jobbridge4life wrote: For part of my childhood I grew up in a thoroughly middle class housing estate. My road was a through road to the second phase of the development, but it was also a playground. We played football, we danced in the road, we ran across it in a heartbeat playing hide and go seek, tip the can etc. An underground carpark in an a complex, seems like an infinitely safer option to me?
jobbridge4life wrote: » You don't need to (and arguably shouldn't) look to far-east Asia for livable family apartments. Barcelona is in my experience an excellent example of what is achievable in even a modest population city like Dublin.
Blanchy90 wrote: » being on the ground floor
jobbridge4life wrote: » An underground carpark in an a complex, seems like an infinitely safer option to me?
the_syco wrote: » To hell with that! For the cars, no. For the kids; it'll be darker than outside, so if playing hide and go seek, more of a chance of a kid getting knocked by a car. If playing ball games, more of a chance of them hitting a car.
Buckfast W wrote: » Yeah that's not always the case when I'm coming to a blind corner to turn up the ramp to exit the underground and the kids are flying down because they're using for there scooters, even if I stopped the car and inched forward they can still come down at speed and seriously hurt themselves because they have no way to see where they're going, but sure it's my fault because I'm in a car and I'm obviously being insensitive to the needs of the other residents that feel an underground car park with all its dangers is an appropriate place for their children to play. Is that answer sufficient enough or would you like to throw in another smart remark?
Mrs OBumble wrote: » If the kids really are that young, then it's potentially neglect. You, and the randoms on here, aren't qualified to decide if it is or not. Phone Tulsa, and make it their problem. Details here.
AndrewJRenko wrote: It's your fault if you hit a child, or anyone else with your car. The law requires you to be able to stop in the distance you can see to be clear. If they hit you, that's their problem. If you hit a child, it's your problem.
Buckfast W wrote: » And what if there's no way to see that the way is clear without physically getting out of the car?
Tinley Skinny Self-preservation wrote: » Why does someone being in the minority mean they have fewer rights to consideration?
AndrewJRenko wrote: I don't recall ever having that experience in 30+ years of driving. What kind of layout prevents you from seeing what's in front of car?
Buckfast W wrote: » It's called a blindspot, believe it or not I haven't development the ability to see around corners but I'm sure with your 30+ years your a driving master
JupiterKid wrote: » But it looks like the housing affordability crisis will force the Irish developer to change his ways, whether he likes it or not. People will demand it.
AndrewJRenko wrote: I find that driving slowly and turning the steering wheel usually does it for me. A blindspot in my experience is a location around your car that you can't see from the driving position, usually at either rear corner of the car. I can't think of any kind of corner that yo ucan't see where your going by just going slowly.
Blanchy90 wrote: » Well last night at half 9 there was one kid (5-7years) out alone with her sister in a pram who is 7 months old. They were outside in the common area in front of their apartment and couldn't be seen by any parents, not that the parents ever come out to check on them anyway. I'd be hesitant to report someone for neglect but this doesn't seem right to me
ceadaoin. wrote: » Why do Irish estates and apartment buildings have zero facilities?
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Why would you be hesitant? Is neglecting kids ok? Were industrial schools ok too? If i came upon a 7 month old in the care of a 5 year old I'd be calling the guards.
seamus wrote: » As a country we need to shed this self-hatred that makes us believe that everything public will be wrecked or "robbed if it's not nailed down". But people continue to oppose public facilities for kids/teens and then complain about kids/teens hanging around and making noise.
_Brian wrote: » This is the joy of high density living that I see called for so much. When you rack and stack families like battery chickens these problems are a certainty. I’d imagine some compromise on both sides is required. OP needs to understand that kids need to play and play is sometimes noisy and that’s fine, but the kids do need to be shown boundaries and I’d agree no 5yo should be out at 9:30 on a school night. But we get such little good weather rules are stretched when it does come. We live in the sticks and it’s great. An acre of ground and our kids have free run, make as much noise as they want and no pesky neighbors to bother us.
whisky_galore wrote: » ** waits for one-off-housing backlash **
whisky_galore wrote: » It's reality, there's people here that have little respect for anything laid out for them or others. If it can't be robbed it'll be smashed, written on, or set fire to.
Oh and don't forget our compo culture.... little Johnny hurts himself on the swings, no swings for anyone then.
Blanchy90 wrote: » Bit of a rant haha Absolutely sick of all the kids out playing in the common area in our apartment block.The rules of the complex are that children must be supervised at all times, no ball games at all and children must be quiet as not to disturb everyone in the complex. I have no problem with kids playing but these kids have no manners at all. They are constantly running around screaming all day and into the night. There's kinds as young as 3-5 out completely unsupervised out till 9:30pm and there's regularly toddlers out with older siblings (5-7) I don't know how the parents let the kids out like that, the complex has a gate but there's always people coming in and out so anything could happen. Also no 5 year old should be out playing at 9:30pm on a school night. End rant haha
seamus wrote: » No different to any other country. This is exactly the unrealistic self-deprecation I'm talking about. However, the extent to which this happens is tiny. There are playgrounds all over the place that have stayed in good nick for years, despite being in "rough" areas. Once they're maintained, they get mostly left alone. Irish people are not anti-social, vandalising scumbags. We need to stop talking ourselves down. That's not as widespread as the media would have you believe tbh. Playground equipment comes with a certain expectation of risk, and a compensation claim will fail unless the equipment can be shown to be inherently dangerous or faulty. The actual cost of and number of claims is pretty small, because the majority of people are reasonable don't claim when their kids bang their knee. "Insurance", "Compo culture" are just blanket rhetoric thrown out when people just don't want facilities to be built.
WHIP IT! wrote: » Sounds absolutely horrific. No ball games?? F*ck off...
Buckfast W wrote: » What about the neighbors that don't want to hear a football banging off a wall for 6 hours a day 7 days a week?
WHIP IT! wrote: » What about them? When did society take this vow of silence? I'd much rather kids out kicking a football than being stuck indoors in front of small screens honing social inadequacy - or worse, outside getting into trouble because they're not allowed kick a football around! I will point out something I have noticed in recent years that kind of ties in with the OP - parents are far less likely to scold kids than they used to be. I'm 36, when I was a kid, if you were acting the maggot and a nearby adult saw you they'd let you have it - my own mother was famous for it! These days, there's a definite reluctance on the part of adults to pull kids up when they misbehave in the absence of their own parents.
Blanchy90 wrote: » The rules of the complex are that children must be supervised at all times, no ball games at all and children must be quiet as not to disturb everyone in the complex.
Buckfast W wrote: » No one is asking for a vow of silence, if people wan't to have kids that's all well and fine but look after them and make sure your little darlings aren't constantly annoying everyone else, in my case why should 5-6 kids be able to disrupt the lives of the other 300+ people in the complex?