect for the job that Gardai do but there needs to be some realism.
opfleet wrote: » Just because the offender wasn't identified does not mean "they did nothing"..A high rate of crimes like this go unsolved because there is no cctv, fingerprints, etc. A phone number is worth feck all. Very few avenues to investigate in these kind of situations. As for the traffic offence that you got nailed for, what has that got to do with anything? You admitted to driving in a cycle lane which is illegal. There is a huge sense of entitlement in this country that people feel they can drive without insurance, tax or park on a footpath instead of walking for 5 minutes. They would not have "revenue" to collect if people just obeyed the law. While these may seem like a bit of an insult, people become victims because of their own carelessness. I would not invite a tradesman into my house who was not locally known.
Lizbeth Yummy Vet wrote: » Eat donuts all day ...or so I've heard. May or may not be true!
The Tetrarch wrote: » I called into a motorway services on Tuesday, a Garda car and a Garda van parked outside. Perhaps there were loads of people driving off without paying for fuel.
tomoliver wrote: » How do the numbers compare internationally?
Irish Times wrote: The report, published by Eurostat on Friday, shows the State employs 278 gardaí per 100,000 citizens, which is 40 less than the EU average.
Letters of apology to some 3,480 individual and business victims are to be sent out by gardaí
randd1 wrote: » Why anyone would be a Guard is beyond me.
Snow Garden wrote: » According to the article... Garda Commissioner Drew Harris said the work of 3,400 gardaí is being examined by chief superintendents to see whether or not disciplinary measures are required, adding that most of the cases are concentrated in very busy divisions. The figure represents over 25% of the force!
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » Amazing how terrible and corrupt the gardai in this country are.
gctest50 wrote: » She was stopped after performing an illegal right turn and smelled of whiskey : Independent TD Clare Daly has said she had a “hot whiskey” before being stopped by gardaí on suspicion of drink-driving after she performed an illegal turn on a road in Dublin last night.
there does appear to be sufficient evidence to state, on the balance of probabilities, that some of the detail relating to Deputy Daly’s
According to PULSE records, there were 36 separate transactions on the incident from 24 different people between around 2am and the first call to the Garda Press Office. Daly’s personal ID within the system was also accessed seven times during the time frame, by seven different members. Four were from Kilmainham garda station, one was from Pearse Street and two others were from Coolock and Newbridge stations.
As part of the investigation, a Twitter account linked to the detective was found to have sent tweets to Clare Daly alluding to the incident. “How big was the hot whiskey?” one asked. “Boiling a bottle of Jameson & swallowing it doesn’t count as 1″. The garda said he could not recall sending these tweets to the TD and denied leaking any information.
I was breathalysed but the equipment didn’t register a reading. I was arrested and handcuffed on the side of the road. I objected to being handcuffed and stated that I would willingly go to the Garda station. I was told by the arresting Garda that this was ‘procedure’. I was brought in a patrol car to the Kilmainham Garda Station – within 300 metres distance. At one point I was placed in a cell on my own. A doctor was called and I provided a urine sample. When I was released a female Garda told me to ‘come back when you are sober’.
She was also asked by the then Fine Gael frontbench spokesman: "Don't you know who I am?" New evidence has emerged that apparently shows Mr Shatter, contrary to his claim, did not say he was asthmatic and was therefore unable to complete the breath test. Information made available to the Irish Independent about the incident about five years ago appears to contradict Mr Shatter's version of events. Informed sources familiar with the case say that the now Justice Minister: * Said nothing about being asthmatic, preventing him completing the test. * Intimated to the garda that it was unconstitutional to stop him as he was coming from the Dail and said: "Check your law book." * Appeared not to make a sufficient effort to complete the breath test. * Drove off without being waved on by the officer.
punisher5112 wrote: » They should all be held to account and corrupt police (gardaí) should be stamped out 1st of all. Serious crimes should have minimum sentences and no other way about it. New super prison needed badly.
Peter Flynt wrote: » Last week I was flagged down by a member of AGS driving in a cycle lane. He claimed he saw me with my mobile in my hand. I denied that I had. He asked to see my drivers licence and proceeded to prosecute. 3 penalty points and a €65 fine.
TheRepentent wrote: » So the state proved beyond a reasonable doubt that you did have the phone in your hand ?
Peter Flynt wrote: » They are among the best paid public servants in the country relative to their qualifications which, for the majority, does not extend beyond the Leaving Cert. New gardai are better paid than teachers, nurses, junior doctors. . . . There is a reason for this - the politicians see them as protecting the state and so look after them accordingly.
leestone wrote: » It’s a level 7 degree from UL when the two year training is complete and most new entrants have a third level qualification before they join.