CK22 wrote: » http://kildaregaa.ie/update-st-conleths-park-re-development Kildare have got permission to develop the stand at Conleths Park. Nice little stand I have to say, no pillars in the way, a VIP section. Capacity will rise to 15,000 following completion. Finally a stadium that makes sense in terms of size and facilities. Further development of terraces expected in coming years.
nice_guy80 wrote: » They are allowing the builder use the car park. Ballivor would be a fairly disadvantaged area so I'd say they'd take anything they can get. And it's not scientology that's building it
gandalf wrote: » I see Ballivor GAA are planning on upgrading sewage and install a new shed. All if this is being facilitated by the cult of Scientology! I knew the GAA was desperate for funding but this is a betrayal of the community by the local GAA as the vast majority don't want the Scientology backed facility that the GAA will help enable to be opened in the town.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/campaigners-sick-to-the-stomach-at-gaa-club-facilitating-scientology-centre-1.3586905?mode=amp So is this an acceptable way to improve infrastructure at club level?
Pete_Cavan wrote: » Yeah and this is why the idea that GAA stadiums should be available to soccer clubs is nonsense. The soccer clubs don't want to use a stadium which would be 90% empty and fans 20m from the sideline. They also prefer using their own facilities, even if they are substandard is case, because they keep all the income instead of paying rent. Perhaps Shane Ross focusing all his energy on reopening Stepaside Garda Station is a good thing because anything that goes towards his ministerial portfolio just makes things worse.
CrabRevolution wrote: » I fully agree, but my point stands that soccer grounds in Ireland are perfectly adequate for 99.9% of the use they get.
nice_guy80 wrote: » Tell me where we can get these hurleys, footballs and jerseys off the GAA
nice_guy80 wrote: » There's a big difference between 'the GAA' and the local GAA club. One has money, most clubs don't.
Bonniedog wrote: » Your local GAA club maybe! Don't think you would be too popular if you just turned up, took stuff and never came back
Poor_old_gill wrote: » The crowds are low because the product isn’t good enough and isn’t advertised properly. If they started developing decent players in Ireland and the standard got better then crowds would rise but the FAI is only concerned with the international end of things.
CrabRevolution wrote: » If anything their stadia are all adequately sized. How many big grounds do you reckon they need? The average LOI premier division crowd over the last 5 years is 1650. The average First Division crowd is about a quarter of that. Why should they waste money building big stadia to hold non existent crowds?
Bonniedog wrote: » as opposed to the "dinosaurs" who get millions of people in the gates and supply tens of thousands of children with hurleys and footballs and jerseys
Poor_old_gill wrote: » The GAA didnt handle the Liam Miller issue very well and thats always been my stance but having sympathy for family and for the FAI are too completely different things. After the situation has now been resolved- people need to start asking as to how it came to that, why doesnt Irish soccer have adequate stadiums? Even a few that can handle attendances in excess of 10,000. Why has development of players been, predominantly, left up to English clubs? Why has it taken this long to even have a plan for a regional centre of excellence in Munster? On top of all these historical issues- it's virtually impossible to have sympathy for an organisation who have Delaney at the helm. I still love that great stat from Euro 2012- the final was between Italy and Spain- John Delaney earned more than the combined salaries of the Italian & Spanish FA chief executives.
Carawaystick wrote: » Every golf course should be big enough....:D
salmocab wrote: » Ah lads where does this nonsense end? Should every stadium be big enough to hold test cricket?
smelly sock wrote: » Thats not the gaa's problem though. Dalymount shouldnt get one penny if it cant hold gaa matches.
KrustyUCC wrote: » According to Lord Ross "Grants must be used to benefit all the community" from now on I have no issue with Dalymount getting grants nor Wesley College getting grants for a hockey pitch but I do have an issue with supposedly all future GAA grants being subject to different criteria just because a GAA picth could accomodate other field sports when other sports won't be made accomodate GAA games Lord Ross has dug a hole for himself here as he used the Miller Game to have a specific dig at the GAA without thinking of the consequences of his words
namloc1980 wrote: » Where do you think Dalymount Park is going to get the space for a GAA pitch from?