AGC wrote: » I think it’s fair to say everyone would like to see him punished for the disgraceful way he acted but what could be done?
Sycamore Tree wrote: » I reckon if Callinan does not go to jail for his campaign of calumny then Ireland will continue to endure a corrupt police force with little or no accountability.
smurgen wrote: » Lots of questions need answering in my opinion.just a small one and one of the lesser ones to cross my mind was what happened to the driver that had points quashed 7 times?the dude doing 190km/h in a 100km/h zone.surely in the interest of public safety this person needs to be off the road?
FixdePitchmark wrote: » Yes Mick Clifford was unreal. Fair play to him.
davidmarsh wrote: » TallGlass wrote: » In fairness the first time I heard it on the radio, the impression was it was a letter, 1 or 2 pages, not 110 pages. Sure a document of that size would need to be reviewed and given the go ahead to go out. The only letter I ever got got around that size was a mobile phone bill with my calls and texts logged even then it was about 30/40 pages. Sorry I don't buy it was a mistake. Nobody buys it. I reckon it will become the focal point of peoples frustration in the coming days. It's off the wall.
TallGlass wrote: » In fairness the first time I heard it on the radio, the impression was it was a letter, 1 or 2 pages, not 110 pages. Sure a document of that size would need to be reviewed and given the go ahead to go out. The only letter I ever got got around that size was a mobile phone bill with my calls and texts logged even then it was about 30/40 pages. Sorry I don't buy it was a mistake.
An Ri rua wrote: » Disgusting is Callinan. Disgusting is Taylor. Disgusting is Tusla.
davidmarsh wrote: » He was happy enough to call bullshjt on Callinan's lies.
brooke 2 wrote: » Lorraine McCabe comes across as an incredibly strong woman, who succeeded in keeping the show on the road, when all must have appeared to have been collapsing around her. I felt so sad for her when she was recalling the occasion Maurice pointed out to her the tree on which he had wanted to hang himself. My God, what that family has had to endure.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » To be fair, Charleton isn't in a position to say "well I'm calling bullsh*t on that" re Tusla. There probably was enough doubt created that it may have been a terrible mistake. He didn't necessarily enjoy the freedom to say what most people think about the 'error'.
Harry Palmr wrote: » Any Gardai on this thread by any chance?
davidmarsh wrote: » Same thought crossed my mind - Charleton vindicating McCabe "just enough" to end the thing. What did he say about Tusla.. an extraordinary sequence of errors the likes of which the state has never seen? There's an awful lot that continues to be covered up.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Massive respect for Maurice McCabe and his wife. To fight so hard to clear his name...to fight when fading away was easier...to fight against people in positions like Commissioner of AGS when it seemed like the whole organisation was against him...to go through hell and fight out. The country needs a lot more Maurice McCabes. And his wife, who appears to have been a rock beside him....may they enjoy the rest of their lives and put this behind him.
An Ri rua wrote: » So well summarised. And yet the view they're pedalling now is that Shatter is in the clear. As is Noreen O'Sullivan. Yeah right. Even Charleton, in allowing for the unlikely Tusla errors, is as guilty as Callinan in oppressing McCabe and, by extension, the Irish people. The tribunal found enough to satisfy McCabe while ensuring that damage limitation was the priority, particularly regarding Tusla. The dogs on the street know that what you say above is true. If it we're not for troublesome mainstream TDs like John McGuinness and John Deasy, and obviously Clare Daly, Mick Wallace, Ming etc, we would have a very sorry state of affairs. If the majority of the Dail fell into a pool and never surfaced again, it would be no harm at all.
STB. wrote: » Without REAL journalists like Mick Clifford and Katie Hannon who were not afraid to continuously report what was happening to McCabe, the public may never have known the extent of the police state we are actually living in. Too many supposed journalists allowing Garda HQ to write their stories including those who had supposed pauline conversions.
melon_collie wrote: » Maurice is nothing short of a national hero. I hope that Drew Harris will take this opportunity to root out the rotten core of AGS. And finally, I hope that that scumbag Callanan is sued for every penny he has. What a disgrace of a human being.
davidmarsh wrote: » Surely Tusla need to be properly investigated. Who had access to the files? Were they contacted by Callinan or his gang? How many other files have been tampered with? Why did it take them so long to follow up if it was a genuine error*? *Not a single person believes it was an error.