DChancer wrote: » I know plenty about it being that my niece two grand nieces are Muslim as are my barber my book keeper and several friends. You need to cop on and calm down
dennispenn wrote: » DChancer wrote: » I know plenty about it being that my niece two grand nieces are Muslim as are my barber my book keeper and several friends. You need to cop on and calm down Wow,thats a whole list of I've got Muslim friends. What is it that offends you?
dennispenn wrote: » Do you think that I am kidding? Is Islam compatible with Western society? I've a feeling that you know very little about It and it's teachings. Islam will eat itself up when It conquers the world. Look for ancient map's of Islamic countries,then compare it to modern day maps.
Grayson wrote: » Loads of adults get dressed up for halloween. As for the bolded bit, are you saying that when a Saudi woman wears a hijab she's rejecting Saudi culture? Because that's a bit mad. I'm not going to attempt to explain why a woman wears a Burka. I'm sure there's many reasons and it can vary from woman to woman. I'm also sure it probably doesn't have anything to do with a rejection of themselves. Maybe for one or two but not most. The one thing I'm 100% certain of is that neither you nor I can speak as to why every woman who wears a burka does so.
Shenshen wrote: » That's an interesting way to read that. I know that a nun's habit is meant to express the same thing, a rejection of worldly affairs in favour of godly ones. But personally, I always get a slightly different message (though by now means a better one). By hiding away in as much clothes as possible, a message is being sent to all men that the female hidden in the clothes does not trust them not to give in to their base desires and rape the female in question, should she show so much as an inch of skin. I always thought of the niqab and the burqa as deeply, deeply misandric.
DChancer wrote: » I'm usually offended by racists ,bigots, the ignorant looking for a scapegoat ,xenophobia and right wing white supremist nutjobs
Grayson wrote: » I know a hell of a lot about islam. I also know a lot of Muslims. I've even lived in a muslim country. I have a feeling you know feck all except for what you've read on rightwing sites.
Danzy wrote: » It is one that has been lost years ago in many Mosques across Europe and with good reason to suspect in Dublin and reason to suspect lost to a greater level than most other parts of Europe, given we had the highest per capita rate of people going abroad to fight in Islamist orgs. from Europe. In Britain, over half of Mosques are controlled by fundamentalist groups, with the % in England higher again. It is not just back street Mosques or a rented hall on Friday, it is main Mosques, ones that cater to thousands at a time. ..... Look at Didsbury Mosque in Manchester, capacity 1000, preachers there calling for armed Jihad, that is not unusual, Channel Four said it readily found extremist material in Mosques and their book stores. .... When the Police and establishment in Britain did not start arresting people for calling for the murder of Salman Rushdie, even if it meant charging thousands, it lost the initiative. ....
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » I dont feel offended at the implied misandry funnily enough (although it totally is). I just don't get why someone wants to shut out society. Yet want to be part of it. Makes no sense to me.
bubblypop wrote: » I live in a Majority Muslim country, it's perfectly westernised. No issues.
dennispenn wrote: » Islam. The whole lot of it is incompatible with the western world.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » There's no such thing and you are kidding yourself.
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » At Halloween A festival of dressing up. Of customer and masks. Where grown ups give kids sweets. Its a brutal comparison in fairness. We're talking about burkas in Dublin (And presumably inter alia Ireland) Couldn't give a toss what/how they dress in Saudi. They're not rejecting themselves. They're rejecting you. Or in other words, it's a barrier to prevent you/them having contact with each other. Why they do it? No idea. But that's with it is. A barrier to prevent contact. If it was so important to express their faith, why it wear it the whole time? Why only remove it at home? Because proponents of it regard women as chattel. Property of the men of the family. And it's the most regressive, fundamentalist Muslims that wear it. We were in Milan a few years ago. We werent let into a catholic church because the wife had shorts and shoulders uncovered. Id shorts. Wasnt a bit offended. If you want to come into a place, you should respect the "house rules." If we shouldnt be prescriptive of what people are allowed wear , should we also allow people to wear as little as possible. You'd be ok with a moving his lawn buck naked next door to a school. Where are your lines drawn?
Malayalam wrote: » I am kind of tired of ending up feeling like some right wing monster for having real concerns about fundamentalist religion being fostered surreptitiously in liberal societies, and enabled because we don't want to offend. The evidence regularly surfaces about extremist preaching and materials and online groups and quiet jihad. You know this. How do you respond?
bubblypop wrote: » Yes there are, it's come up time & time again on these anti Islam threads.
Malayalam wrote: » It's not an ''anti-Islam'' thread though there may be a few extreme voices. It really isn't and should not be dismissed so easily. I appreciate a great deal about Islam personally, I love the poetry of Rumi, Kabir, Attar and Ibn' Arabi, and am presently making my way (albeit very slowly!) through the entire works of Rene Guenon who was a famous western convert to Islam, and whose opinions I find very enlightening. I think many people who worry about extremist theocratic Islam have a good appreciation and respect for regular noble Muslims and, for some, even their faith.
Danzy wrote: » Jordan would be one of the few and that is only at the higher levels of state. Its views as a Society as a whole are very regressive but it is by no means the worse. Everywhere in North Africa (bar Morocco to a degree), the Arabian Peninsula can only be described as profoundly bizarre and repressive societies. Much of the Islamic world was moderated by outside influences say by native religions, Hinduism, Buddhism in Indonesia and were relaxed about the faith, that is changing as outside influences are stripped out and the entire faith returns to a more original form.( I always view it as having being in most of the world much stricter in adherence though that most other faiths. Added after Malayalm thanked post, so they may or may not agree with this line) This return to fundamentalism has been growing for 90 years now and will keep going for as much again. The religious revival in the Southern United States started over 170 years ago and is still red hot.
Danzy wrote: » ( I always view it as having being in most of the world much stricter in adherence though that most other faiths. Added after Malayalm thanked post, so they may or may not agree with this line).
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » Just the very idea of a "truly Westernised majority Muslim country" is so laughable. It's like saying you have a completely well trained and housebroken hyena.
Malayalam wrote: » They might have some competition with the Jains (Kidding) Even Morocco bans the Burqa...gave the stores 48 hours to get rid of all stock. Because Salafists were posing a threat to the moderate government, and this was one way to nip extremism in the bud. Maybe people on the ground in these countries who don't have the luxury of armchair debate might know a thing or two we don't about this area, I reckon.
bubblypop wrote: » How so? Islam doesn't run this country. Religion doesn't dictate the laws.
Grayson wrote: » You're taking the comparison out of context. Someone said the burka affects the ability to identify someone (Or at least that was one of the ways to interpret it as it wasn't quite clear). I said that other things such as halloween do too. I'm not saying that they are the same. I'm saying that when it comes to the ability to identify someone there are plenty of times when we can't, like halloween, but no-one is asking to ban all of those. They don't wear it at home because that's the rule. The same goes for amish and jewish women. The same goes for Sikhs and their turbans. they're not worn 24 7. As for whether or not it's a rejection, I don't think so, but I'm not going to go down that rabbit hole because... ....It doesn't matter. We can't start making laws dictating what people should wear based on culture. We can't start drafting in laws based on culture full stop. We draft laws based on public safety and well being. And as I've said, a law banning the burka is as stupid as a law mandating it. We shouldn't even go there. It's a bad law to make That's what matters. The fact that we shouldn't start drafting in culture laws at all.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » or, you know, they want to interact with it on their terms. You seem to think there is something wrong with that.