Wibbs wrote: » I don't separate the two just because I'm Irish. I can well understand why many British people would be suspicious, particularly of those with Northern Irish accents. If you're seeing all too regular examples of car and pub bombs going off targeting your population and set by a subsection of a particular demographic, yes it's an overreaction, if an understandable one to assume every member of that group is a terrorist, or terrorist sympathiser. Though let's face facts here, quite the number of Irish people in the 70's, here and abroad, would have been somewhat sympathetic to the Republican cause, even if they baulked at some of the methods. That conflict in the North and overseas costs thousands of lives and affected many thousands more on the back of ideology. Again my question is and always has been, why risk importing that kind of nonsense into a country like Ireland that has been so far free of it in ways that many parts of Europe have not? The plain faction of the biggest reasons that we haven't had Brixton type riots or the 2011 riots or the tube bombing or the Manchester Arena bombing and a list of other incidences across the EU is because we have a small multicultural population. That and not being seen as directly imperial. Monocultural nations have a strong tendency to be safer and less fractious. Though I'd personally not be fan of going fully monocultural either. Multiculturalism is like a fire, at the right level it warms your house, too high and it risks being a fire hazard.
Dannyriver wrote: » No-ones dragging you anywhere, calm down will you. Re mindset that s exactly the point and you are projecting the extreme and rigid mindset of the few on the majority just like I experienced in the UK during the IRA campaigns of the 70's and 80's and that s where you are patently wrong...to do so is exactly what extremists want ... Trump/Bannon/writers like Douglas Murray/Farage and the anti immigration movement across the world is exactly what those pushing for a jihad want.
Wibbs wrote: » Actyally I would disagree here J, on a few levels. "Race" certainly does matter and is a large part of the issues faced in multiculturalism. Tell a Black lad from London who gets stopped by police at far higher rates than his White mates that race doesn't matter. It is my view that xenophobia and tribalism is a strong tendency in the human animal. A view that history and current affairs back up. "Race" makes identifying "The Other" much easier. And it doesn't matter from what side. In The Troubles the tribalism relied on subtle things like neighbourhood, surnames and the like to work out who was the Other, the Enemy. Imagine if Loyalists had been White and Republicans had been Black. More mayhem.
jmayo wrote: » Race doesn't matter.
wp_rathead wrote: » "Women must be forced to wear this" "Women must be banned from wearing this" Let women wear what they want, it's surely not a hard concept to grasp?
Dannyriver wrote: » I lived through the IRA bombings of the 70's lived in London during the late 80's and early 90's and I swear to **** , the amount of people who would visibly shrink when they heard my accent was infuriating. Everyday another letter to the papers saying to curtail the movement of Irish into the UK as they cannot be trusted. I used to think what kind of thick ****s could possibly define such a large population by the actions of so few. Then I see this bollox coming from my fellow country men.
jmayo wrote: » You don't get it It would be akin to advising a comic you don't like to do mohammad gags in his stand up routine. Sit back and watch the mayhem ensue. When was the last time any mormons were a global security threat? When was the last time any mormons advocated suicide bombing? When was the last time any mormons tried to establish, through pure violence and force, a separate state based on their beliefs and put to death anyone that didn't convert? You are either wilfully acting the wally or you seriously have one rosey fooked up view of the modern world. If 5,000 people in a small geographic area, say an Irish town, converted to islam the effects on the area would be dramatic. As others have stated converts are always the most vehement and often the most militant when it comes to religion. Pubs and off licenses would be gone because local custom would dry up. So much for dropping in for a pint to watch a PL match or even the GAA on Sky. No trips to the gastro pub to have sunday lunch. The local butchers would disappear to be replaced with something selling just halal meats. The local centra would no longer be offering your pulled pork or ham sandwiches. Why would they when they wouldn't be selling and they may even face demonstrations and eventually threats over it. Local sports clubs would no longer be attracting females or at least not females competing in front of males. Local schools would be getting demands to cater for segregation between the sexes in cases of PE. Little by little girls and women would begin to feel uncomfortable and would avoid the area because they would, and this has been played out throughout Europe, face harassment for the way they dressed or the fact they had no male chaperone in tow. But you probably know all this and are just trying to show how liberal you are. :rolleyes: BTW 5,000 converted locals who would most likely to be white would be just as bad as 5,000 black or "brown" converts. Unlike you, with the continous habit of trying to make this about race, I and others can see the issue is about ideology and mindset. Race doesn't matter. Wibbs arguing with them is futile. They will drag you down to their level and beat with their experience.
biko wrote: » OP location: Cork Thinks Dublin is best My mind officially blown
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Neighbour and good friend of mine switched over to Mormonism about 15 years ago, his choice but not once has he ever bought the subject up or tried to convert me. No leaflets no knocking on my doors, unlike the American ones i used to get every bloody summer.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Why? What would change for you if 5000 people in your area suddenly changed religion? How would it affect you and your family?
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » What if say 5000 white catholic people in your area suddenly decided to turn your back on the RCC and convert to Islam? Would you still be as upset about it or would it only be the darker foreign ones you wouldnt want in your back yard?
Wibbs wrote: » When was the last time a Catholic court handed down a verdict of apostasy? When was the last time an ex Catholic was killed for it. You can witter on to your hearts content here about Catholicism being a danger and stain on Ireland and its history. Try doing the same with Islam in Egypt, or Iran, or Saudi Arabia or... well you get the picture. Hopefully. No it is not. The majority are assumed to be of Catholic/Christian extraction, but the census is far more reliable. Yep and it was the usual blundering ignorant of history stuff and current realities we see in these debates. With a side order of self hatred going on. While nigh all faiths have a murderous past, which faith today is criticism most likely to attract violence? It ain't the Sikhs. Or did you somehow sleep through the Charlie Hebdo killings in Paris, or Theo van Gogh's murder on the streets of Holland, or... well we'd be here all bloody day.
Wibbs wrote: » Since 09 it's been removed as an official thing, but it's quite easy to leave the Catholic Church and it hasn't been exactly an execution offence for many centuries.Here's an explanation of it. When was the last time a Catholic court handed down a verdict of apostasy? When was the last time an ex Catholic was killed for it. You can witter on to your hearts content here about Catholicism being a danger and stain on Ireland and its history. Try doing the same with Islam in Egypt, or Iran, or Saudi Arabia or... well you get the picture. Hopefully. No it is not. The majority are assumed to be of Catholic/Christian extraction, but the census is far more reliable. Yep and it was the usual blundering ignorant of history stuff and current realities we see in these debates. With a side order of self hatred going on. While nigh all faiths have a murderous past, which faith today is criticism most likely to attract violence? It ain't the Sikhs. Or did you somehow sleep through the Charlie Hebdo killings in Paris, or Theo van Gogh's murder on the streets of Holland, or... well we'd be here all bloody day.
dennispenn wrote: » Ah,that explains a lot. The kufar lives. In a primarily white British town and is oblivious to the changes that are happening because they don't affect him. Gotcha!
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Send me a link to where i can leave the RCC and get my name off thier books?
Pretty much the same in dear old ireland.
See what i did there?
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » According to the RCC i am. Go for it :rolleyes: Spell my name correctly, otherwise your sky fairy will think you are praying fimor someone else! Also i have a very satisfying and well rewarding job. I live in a lovely town in cheshire sorry to disappoint you. Bells, calls to prayer, its all noise to me kiddo. I actually live in what i would describe as possibly one of the whitest places i have ever been. Think there is 2 or 3 indian guys who run a couple of the local shops and thats it. Too much fail in here to even bother, you should have stopped after the last lame paragraph. Buying a dog offends asian british? I'm gonna need some background on this one kiddo. 3 words I'm sure you have heard many times over your life MUST TRY HARDER!
Dannyriver wrote: » Bloody hell... I can see why you didn t think that anti trump supporter wasn't suffering with her mental health now...I'm sorry you are so afraid and angry it cant be nice for you.
dennispenn wrote: » You are not a Catholic. That's fine. You have no faith. That's perfectly acceptable and understandable Good luck to you.
Now I'm going to say a little prayer and I'm going to let you in on it,its for you. Hope you like it.
Dear God. Please help Timberrrrr locate to a place in the UK so that he won't be near a church. If it means changing his job so be it,but please make his job a stimulating one and enriching.
Hope I'm not asking for a lot here, perhaps his location might be in smallheath in Birmingham or better still saville town in Yorkshire where a job delivering parcels will be sufficient.
He didnt complain about the multitude of screeching that mask's as the call to prayer as the different mosques compete for awfulness it was only church bells that annoy him and his type.
Anyway, The stimulation comes from the learning he will have to do in the new language, Urdu.
Obviously he will have to learn it in his new soroundings to communicate and integrate himself in their society. I didn't ask him but I assume he will integrate into their cultural ways and not be an oddball an offend them for example by going out and buying a dog and the like.
Haven forbid as this type of behavior would be really upsetting for the Asian British.
Thank you. In return for this request, I will continue to highlight to the kufars the Domesday they are sleepwalking into.
dennispenn wrote: » You are not a Catholic. That's fine. You have no faith. That's perfectly acceptable and understandable Good luck to you. Now I'm going to say a little prayer and I'm going to let you in on it,its for you. Hope you like it. Dear God. Please help Timberrrrr locate to a place in the UK so that he won't be near a church. If it means changing his job so be it,but please make his job a stimulating one and enriching. Hope I'm not asking for a lot here, perhaps his location might be in smallheath in Birmingham or better still saville town in Yorkshire where a job delivering parcels will be sufficient. He didnt complain about the multitude of screeching that mask's as the call to prayer as the different mosques compete for awfulness it was only church bells that annoy him and his type. Anyway, The stimulation comes from the learning he will have to do in the new language, Urdu. Obviously he will have to learn it in his new soroundings to communicate and integrate himself in their society. I didn't ask him but I assume he will integrate into their cultural ways and not be an oddball an offend them for example by going out and buying a dog and the like. Haven forbid as this type of behavior would be really upsetting for the Asian British. Thank you. In return for this request, I will continue to highlight to the kufars the Domesday they are sleepwalking into.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Send me a link to where i can leave the RCC and get my name off thier books? Pretty much the same in dear old ireland. See what i did there?
Grayson wrote: » Taytoland wrote: » Go build them somewhere else. Why should I accept it? Talk about secularizing society and yet people are happy for the largest enemy against secularism namely Islam to expand. It makes no sense. That's the point of secularism. You don't interfere with religions and they don't interfere with the state. When you consider the damage that was done by the church you should be against churches being opened. They have abused thousands of people. Yet some people get their knickers in a twist about a different religion that contains feck all followers in Ireland. And ignore the one that's here and has caused damage. I'm grand with mosques being built. I'd be as happy about one of them next door to me as I would be about a church next door to me. Which is to say not much, but if they obey all the correct building regulations then they can work away. I work with muslims and I want them to have the same rights as everyone else. What religion you are shouldn't ever determine the rights you have.
Taytoland wrote: » Go build them somewhere else. Why should I accept it? Talk about secularizing society and yet people are happy for the largest enemy against secularism namely Islam to expand. It makes no sense.
Grayson wrote: » That's the point of secularism. You don't interfere with religions and they don't interfere with the state. When you consider the damage that was done by the church you should be against churches being opened. They have abused thousands of people. Yet some people get their knickers in a twist about a different religion that contains feck all followers in Ireland. And ignore the one that's here and has caused damage. I'm grand with mosques being built. I'd be as happy about one of them next door to me as I would be about a church next door to me. Which is to say not much, but if they obey all the correct building regulations then they can work away. I work with muslims and I want them to have the same rights as everyone else. What religion you are shouldn't ever determine the rights you have.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Quite a few actually. I've been traveling around Ireland/Europe visiting friends/family before I return to China. You know the gig. Stay at their places, go eat locally on a budget, go out for drinks etc. And I have encountered quite a few groups of Muslims (or those of M.East ethnicity) who were hostile, aggressive and sometimes violent. I've seen them be offensive to women walking past them in the streets in both the UK and France. I've seen Muslim guys walk into cafes picking fights with the locals in Spain (and vice versa). Fact is... compared with the last time I did this trip a decade ago, Europe has turned rather violent. Not the case of every night or every time I went outside, but these types of encounters were far more common than I expected. Sure, parts of the UK were always a bit rough, as were many French cities, but those of M.Eastern Ethnicity played a major part of the fights or issues I saw this time around. And from conversations with those who lived there... they suggested that things had changed dramatically within the last decade.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Taytoland wrote: » Go build them somewhere else. Why should I accept it? Talk about secularizing society and yet people are happy for the largest enemy against secularism namely Islam to expand. It makes no sense. NIMBYISM at its finest :rolleyes:
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » I no longer live in ireland i now live in the UK, You know.....that place where all of the anti islam posters think white people are in the minority and you cant walk the streets after sunset for fear of being jumped by muslim gangs.
dennispenn wrote: » It's pretty obvious why people are leaving the Church. The figure's on Muslims is sketchy to say the least. You can't leave the religion for starters. It's not looked upon kindly. They get very upset with this.
If you are born in Turkey you are automatically assumed to be Muslim regardless of your faith. The census there is untrustworthy.
Christianity ,being only 2000 years old has spread like a Cancer across Africa and Asia in a violent conquest.the choice given to natives is submit your will to God or die. Don't be so gullible.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Ok so lets say Ireland became an ethno state tomorrow. How do you see things going? What happens to muslim people born here? What happens to other non christian denominations born here? Tell us your vision of an Irish ethno state please.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » I no longer live in ireland i now live in the UK, You know.....that place where all of the anti islam posters think white people are in the minority and you cant walk the streets after sunset for fear of being jumped by muslim gangs. Couldnt give a tiny shiney sh1te about croker but would defo join any protests if that gobsh1te garth brookes ever chanced his arm again
dennispenn wrote: » You can always leave Ireland or move somewhere there are no churches. You are not a tree.
You sounding like one of those people who have bought a house near crokepark and complain that about the sporting and musical event's being held there.