Kracken wrote: » You should check out Nialll Devereux, he has PT class and open class several times a week, I have lost 12lb and gained a lot of muscle with him. His open classes are €5 a go.
aaaaaaaahhhhhh wrote: » Looking to join Cross-fit Waterford next week or so. Haven't heard many positive things about the place i.e. its overly clicky, not much equipment there, classes are only ok compared to other gyms. Anyone any experience in the place?
brian2614 wrote: » Both Cross-fit and Warriors are full of shapers and are over priced...
dzilla wrote: » Where's that now?
Kracken wrote: » He is up at the Waterford Crystal Sport Centre, have to say he gets results and runs a good plan.
aaaaaaaahhhhhh wrote: » Haven't seen any webpage or FB page. Does he have one?
Wanderer2010 wrote: » I wouldn't go near CrossFit, the owners are full of pure ego and they insist on filming everyone and everything even when people don't want to be on camera. Ive heard them tell someone to keep doing kettlebells and ignore the camera! His prices are awful as well. As mentioned, I would recommend Waterford Warriors much more laid back.
Iwouldinmesack wrote: » That would drive me mad. That's just a massive sign of disrespect and being a dickhead with an overblown ego to basically continue to film/take pictures even though they know that you are not comfortable with it.
stoofer! wrote: » I'd have to question a lot of the information on here to be honest. It may be outdated, or based on the prejudices of people who have never been near the place. I've been a member of Crossfit Waterford now for a couple of years and have had nothing but a really positive experience of the place. I was pretty unfit starting and and a blow-in too who knew no one. Right from the start all the coaches and other members were incredibly friendly, welcoming and encouraging. It really is the exact opposite of cliquey, with all ages and abilities, from complete beginners to competitive athletes training together and encouraging each other. The coaches are brilliant, they really know their stuff and are kind, enouraging and make sure you get the attention you need to improve your technique and make sure everything is done safely. I've nothing bad to say about Warriors, as I've never used the place, but I know that classes in CFW are a lot smaller - anything from 5-6 t0 15-20 people - so the attention you get is pretty much PT level at times. Also, you don't need to book in to classes in advance, just turn up at the time and train. The equipment is also very good, more than everything you'd need and new additions and upgrades all the time. I really don't understand the videoing stuff either. Sure, sometimes there might be a short video made of part of a class for promotion purposes. But this is pretty standard now across the industry (even Warriors have an instagram page of all their stuff), and there are absolutely no before or after pictures required. And if you really don't want to appear on any videos just let the coaches know, there is absolutely no way they'd take offence or force anything on you. I've tried lots of forms of exercise over the years but can honestly say this is the first time I've actually come to enjoy it. The classes are actually enjoyable and good craic, and that's not something I would have thought I'd have said about any form of exercise beforehand. Feck the begrudgers! Give it a try for yourself. I honestly couldn't recommend it highly enough.