GingerLily wrote: » Rumours are that they're a boardsie! We're not allowed, at the moment to name names - there's a mod warning in the other thread!
tinkerbell2310 wrote: » I dunno who bloggers unveiled are not do I care. They are doing a great job of catching people out... but what I don’t like is the story on their page today. Whoever that girl is people are accusing I’m stick to my stomach for her. She is receiving death threats and got a Mass card in the post to her home address. This is not fun and games anymore... I’m actually soooo anxious for this accused girl..
GingerLily wrote: » You're right, I don't care either - it doesn't actually matter either way. That's disgusting - who would do that? I hope the guards get involved and find out who it is.
GingerLily wrote: That's disgusting - who would do that? I hope the guards get involved and find out who it is.
Dial Hard wrote: » Nobody, I suspect. It never happened or she sent them herself. Why would u suspect that?
Dial Hard wrote: » Nobody, I suspect. It never happened or she sent them herself.
GingerLily wrote: Do you have any reason to think that? Or are you just generally suspicious?
Dial Hard wrote: » I just find it very hard to believe that anyone would send an *actual* death threat over something as inconsequential as a few bloggers being made wallies of. I think it far more likely that someone who started something as a bit of fun found herself at the centre of something far bigger than she bargained for, needed to take a bit of the heat off so tried to generate a bit of sympathy for herself by saying she was getting threats and instead of deflecting attention from herself ended up creating an even bigger sh*tstorm that they can't easily get out of and are kind of stuck just digging themselves further in.
tinkerbell2310 wrote: Also pls look at the post Paul Stenson from the white moose cafe put up about bloggers unveiled. He basically told them to be very afraid and that something big was coming their way over the next 3 months !!!
Dial Hard wrote: » Yet another reason to be cynical about the whole thing. He's a fame-hungry troglodyte who'd do anything for a bit of publicity. If he posted saying the sky was blue I'd go outside and check just to be sure.
tinkerbell2310 wrote: It was an actual threat. Do u not think people out there are capable of threatening someone if they think they are damaging their so called brand ?
Dial Hard wrote: » If it was an actual threat he wouldn't be posting it on social media. And yes, I do think there are people out there who are capable of threatening those they think are threatening their brand. But do I think a few idiots trying to make a living flogging Chinese make up and their own worn clothes are doing it? No, sorry. Literally nobody outside of the blogging "industry" even knows or cares about BU. It'll all have died down within a few weeks. Probably already would have if she hadn't come out with the death threats story.
Lauren951 wrote: » Has anyone been following the bloggers unveiled posts on Instagram? Who is he/she?!
RAPUNZEL wrote: » Who is rumoured to be behind the BU page?
Cutie 3.14 wrote: » It's all over Twitter apparently
RAPUNZEL wrote: » Yes just joined Twitter and seen a name! Curiosity satisfied! Sure who knows if it is this named person. Such a great page doing amazing work. Horrible that it has got to the stage of death threats.
tinkerbell2310 wrote: » Are u in the blogging industry? I’m not but I know and I’m sure that’s why they have been on today fm and other radio stations and other media outlets like evoke.ie that have discussed all this... Also joe Duffy did the whole story that bloggers unveiled posted about that woman charging people 5k for a make up course that isn’t even certified officially by their governing body so when u say no one outside that business knows or cares I think ur mistaking. But look each to their own
Dial Hard wrote: » I'm not in the industry but have a friend who is, albeit not on the fashion side. That and the mega-thread here are the only reason I know about any of it. I asked everyone in my family and three of my friends yesterday had they ever heard of BU and none of them had. I myself knew absolutely nothing about the make-up course thing until you mentioned it. Nothing in the Irish Times or even the Indo about it today. I'm not saying that it's not a big deal to some people but in the grand scheme of things? Nah. The whole thing would actually be funny if it weren't for the fact that people who have absolutely nothing to do with it are getting dragged in.
Dial Hard wrote: I just find it very hard to believe that anyone would send an *actual* death threat over something as inconsequential as a few bloggers being made wallies of.
RAPUNZEL wrote: » BU’s supposed identity has been revealed and is online but I haven’t come across any names yet
witchgirl26 wrote: » I keep seeing that mentioned but like you haven't come across any names. Possibly because I haven't been looking. I think the account is highlighting some shady practices that are going on. Half the problem is that the ASAI have no bite really when it comes to things. I've completely cut down the number of bloggers I follow and only stick to ones that aren't selling me crap all the time. I also don't just take their word as gospel on a product, which I think was some of the problem here. There was an article about the beauty school in the Times 6 days ago and referenced Bloggers Unveiled. It was also all over Joe Duffy the same day. My other half who knows jack all about beauty bloggers, is aware of Bloggers Unveiled. It is a big deal and not just to some people - that beauty school was charging up to €5000 a course and people have discovered that their certificates are fake and that their professional insurance may now be invalid. It's a massive thing in reality.
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » A criminal offence has surely been uncovered. Fraud is a pretty serious offence