Outlaw Pete wrote: » Just listened to his latest podcast and absolutely the portion about 'begrudgers' was a reaction to this thread, particularly to comments made in the last two weeks or so as he mentions so many things which were touched upon here then, even stuff like him associating with Russell Brand. Says his detractors are only annoyed with him as he uses the word Feminism (where have I just been reading that over and over) and that they're anger stems from them being "unconsciously" frustrated with themselves for never having had the guts to try and create like he did. They're all too afraid to accept this and so get furious with him instead. Christ, about as narcissistic as it gets. Doesn't even consider that people might be annoyed with him as they genuinely feel that something he has said is wrong / harmful. Nah, just a bunch of begrudgers. Interesting stuff about Gin though. Hopefully he'll stick to pondering about stuff like that in future.
Deleted User wrote: » Limerick hurling?
Sal Butamol wrote: » He pissed off a lot of people with his dumb, opportunistic comments about a very serious topic. People saw through it. The jig is up.
HappyAsLarE wrote: » I am really shocked to see so many negative opinions of blindboy. I’ve listened to most episodes of his podcast and he is an interesting, well read, humourous, and above all decent person. I don’t agree with him on a lot. I cringe when he blows smoke up Louise ONeills hole, and when he talks about masculine toxicity. But there is nothing wrong with that. He genuinely comes across as not being rigid on his opinions and obviously has a vast curiosity that he loves feeding.
pumpkin4life wrote: » I'll add to this. It is signalling how virtuous you are, without incurring any cost or penalty for doing so if you are wrong. Virtue signalling is the gap between saying rather than doing. It is done for social approval, rather than for truth's sake. Think the Dalkey resident who wants mass immigration, yet will never experience the consequence of mass immigration because those people will never live in his area, but they'll head straight to Balbriggan. Think the academic teaching liberal arts who can be completely wrong about something, or downright batshìt insane and yet not get fired/incur a cost for his incompetence. Think Michael D Higgins, who talks about the glories of communist societies, yet is earning a quarter of a million a year due to the opulence/tolerance brought about by a capitalist/corporatism/some degree socialistic hybrid society. Mental health is a good example of virtue signalling. It's an easy way of people showing they care, but ask them why someone is sad, and looking underneath that bonnet, and watch people skittle away. Especially with the quackery in a lot of psychology. I actually like hardcore communist/feminist cùnts in someways because at least they practice what they preach. They have integrity. Blindboy ain't like that.
pumpkin4life wrote: » Think the academic teaching liberal arts who can be completely wrong about something, or downright batshìt insane and yet not get fired/incur a cost for his incompetence.
weldoninhio wrote: » Virtue signalling is literally signalling how virtuous you are. It’s fairly self explanatory.
Lash Into The Pints wrote: » So...if you dislike the Rubbrbandits you're an angry 'looper' who automatically supports Brexit and Trump? Er ok. Maybe some people just don't like your heroes? If they want to be preachy sjws, fine, but they have to expect a backlash.
listermint wrote: » I see the venom and bile is still pilling in. Weirdly it's enough it's the same angry loopers that hang around he politics threads advocating for trump and brexit. I don't think ye even care for the subject matter it's the winding people up being outrageous that gets ye off. Anything to oppose the center , of pretty much any subject. If only there was a name for it
wildlifeboy wrote: » does anyone know what his original boards id was because i know he used to be a member, he made a reference to boards on a recent podcast calling it a hellhole or something. cant remember it exactly/
listermint wrote: » There's my point. Well made cheers. Victory over what ? The internet? What did you win by being angry about a fella making an entertainment podcast. Is life that boring that you count posts as a victory ? I guess normal folk just don't get it. Would anyone behave this way in the pub or in the coffee shop with friends .... Always winning ! One more insult super win ! High five myself woooo
Deleted User wrote: » Ah its very common not to give a fcuk about sports in fairness. I barely know the rules to GAA let alone watch it. Why should anyone be ashamed of taking no interest in it.
CWF wrote: » If he hates the cover of his book so much then why is the exact same picture on his podcast? Doesn't make sense. I'm a massive fan of his but I don't get why he'd put it as the cover image of his podcast if he hated it so much
Deleted User wrote: » CWF wrote: » If he hates the cover of his book so much then why is the exact same picture on his podcast? Doesn't make sense. I'm a massive fan of his but I don't get why he'd put it as the cover image of his podcast if he hated it so much Tbf to him, he has to because he wants to build his brand. If I had a book for sale I'd be hawking it all the time too. It's just the whole "someone else made me do this" angle that rankles.
The Crowman wrote: » Are you equating that muppet with Christopher Hitchens?
Deleted User wrote: » I'm sure he ripped up his cheques in protest... likewise with Blindboy
SecretsOfEarth wrote: » https://twitter.com/Rubberbandits/status/1025073664981647365 His reply to someone who questioned his apathy was equally bizarre. He seems to wear his lack of interest and disconnect from the event as a badge of honour. Bit embarrassing to not know of your county's biggest sporting event in over a decade, possibly verging on history and winning a national title after 45 years. Maybe he deems himself above something as common and rudimentary as hurling :rolleyes:
Deleted User wrote: » I'm reminded of a talk I saw recently being given by Stewart Lee about writing..he had been at a writing conference or something and it struck him over the course of the few days that there seemed to be two types of writers..those that thought everything they wrote was good, and those that thought everything they wrote wasn't good enough, and needed work..I'd imagine bb fits into the first category..
Brian? wrote: » What's an ethos?