Padraig Mor wrote: » As TMH says, a single data point like that is absolutely worthless, especially in the absence of full information about the role, person, etc. The fact that so many people here have such a poor grasp on very basic statistics is frankly alarming - you don't get to dismiss evidence just because you don't like it! A number of posters here have invoked conspiracy theories re the govt, Indo, etc re the actual figures - do they think the Commission and HSE are lying? If the published figures are incorrect, please let us know how much nurses earn on average? Bear in mind that a considerable number of staff nurses will be at the top of the scale - takes 15 years to get there, so you would expect any nurse aged approx 37 or older to be at the top, and that's before location / qualification allowances, premium payments etc.
mariaalice wrote: » How come a single date point is worthless but talking about average salary i is not? when looking at the issue?
Shefwedfan wrote: » She will be sitting at home with feet up and part of Simon Harris's "staff" like all the rest of the government officials. On higher wages than she ever earned working as a nurse. But we can't talk about the government officials and there staff or expenses. Better to dirty the name of nurses.
Twenty Grand wrote: » The health service is an absolute shambles. Successive governments have failed to solve it. A strike is neededEssential surgeries will continue, elective surgery will be postponed. My neighbour recently had a hip replacement after three years of waiting in sheer agony. Essential or elective? A strike is never ever "needed" and the only ones who suffer are the sick and suffering, US! Any nurse who strikes should be sacked. Period. Without pay. But then what do we matter? shameful nurses.
Tell me how wrote: » Seriously? Do you know what average means?
Graces7 wrote: » Twenty Grand wrote: » The health service is an absolute shambles. Successive governments have failed to solve it. A strike is neededEssential surgeries will continue, elective surgery will be postponed. My neighbour recently had a hip replacement after three years of waiting in sheer agony. Essential or elective?A strike is never ever "needed" and the only ones who suffer are the sick and suffering, US! Any nurse who strikes should be sacked. Period. Without pay. But then what do we matter? shameful nurses. Graces7, I think you are in the minority here. And that is not to say that everyone thinks they should get a rise. I think an across the board payrise is not appropriate but I think the system of unions representing a group and having a vote to decide whether or not to strike is effective democracy. I disagree with the outcome this time but I support the system for the most part. Your castigating them is ignoring the fact that they are suggesting that they need to strike so as to get more money so as to attract more staff so as to provide better service so as to reduce waiting times.
Twenty Grand wrote: » The health service is an absolute shambles. Successive governments have failed to solve it. A strike is neededEssential surgeries will continue, elective surgery will be postponed. My neighbour recently had a hip replacement after three years of waiting in sheer agony. Essential or elective?A strike is never ever "needed" and the only ones who suffer are the sick and suffering, US! Any nurse who strikes should be sacked. Period. Without pay. But then what do we matter? shameful nurses.
mariaalice wrote: » Yes of course I do but my point is how is it advancing the argument to say a single point of information is useless yet talking about averages is not, the average information has been rumbled anyway.Its illuminating that a lot of the public are wise to the averaging of salaries as a spin, at a guess its to do with the better education level of the public in todays society. Both pieces of information as are as useless as each other in making a decision.
Tell me how wrote: » Are they? I don't see it that way. I have been trying to see evidence that the average is incorrect but all I see is people saying ignore it and think of those on the lesser value. You can't do that unless you admit that it is ok to have inefficiencies in higher wages which skew the average so much.
Graces7 wrote: » Twenty Grand wrote: » The health service is an absolute shambles. Successive governments have failed to solve it. A strike is neededEssential surgeries will continue, elective surgery will be postponed. My neighbour recently had a hip replacement after three years of waiting in sheer agony. Essential or elective? A strike is never ever "needed" and the only ones who suffer are the sick and suffering, US! Any nurse who strikes should be sacked. Period. Without pay. But then what do we matter? shameful nurses. A sheer bitter post ! An uneducated one too !! You’ll be of an age where you’ll be needing nurses and hospital care not too far in the future ! Let’s hope the strikes are over for when that happens. I don’t think anyone in the country wants to see this happening but , as they say, we are where we are ! Btw, when the guards threatened strike action were you as quick to say that they should be sacked ?
Tell me how wrote: » You're not doing nurses any favour with your argumentative approach. It's as bad as those saying "nurses do nothing and should take a pay cut" except on the other side. The above is false by the way.
Padraig Mor wrote: » To save you making the obvious point, hospital doctors - who are in contact with far more sick people than nurses - take sick leave at a fraction of the rate of nurses.
Kerry25x wrote: » Hilarious. I wonder if you've ever spent much time in a hospital? Nurses are the ones cleaning patients vomit, helping them go to the toilet, feeding them, washing them, suctioning their sputum, holding their hands when their upset or confused. If they're assigned to an isolation room full of patients with the flu or other airbourne diseases then they spend most of their day in that room. Do you honestly believe that doctors are more exposed? Seems obvious to me that nurses would take more sick leave.
Shefwedfan wrote: » You are very wrong, but please tell me source of your information?
mariaalice wrote: How come a single date point is worthless but talking about average salary i is not? when looking at the issue?
mariaalice wrote: the average information has been rumbled anyway.
Kerry25x wrote: Hilarious. I wonder if you've ever spent much time in a hospital?
Do you honestly believe that doctors are more exposed? Seems obvious to me that nurses would take more sick leave.
Padraig Mor wrote: » Well......yes. Doctors are exposed to far more patients than nurses. I would have that was obvious but hey.... Anyway, seems we're going around in circles here so I reckon I'll bow out now....
riclad wrote: » I do,nt think they,ll get a pay rise based on the fact if they get a pay rise other civil servants ,teachers ect will expect a pay rise . Public servants salarys are all connected . Of course who know,s what happens if they go on strike , hospitals cannot function without nurse,s . Peoples lives would be put at risk . nurses have to pay 15 euro per day for a parking space . If the dublin bus drivers stop working for 2 weeks it would be inconvenient but it does not put peoples lives at risk . Nursing in a public hospital is a tough job . They also have to complete a college degree to be qualified as a nurse.
hawkelady wrote: » I see the meeting yesterday between government officials and unions reps ended without any agreements at all
Twenty Grand wrote: » They're the ones dealing with prisoners, drunks, drug addicts, and the mentally unwell and your run of the mill perverts.
hmmm wrote: » So do a lot of workers. How will more pay fix this? The public aren't stupid, they see this as yet another public sector shakedown. The union leaders have taken a very naive approach in simply asking for more pay, because it's not something the government can give them as it will lead to a wave of knock-on pay demands in the public service.
Twenty Grand wrote: » No one wants the jobs, long hours, crap pay and no thanks.
Twenty Grand wrote: » Name one other non medical profession that has to deal with all these people. I'll wait. And as I've been saying for AGES now, nurses are understaffed. No one wants the jobs, long hours, crap pay and no thanks. How do you propose solving this?
hmmm wrote: » That's simply not true, no matter how many times you repeat it. 6% annual turnover. There's endless amounts of thanks. There isn't endless amounts of money we can pay to the public sector.
Tell me how wrote: » Prison Officers, Gardai....
wrangler wrote: » Is it not 38 hr weeks, 4-6 weeks holidays, Pay going up to 50000 and your pension is way over what the private sector gets for the same contributions. What's not to like Never mind working hard.....we all have to do that I could work 38hr weeks wut sure what would I do after wednesday