Ardent wrote: » So is it just him, or are they targeting all black wealthy footballers in the same way?
Raisins wrote: » There’s no wealthier more high profile black English player in the game. Neville was on sky tonight saying the racist abuse sterling got was blatant and that he tried to help him deal with it when he was an assistant. He said it was above Gaza’s and Beckham and that he’ll never get the acclaim they got because he’s black. Maybe you know better than sterling himself and people working within the game who say they see it first hand. I’m not gonna post about it again it’s an unprovable point.
Ardent wrote: » If it's clear as day, please explain how those articles are racist?
Je_suis_Jean wrote: » In the land of the blind the one eyed man is king!! Two workmates get a decent bonus. First guy who is a born and bred Anglo Saxon Londoner goes out celebrating in Chelsea and splashes a load of cash drinking, gambling and womanising. Newspaper headline is "Hard working Johnny and his mates paint the town red after landing a well earned bonus." Second guy who is a born and bred Irishman from Cavan (or Kerry, Dublin, Louth etc) goes out celebrating in Chelsea and splashes the exact same load of cash drinking, gambling and womanising. Newspaper headline is "Drunken Irishman photographed leaving casino at 4am after a booze filled night of debauchery." Sterling is pointing out similarly (possibly subconscious) stereotypical reporting of an almost identical story about two young footballers buying expensive houses for their mothers by journalists and they don't like being called out on it. I say fair play to him.
Osmosis Jones wrote: »
gimli2112 wrote: » Matip played well on Saturday by all accounts. It's difficult to justify changing CBs with one who has been out a few weeks. If he starts Mingolet, Clyne and Moreno we'll know the league is the priority.
TitianGerm wrote: » Anyone see the MNF combined 11 for the game next Sunday. The lads included two United players who can't even get in their own team never mind a combined one. Anyway it was De Gea TAA, Bailey, VVD, Robertson Kieta, Matic, Pogba Salah, Bobby, Mane I don't want to say they are wrong but no way De Gea, Bailey, Matic or Pogba deserve to be in that team based on performances this season.
facehugger99 wrote: » It was Wijnaldum in midfield instead of Matic and Martial instead of Mane, no?
garra wrote: » ............... We will have Hendo. We need Keita. Will it be Milner, or Fabinho, or Shaqiri for the goal? For the first time we can do what the f*ck we want with our setup in midfield, with the 3 hooligans up top.
facehugger99 wrote: » The wider debate around the Sterling incident had me thinking over the last couple of days. I've brought both my young kids to a couple of Liverpool matches over the last few years. Once was in the dedicated family section and once was in the Anfield Road stand. I've gone a good few times on my own too. Never witnessed any behaviour I thought was unacceptable. Obviously there was some fruity language in the air but noting you wouldn't hear in a gym changing room. I don't doubt there are some Liverpool fans that are racist morons - every club no doubt harbours a few Neanderthals, but I've never witnessed it personally. I've heard people say they would never bring their kids to a football match because of the hate and vitriol on display - what do others feel? - is it an issue at Anfield?
Ardent wrote: » Gonna be a tough mother****ing game tonight. Napoli will park the bus. Have to start Keita IMO. A midfield 3 of Fab, Keita and one of either Milner or Gini. Would love see Shaqiri start in midfield but that's probably leaving us too open to the counter.
dogbert27 wrote: » I don't know is Ancelloti a park the bus kind of manager. For them the best form of defence is attack. Parking the bus means we have to be lucky with one shot. If they score first we have to score 3 and they have control of the game.